Freedom of speech: A dying concept

in #freedom6 years ago

You cruel, sadistic, redneck bastard! OK, so not the way I would describe myself however I was labelled as such a little while ago by the wife of a friend of mine. She wasn't joking either. Let me explain. She, let's call her Mrs. Judgmental, was referring to the fact that I engage in the following: Hunting, culling and the shooting of firearms in general.

We were sitting in a cafe having a nice Sunday brunch catch up with the four of us, my wife and I and my mate and his wife who we haven't spent that much time with. My mate is not a shooter preferring to pour all his efforts into car racing which he's really good at. Anyway, my bro asked what was going on lately with me and we started talking about shooting: Culling and competition stuff. He asked a little more about the culling which is usual as many people don't actually know what it's all about and why it's necessary and I was explaining all of this, albeit minus any real graphic detail, considering the company I was in. It wasn't long before Mrs. Judgmental found her voice and started (tentatively at first) voicing her opinion on the matter and whilst, at that stage, she hadn't gone on full attack I could see where it was going.

"Those poor animals. What do you feel when you pull the trigger. Are you proud of yourself. How inhumane. Why do you feel the need to do this" that sort of comment...

Just for a little perspective she was tucking into a lovely breakfast of bacon and eggs all the while.

So, after making some attempt to change the subject with no real luck, and her comments getting more attacking (and irrational) I asked her if she ate meat. She looked at me quizzically, looked at her plate and said something like, "well obviously," to which I replied "then you better shut the fuck up about shooting animals then huh?"

My mate started grinning immediately however after a sharp, "you asshole, you'll pay for that later" look from Mrs. Judgemental he stopped. With not much to say in return other than trying to argue that HER meat was killed humanely (which it's not generally), she turned to my wife and sought some support. Background on my wife...Vegetarian, hates me shooting animals but understands the need to cull on farming properties; She's also a very good rifle shooter being deadly accurate out to 780m on a dinner plate-sized steel gong. Shoots guns with me regularly and knows how to load, make safe and disable every gun I have: Shotguns, rifles and handguns (semi -auto's & revolvers). So...Not a lot of support coming from that direction Mrs. Judgemental. (Image shows my wife with one of my rifles)

Rather than leave it there she persisted however changing tact slightly and going down the guns kill people track citing many cases in America to support her argument. In these moments I usually simply back down as people who don't shoot guns, have never shot a gun, have never seen a gun in real life, who don't live in America or a war-zone, understand the Second Amendment, or have any real clue about logical discussion are not worth wasting my time on. So, that's what I did. I kind of backed away from the anti-gun argument and suggested instead that she re-evaluate her understanding on how meat is produced and understand how it makes it's way from the womb of it's mother to the supermarket and the little white plastic tray it's purchased in. I offered to send her some YouTube videos taken inside an abattoir to show her how her bacon made it to her plate however she declined.

So, it was around that point she decided to call me a cruel, sadistic, redneck bastard. She is entitled to her opinion of course.

From there I suggested we change the subject which I promptly turned to fishing, a past time Mrs. Judgemental and my mate enjoy together. It worked and the topic shifted. During THAT conversation I asked her how she thought the fish felt getting hooked in it's mouth and dragged, fighting all the way, to the surface and then pulled from the water where it can breath into the air where it can't breathe, and then held up for a photo before being tossed into a small container of water to gradually die with the previous catch. And I'm cruel?

She didn't have much to say about it from there.

I guess my point is that everyone is entitled to an opinion and due to the social-media world we live in many feel completely within their right to push it upon others even if it's unfounded, inaccurate and not based on fact or any real truth. People also like to jump on the band wagon in respect to the latest politically correct or fashionable topic. That's fine of course. It's a free world. However, when confronted with a counter-point based in fact being judgemental is not productive, nor is name calling.

I think political correctness destroys freedom of speech, logical and healthy debate. But that's just my opinion.

Oh, if you have an opinion about shooting (culling/killing) animals and you use ANY product that contains animal products you better check yourself prior to voicing your opinions and judgements on people who do the killing. Go and Google products that contain animal products to see if you do...You'll be surprised.

[- Design and create your ideal life, don’t live it by default -]

Sort:  

Hunted animals are actually a lot more humane meat compared to farm animals. Deers, elks and other could live threir lives in nature and be free like they are supposed to be. Farmed animals are (often) in bad conditions, raised in captivity without any possibility to act according to their nature and their only existence is to be our food. Unfortunately, most people think that supermarket meat is humane..

That's a really good point and quite correct. They say farmed animals have an awareness of what's happening as they are prodded an poked up the ramp to meet their end which can affect the quality of the meat. Electrocution, gassing, gunshot and exsanguination are all explained here.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Animal_slaughter

And yet, people want to believe their meat has been gently lulled into a deep sleep on a bed of roses and then pass away surrounded by loved ones whilst listening to Celine Dion on the Ipod.

Yes, I've heared the same. Animals sense the danger, their stress levels rise up and release stress hormones. Those hormones affect the quality of the meat.

It's just easier for people to think that it's all nice, smooth, humane.. etc. They are told so and they want to believe that.

Which, in essence, is the true point of my post. You say it succinctly and quite correctly with your line as below...

They are told so and they want to believe that.

People (in general) these days have lost the ability for independent thought, and to form their own opinions unless those opinions are influenced from outside sources, right or wrong. I think it's also become fashionable to jump onto a cause or two which has the double benefit of making the person seem informed and intelligent (and therefore more acceptable in society) and the ability to jump on a soapbox and shout their opinions to the world via bookgram and snapface and instapsnap etc. which for many gives them the instant gratification of a LIKE or two.

