Haiku Challenge

in #freecreate6 years ago

Motorcycle - A Haiku

by bigtom13

Renewing sunrise

All new, motorcycle rides

whilst watching the dog


Source

I'd really like to take my dog, I really would. He is a truly good dog and I'm sure he'd travel just fine in a sidecar.

But the expense. Not the money, that is just a thing. The expense of a hack would be psychological and self esteem damage. I don't care who you are or how cool you are, riding with a sidecar just isn't riding a motorcycle. It's something entirely different.

I'm really not ready to give up and be an old person. I own and ride a nasty ass motorcycle that is as much part of me as I am of it. I can't give that up. Not yet.

Or am I? I am, after all, 67 years old. By most definitions that makes me old enough to behave as an old person. To look out for myself and mitigate the danger and damage that my habits and practices entail.

It's a conundrum, a motorcycle and a dog. I love them both, but so far, not at the same time.

Is it even possible for an old dog to learn new tricks?

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

This was/is done in answer to a challenge by Donna Davis here. I'm not much of a challenge guy but Donna made it sound so easy...

The rules are easy enough. Go to this haiku generator, create a haiku and work 10 minutes of what ever you do to create content for Steemit.

I have to admit I enjoyed this, even though it is quite a ways out of my normal way of doing things.

If you would like to take a swing at it, go to Donna's Post and get the real scoop rather than the abbreviated version that I've posted here.

You want some real motorcycle travel? Check out Velimir. That’s some kind of motorcycle writing.

Adsactly is a society for freethinking people. Interested? Click Here to join our Discord channel.


Vote @adsactly-witness for Steem witness!

In the bottom of the page type in: adsactly-witness and select vote.

All small letters and without the @ sign

Or give us a direct vote here

Our Witness proposal

Thank you!


Sort:  

The best dog to reportedly attract a date is the Golden Retriever. The worst is the Pit Bull.

Well, my Sam is somewhere between. Half Rhodesian Ridgeback and half something else. He really is an engaging creature. At least 50 people on our walk route can call Sam by name. Maybe 6 know mine.

It is not bad to learn new things old man!
When we stop learning, we become insane.
How do you like this haiku?

Very nicely done. I'll stick to machine made, thank you!

Dog - A Haiku


by @friendly-fenix
Warm up summertime
why a faithful, loud dog rides
enjoying the bike

Oh. I love that one! Very nicely done.

I have actually been looking at motorcycles with side cars. I have a 'spare' bike that I could put a hack on, but there are a few really cool rides that Sam and I could both get into! Literally :)

Sounds like a plan @bigtom13!!! Always good with a "road-dawg"!

we can say its ia three wheels motorcycle

this is a nice motorcycle and its look such a like a old model

It is a WWII era Zundapp. If I was going to show a side car I thought I ought to have a little fun with it.

Nice catch!

can we say its ia three wheels motorcycle?

Isn't it true that we are as old as we think we are or something along those lines! I say keep doing what you enjoy without labels and you can't go wrong!

Thank's for participating in this. It's kind of fun, huh?!

(Don't tell anyone. I looked at motorcycles with side cars today on EBay.)

Yeah, I'm not ready to give up the 'free ride'.

This was fun. Thank you!

I think a motorcycle with a side car is cool of course my idea of 'cool' has probably never been 'cool' I was an 'old lady' since I was 5 :) If I had a motorcyle I'd love a sidecar and I could put my old picnic basket in and my old wind up gramophone and then I could sit in the country side eating cold lobster and canapes listening to old Caruso 78's :)

Tom the poet. I love it. I can see it now, Sam sitting up in that sidecar with his tongue flailing in the wind.

That's the scary part. I can see that too. He'd love it and so would I!

I have a mentor that did this for about 12 years. Didn't own a house. Had a conex box on a little parcel in South Texas where he wintered out. He and his dog. Amazing stuff.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71