I have deleted my Facebook account and it was the best thing I have ever done

in #freedom5 years ago
Source

I have joined Facebook back in 2009, when it was slowly getting popular. All of my old friends were there and I wanted to keep in touch with them, as well as new friends and classmates I made in my new middle school. It quickly obsessed me and I started posting various photos, statuses and music on my wall.

Time flew by and Facebook became so popular I felt like people that didn't have an account practically didn't exist in the real world; it was like a second ID card. It's a silly thought, but saying that you don't have Facebook just a couple of years ago would net you some confused and surprised looks.

I was checking my account a few times a day, constantly having it open in a browser window, while I was working on my laptop »in case someone needed my help«, which happened very rarely. I was also looking at different status updates and photos of friends I had on my friends list. You know, the people that you added because you know them and because they would whine if you wouldn't accept their friend request, because they really need that extra number on their friend counters, proudly displayed on their profiles, but don't even say »hi« to you when you see them on the street. But you know, you're friends because Facebook says so.

Source

After a few years I started getting more and more annoyed with it. People posting all sorts of pictures there, seeing how they enjoy their lives and how much better off they are than you. It had a negative impact on me and I wasn't enjoy it.

I often said the only reason why I still had my account was because of the messenger; it made it so easy to communicate with my real friends, with who I often went out and spoke to in real life, and I wondered how our relationships would turn out if I just quit Facebook cold turkey.

It didn't take me long to realize my friends will still be my friends, even if I delete my account, and all others were just numbers I didn't need in my life. My friends could still contact me by sending me a text or call me, if they truly were my friends. I informed all I cared about about my decision and began saving all of the pictures I wanted to keep before I deleted my account.

The first week was a bit weird, I found myself wanting to go on Facebook all the time and then going »ah, right, I'm not on Facebook anymore«. I almost felt bored, because I didn't know what to do with my free time. It was not as hard as I thought it was going to be though, and by the end of week two I already forgot about Facebook's existance.

Source

What happened afterwards?


Friends that have always been my friends stayed in touch of course, just like I predicted. We found ways of communicating online that were better suited for us as well as moved on to texting when we weren't online.

This was definitely a good and healthy decision for me, as I have felt much better afterwards and could focus more on myself rather than give my time to browsing walls of people I didn't care about.

Am I done with Facebook forever?


Considering I want to become an entrepreneur, I don't think I'm done with Facebook forever, if it will still be popular and around in a couple of years. After all it is a good tool to get yourself out there, known and build a community about your services and products, but that goes for all social media, not just Facebook. All in all, Facebook isn't bad, just like other social media isn't bad, what is bad though, is getting addicted to them and watching your life run by.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09