Yes, and that's how masses are being controlled, motivated, agitated etc. Too often this group behaviour/opinions are very distructive. Every single war is based on that mechanism. Well, that's a large topic..

Right you are. Very good points.

I was entertained by the exchange of thoughts, and I understand what you mean. Some people now go for the popular opinion even without doing their own due diligence. And sometimes, their thoughts are not even their thoughts. I mean, they just pick up ideas without verifying and reflecting on them whether they truly agree or disagree.

The media propaganda machine ensures the ‘sheeple’ are leaning their thoughts in the right direction. George Orwell wrote a book about this...Welcome to the brave new world of not having to think independently, where the truth is whatever a person is fed and reality is normally obscured by the pursuit of money and power.

my 2 cents:

the "truth" (i use the term loosely because it's quite subjective) probably lies somewhere in the middle.

Your friend's wife probably shouldn't have escalated and called you a cruel, sadistic redneck, but from what i read (judging from limited information) you probably provoked a little bit with the "better shut the fuck up" comment. It's wise to not try and be so confrontational especially with your friend's partners - sometimes it's better to agree to disagree as partners can often complicate relationships between friends.

Onto the actual issue - Even somebody that is pro-gun control (as i am to a degree) would recognise that guns to have necessity in some circumstances - you would have been better served to talk about the ecological impact of failing to cull. (if you didn't already try to that is)

asked a little more about the culling which is usual as many people don't actually know what it's all about and why it's necessary and I was explaining all of this, albeit minus any real graphic detail

A grab from my post.

fair enough....

It was all quite good natured to be honest. I added some dramatic effect to my post for the entertainment value and omitted most of the conversation and context for that reason. She's still eating meat and I still shoot guns. The wheel keeps turning...

Well if it was in good nature then that changes everything :)

I think political correctness destroys freedom of speech, logical and healthy debate. But that's just my opinion.

I think you are right on that. The moment one try to be political correct, then one loose the objectivity.

Freedom of speech isn’t really a reality as we are censored at every turn, mainly through political correctness.

If you really think someone's a violent, hateful psychopath, you're hardly going to say it to their face.

....historically speaking, it would be seen as moral duty to eliminate them for the good of everyone in the community (or socially ostracizing them - which is a good genetic culling long term of the pschycpath gene)
...we stopped doing that, and now they run the world...

That's incredibly offensive, Lucylin.
Not wrong though ;)

it is? Thank you!
😂

Worked on Game of Thrones too...


source

There was a time when people would though. Ah, I miss those medieval days when a slight insult would end with crossed swords and battle axes.

International waters isnt that far away.
Maybe throw down the gauntlet.
Call me a violent nutcase???
I'll cut your face off.

Has it always been like this? People forcing their opinions down our throats and if we dare disagree, it becomes a personal attack, like with your Mrs. Judgmental. What happened to respecting other's opinions? How did people become so judgmental and feel like their opinion should rule? Answer me damnit or I may have to resort to some name calling myself :)

I grew up on a farm and am a firm believer in treating animals with respect. That doesn't translate into not killing them, and if an animal is to be used completely for food or other uses, and killed humanely, then yes, it's probably a lot better than the place Mrs. J. got her bacon from.

It's a mixed up, head-shaking world out there @galenkp. Thank goodness you and I are normal :)

You and I are not just normal. We’re extraordinary also! :)

I agree. I wouldn’t have been surprised if Mrs. judgemental said, ”why can’t you get your meat from the supermarket where it’s made!” :)

I loved the fact my mate (her husband) laughed when I cornered her though. Champ!

We are extraordinary :)

hahaha If she said that through tears, it would have been spectacular!

Oh, he'll pay for that later!!

Trying to talk rationally using logic to the mentally ill - is like trying to describe the color 'red' to blind man...

Point well made @lucylin !

Just for a little perspective she was tucking into a lovely breakfast of bacon and eggs all the while.

LOL Hypocritical judges are my absolute favorite! It is absolutely insane how modern society feels the need to shove, force feed, and stuff others with their own opinions. What happened to honest conversations and healthy debate? You may never change my mind on a subject, but I have always been fascinated to learn what others may believe and why they believe it.

Really great post!

Thanks mate. I agree, I enjoy debate and understanding other people’s opinions however when it’s done in an attacking and judgemental way it’s simply not productive. I prefer an open conversation where people can agree or disagree without insults and judgement. Alas, those days are gone I think.

IMO free speech is pretty much on its way out in some ways. Many people these days dont see or understand the need for it so they are happy to try and stomp out speech they dont like.

stomp out speech they dont like.

Exactly!

I asked the husband of a workmate.
" I hear you went hunting. What did you shoot?"
He lent forward and whispered
"Deer and goats."
I said, "Why are you whispering?"

He was afraid he might upset people.

But his eyes were very happy recalling how delicious the meat was.
😉 plus I've got an invite on the next rotisserie.

Isn’t it interesting how political correctness, designed to give everyone a fair go and freedom or speech, drives people underground and makes people speak in hushed tones.

Still, you’re going to get stuck into that venison and I’m off culling tonight, so it’ll all work out!

That sounds like a tense meal. I was waiting for you to say, "then she threw her food at me and walked away." You make some valid points though. If you're going to say that killing cows is wrong, why is killing fish any different?

I wonder how long it will be before you all have brunch again. ;)

It was a good-natured conversation in the main, and I left out most of the context which makes it seem more dramatic. Works for my post. We're all having a BBQ in a couple of weeks. Let's see if she brings tofu burgers.

That's good she didn't storm out and demand that your friend stop hanging out with you. Apparently you have a good relationship to be able to do that sort of jabbing back and forth. Yeah, let us know how the BBQ goes. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70391.42
ETH 3572.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74