NRA? Yay or Nay?

in #freedom6 years ago

My mind is in internal conflict right now....

nraa.jpg

I keep receiving these letters in the mail for invitation to join the NRA (National Rifle Association). While I do 100% the right to bear arms I do have a problem with paying dues into any bureaucracy. I feel the NRA has good intentions and the best interests of freedom loving folks in mind but they have proven time and time again that they are only just another lobbying group that is political arm of the Republican Party.

Maybe it is naive of me to believe that I shouldn't have to pay my hard earned money to an organization in order to keep what little freedom I have. Both the Republican and Democratic Parties DO NOT have my best interests in mind and both have their own ways of eroding freedom. We should not have to pay dues to any organization to keep our freedoms. Imagine having to lobby to keep the 3rd Constitutional Amendment intact!

"No Soldier shall, in time of peace be quartered in any house, without the consent of the Owner, nor in time of war, but in a manner to be prescribed by law."

This is probably one of the least controversial rights guaranteed by the US Constitution and the Bill of Rights. As of 2018 it has never been the primary basis for a Supreme Court decision. It was included in the Bill of Rights under the right to free speech, freedom of religion, and the right to bear arms for a reason.

Bear with me and do not accuse me of the "Slippery Slope fallacy". If the 2A is changed, tweaked, or modified it does not mean that any and all Amendments can/will be.

  • Why does it seem as if only the 1A and 2A are under attack?
  • Is the US Constitution outdated and in need of an overhaul?
  • Is the US Constitution a living document that can be modified in real time?
  • Is the US Constitution a hard set of rules that should not be revised?

I do not know the answers to these questions but I can be certain that lobbying groups, political parties, nor most other large collective bargaining organizations do not have my best interest at heart. It is up to each and everyone of us to ensure we keep our freedoms and not cave to those who wish to take them from us.

If you are a member of a political action group I do not judge you but I have to question your reasoning that our freedoms are for sale and why do we need to prove our need for personal rights! Why should we need to pay dues to an organization that validates the other side and entertains their argument.

Please do not allow either side to validate the need for fighting to keep freedom. These things are not for sale or bargaining. Until next time....

IMG_1590.PNG


superdavey_red.png

Sort:  

You got a 19.02% upvote from @brupvoter courtesy of @superdavey!

I gave you an upvote on your post! Please give me a upvote and I will give
you a follow in return and possible future votes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64104.40
ETH 3148.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25