Waiting for something that'll never arrive

in #freedom6 years ago

We tend to spend a great deal of our time waiting for something to happen the right job, the right person, until retirement, for a bus... We try to convince others to our way of thinking and sit and complain when they do not adjust the way we want and then, we wait again for something to change.

I mentioned today that I am a massive procrastinator which was questioned considering the volume of work I produce but, these two things aren't in conflict.Procrastination doesn't require inaction, it is the avoidance of something that one doesn't want to do. Around exam times at university, my home was spotless as I would do anything but study and, cleaning was the lesser of the evils.

I have put so much of my effort into this place, so much mental energy but, it hasn't really eventuated to much. Steem Power distribution hasn't improved significantly as people seem to have decided that powering up is for the idiots. The same are happy tom complain about the lack of 'free' value in the pool though.

The pool is not free and the little bit of draw my SP has on it has come at a very high personal cost in time, effort and massive opportunity cost. All those people who sold SBD high, I powered most of it up. It is a funny outlook some have because they seem to think that anyone with SP somehow owes them something.

I am no whale, I am no pre-miner or delegation recipient. I am a skin in the game, sweat equity member who has poured themselves in. If this little experiment fails, the work I have put into the project amounts to exactly zero in value. I am not the only one but, there aren't many out there who have done it for 6 months like this, let alone 18 months or 2 years like a tiny few.

It is quite an interesting system really and we can see how entitlement rules the thinking of many and even though I wish my life here and IRL was easier, I know that I am not entitled to anything in either. If i want something, I have to do the work for it before there are any gains realised as to take payment before the work, is to live on a debt cycle and it is this kind of thinking that has led to the oppression of most people by middlemen, debt collectors and governments.

We paid for theschooling that we forced you to take... you owe us.

People want the freedom to live and earn as they please but, so many are waiting for others to pay their way. It is not freedom when you rely on the charity of others to survive. Freedom can never be born from necessity and it can never be had if what one must do to get paid by another, is not what is wanted to be done.

Some people will say (including me) that living on Steem is crazy but, that is only at this point due to instability and uncertainty, but potentially, there will be a future where living off it is possible. However, to live off it freely is going to require owning a little of it otherwise, one is always going to be jumping through the hoops of others with a hat out, hoping for a coin to be dropped in.

This is not just the Steem reality, this is the same thing in life where those living in debt are constantly juggling finances with very little chance to ever get out. Personally, I am well and truly tired of the increasing crushing force of reality while I sit and wait for things to be better.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]

Sort:  

"It is not freedom when you rely on the charity of others to survive. Freedom can never be born from necessity and it can never be had if what one must do to get paid by another, is not what is wanted to be done."
this hits home :(

Hmm when SBD was really high (I'm talking about winter 2017), I have to admit I don't think I knew enough to power up. I mean I was still quite new here and quite clueless about Steem and the inner workings of the platform and obviously, when I realized that I can get a few thousand bucks from what I'd written in the past few months, I cashed in.
(Well, they have been my pocket money for the past six months and I think they'll see me through the year, so...)
But I think a lot of people were like me, then. Because obviously, you have to read and do research, not just about Steem, but about crypto in general, to know to power up or invest or whatever. And a lot of people don't do that....
Which doesn't mean they're entitled to votes from people with a lot of Steem, obviously. Nor is it an excuse, what I'm saying here, just an explanation.
I hope...

Your opening paragraph reminded me of this beautiful Romanian quote that goes something like We spend our lives waiting for a train to arrive, watching the others go by and waiting. And when our train finally arrives at the station, we don't get on. We're too tired to, we have waited too long.

(Well, they have been my pocket money for the past six months and I think they'll see me through the year, so...)

Yep. I should have done the same probably and not worried too much about where things here were headed.

We spend our lives waiting for a train to arrive, watching the others go by and waiting. And when our train finally arrives at the station, we don't get on. We're too tired to, we have waited too long.

This is how most people spend their lives, saving themselves for something that by the time they are ready, they have lost their youth.

People talk about freedom as it is some kind of right . That you are entitled to it like the air you breath .
Well its not
Its the most expensive thing anyone will ever come across in your lifetime . People have paid , are paying and will pay in the future for our freedom

Why are the people who pay the price the minority . Why do they tolerate the majority . Maybe it's time for the minority to state calling out ,flag, the majority which includes the bystanders .

There is no middle ground when it comes to freedom or doing what is right . Ignorance is no excuse . No innocent bystanders .

There is no middle ground when it comes to freedom or doing what is right . Ignorance is no excuse . No innocent bystanders .

It is an all or noting position.

I like to think all my posting over the last year will not have been in vein!!

i hope so too :)

I have been doing things all my life for others and that is now going to change. i need to break the shackles and start looking t make me happy. That may sound quite drastic but if one doesn't do what is needed you may as well dig a hole now.
I agree that if you have SP it is like the beggars come calling and expect something. Power up and pull away from the bottom. It is hard but gets easier as soon as you get momentum. Things will get better but you need to help your self at the same time. One cannot sit and just wait.

I have been taught to always put others before myself and it has led to others being well and myself struggling. I am not the martyr type yet it seems to be where I consistently find myself.

It is hard to change something you have done all your life. I have been exactly the same but charity begins at home now.

Thank you for always posting those accurate posts at such an accurate time.

People false expectations on steemit has prevent many from looking into the future. Many just want the money and cash out, no plan whatsoever for the future.

We should all learn to contribute in securing the future of steemit no matter how little you have, your little can mean a lot when added to mine and everyone's little contributions.

We try to convince others to our way of thinking and sit and complain when they do not adjust the way we want and then, we wait again for something to change.

I think this is a public discussion, i actually not gonna end reading this but to share on fb and on y what's status... Procrastination is a kinda way of life it doesn't mean those that procrastinates are fools... So many thinking wide

I'm sad that Steem is going down in value, so I upvoted your post so it has 69 upvotes. I'm stupid like that. But it makes me feel better inside.

lol. that is a fair call.

The opportunities do not always come, most of the time we have to look for it ... The people who sold high SBD took advantage of the best moment ... You are not a whale, but you are much better than a whale by far, both for me !! Thanks to you I could get up when I read your publication ... Sometimes we want to win without doing anything, but there is a big mistake "Opportunities do not always come, you have to look for them". Greetings, my dear friend.

I have put so much of my effort into this place, so much mental energy but, it hasn't really eventuated to much.
Your work doesnt go un noticed I have learnt alot from your blog! Really enjoy the discussions you bring up and makes me think about how I use Steem and what the future will hold.


Im sure im not the only one who appreciates all the hard work you put in. It is hard to convince others to changes as many others are very resistent to new ideas. Alot of the bigger accounts on here only think about themselves and their bottom line - its great that you put the community first. I try and have the same approach because I know this is best for everyone in the long run!

Your work doesnt go un noticed I have learnt alot from your blog!

Yeah, it isn't about being noticed too much other than that people will see what others do and shout greed but, they are yet to really apply themselves yet at all. I see that as greedy, taking without giving.

its great that you put the community first.

Yes, the community is very happy I do but, is it great personally? This is the question really since those who 'put the community first' aren't necessarily the ones supported by that community. it becomes an expectation that they must sacrifice themselves the betterment of others and that path will eventually lead to no one putting the community first.

Yes true, there are not enough community minded people - to many people out for themselves, and that usually doesnt end well!

Well sometimes it is a bit of a balancing at....

Keep up the brilliant work - I appreciate it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05