FRAMED: Panorama of Walt Disney Concert Hall - Shot on a Hasselblad by @playitforward

in #framed6 years ago (edited)

Untitled_Panorama1.jpg

FRAMED: Panorama of Walt Disney Concert Hall - Shot on a Hasselblad by @playitforward


This has been one of the most astounding photos I've taken of a building. Albeit, it does shrink the size and make it a little fatter than it actually looks. That's a perk of using a 45mm lens on a medium format camera. It looks like a 35mm camera, but also sort of distorts the size a little bit.

The Result


Untitled_Panorama1 copy.jpg

Setup


First, there was a little wandering and waiting. This is because I wanted to take the shot before anyone was standing on the stairs. It's more difficult than it sounds. People were coming in and out constantly trying to get photos from their phones.

I placed my tripod there and adjusted the aperture, focus, and shutter speed until it was just right.

A little obvious to have a tripod and a very nice camera on it, I was worried that I would stick out like a sore thumb there. Or worse, have their security team come and shut down my shot.

I decided to take a lot exposure of about a second per section. Check it out as each shot is taken, the tripd is set so that I can manually pan over to the right to capture each subsequent shot. Each section is as follows:

B0000219.5.jpg

B0000220.5.jpg

B0000221.5.jpg

<centerB0000222.5.jpg
B0000223.5.jpg

B0000224.5.jpg

Conclusions


Architectural photography is new to me. So it was an interesting new challenge to help frame a picture of something so large. I probably could have even used a 24mm or 17mm lens instead of this for a better effect of more grandeur. This is a sweeping building of so much music, and so much beauty on the outside that I had to have this in the collection.

I took all of these images into photoshop (150 mb each) and made a stitched panorama with them. Photoshop output something like this:

Untitled_Panorama1 copy.jpg

Of course, it took a tremendous amount more work than it looks to alter the light in photoshop to make it feel more balanced. I left the warmness of the bulbs on the building for effect. More or less, this is what my eyes saw on the street, just a tad more wide-angle.

Steemians, please let me know what you think of the post in the comments below.

follow_playitforward.gif

Sort:  

How big is the Disney Concert Hall ?

@welcometonepal It's footprint is 157,000 sq. ft. but the internal space is 300,00 sq. ft.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69735.97
ETH 3533.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72