Friendships and Freedom

in #freedom6 years ago

There are potentially as many kinds of friendships as there are combinations of individuals in the world. Some friendships are based around common hobbies, while others are based around a shared history. There are some which are maintained out of convenience and others which fill us with a sense of deep connection.

We would like to think that our friendships allow for our own personal freedom, but for many people this is simply not the case. We are all growing and changing with every passing day, at least we have a natural tendency to do so. But not all friendships encourage such growth, many go so far as to actively hinder such growth.

EB7AB152-708A-45DF-AB8C-DDF629A654D2.jpeg

bff

When we become close with someone, we develop a mode of interacting with them. Sometimes this mode of interacting is not entirely representative of who we are, but based more around the norms of our society. We have ideas about friendship instilled in us from our parents and from television. Not all of us naturally fit these patterns. Our relationships are further complicated when we’ve been hurt and start to distrust in others, or when we have any semblance of a victim mentality, and this is someone that almost everyone goes through at some point in their lives. Things that were once simple may feel more and more complicated as we get older.

How many of us have friends who do not appreciate the changes we make in our lives, or feel betrayed when we change in a way that is difficult for them to understand or that puts our own happiness before their expectations. Many friends are more concerned with losing us than with our happiness. Some are even more concerned with losing us than with their own happiness. When we change too much, it can threaten that feeling that this person will always be there.

I’ve experience this first and second hand through many artist friends. Many of my friends found themselves unhappy in their jobs and lifestyles and sought to pursue their artistic careers rather late. They’re old friends all tell them they are crazy, one was even threatened by a friend who was so offended by his friends decision to change his lifestyle that he actively sought to get in his friends way, “This is for your own good!” he would say.

When we tell some friends about our decisions to leave our current city and go far away, get married and have kids, find a new hobby, or change work, their response sometimes comes from their own self interest. If it doesn’t affect them, they may congratulate us, but if it affects them in any way, they’re often less than please.

This is especially when we find some other friends who we have more in common with. When we find friends whose passions align with ours, many of our high school or hometown friends will be less than pleased. They may tease us, ignore us, or assume our friendships with them aren’t as strong as they thought.

I play music and I like to spend time with people who I can collaborate artistically with. My old drinking buddy had a hard time getting used to it when I started turning down his bi-weekly invitations to go get a drink. It wasn’t that I didn’t want to see him, I just didn’t want to sit around drinking and complaining when I could jam or watch people paint.

A change in or beliefs or political stance can also cause some friends to lash out or distance themselves from us. Sometimes a distancing is fair and for the better as we really don’t see eye to eye in a way we once did, but sometimes it’s out of resentment rather than out of a true divide in the relationship. I have some Christian friends who were basically exiled from their Christian group of friends when they started making friends with non-Christians, despite remaining Christian themselves. I had an atheist friend who was the same. If a friendship is based upon similar faith or beliefs and then those beliefs change, it makes sense to drift apart, but if it’s based upon other elements, this seems unnecessary to me.

This is a deep topic and there is way more than I could say in a single post. I’d like to go more into the issue of dependency and flexibility in friendships in future posts.

Sort:  

One way of thinking is that those who don't support your decisions aren't really your friends at all. This has been my way of thinking most of the time because I find it very exhausting having to explain to someone that I don't want to do something because I just don't. Just as you said, not because I don't like the person but because our interests have changed.

On the other hand a good friend should see past the selfish feelings that emerge from the fear of loosing a friend and try to be patient and help the one who thinks that you are leaving them. After all you may be that persons whole life or at least a very big part of it, and that person may think that loosing you is the worst thing so far.

So at the same time as you should live a life that makes you happy and you should definitely shake off those who drain you empty, you should also try to be a good friend to those who you like, but you just don't share the same interests anymore.

Decisions, decisions.

I don’t need ever friend to support all my decisions, but if they can’t accept them and leave them alone, they probably won’t be friends for long.

Of course I’ll be sensitive to any inconvenience I may have caused a friend or family member by changing their world a little bit, but we cannot ignore our desires.

Also anyone who makes someone else their whole world is setting themselves up for trouble. But it’s all good, we learn from these kinds of mistakes.

Also anyone who makes someone else their whole world is setting themselves up for trouble. But it’s all good, we learn from these kinds of mistakes.

I guess that can be a sign of insecurenes or some kind of instability of life. According to my kitchen therapist inside my head.

I've been thinking selfishness / selflessness a lot lately. The kind that you either chase your dreams and do what you want to do or be with those who are nice people, but aren't really giving you those things what you are interested in life or want to pursuit. After all that moment could really mean the world to that person, even if it wouldn't take me closer to where I want to be. Or is it that I only feel that I'm not giving my time enough to those who I don't interact daily or weekly because of shared interests.

Just wondering.

I believe the contradiction between selfishness and selflessness begins to becomes null and void when you see the connectivity between people and things. We are happy when we make others happy, but only when it is in a way that allows for our own sovereignty, our own freedom. Sometiems we just have to get our shit straight before we have that time for someone else, but after we do we have much more time and energy for others.

I agree.

I made a some sort of formula out of this philosophical equation because I have nothing else to do. No, that was I lie. I have things to do, I just don't want to do those things.

My mathematical skills are a bit rusty, so I've implemented some html and an insaneworks aspect in it. Division by zero is impossible, unless the calculator is insane.

laskukaavaitsekkyys.jpg

"How many of us have friends who do not appreciate the changes we make in our lives, or feel betrayed when we change in a way that is difficult for them to understand or that puts our own happiness before their expectations."

This is the reason that I lost touch with most of the people who I knew when I was young. I stopped being into partying and drinking excessively and they all called be boring. If not needing to pull over and vomit in a bush twice a week and having pregnancy scares with three or four beer googles hook-ups is boring than so be it lol.

Some of the issue is born out of people's general fear of change. Friends can have a big impact on our lives and some people will feel threatened when they see their friends change. Sometimes, they adjust and get over it and other times, it ends the friendship. It sucks but I suppose its natural. I said this to some the other day and I think it applies here too: You are the only one you absolutely must spend the rest of your life with so it is okay to put your own interests first. If someone hates you for that, screw it, they weren't that great of a friend in the first place.

well, friendships are transitory. they are because of what you are to either yourself or your friends at a certain point in time. this is acceptable though. you will change and so will they. if the changes converge, then good for you. if they dont, it is all for the best.

some are of course lucky to have lifelong friends who change along with you and still remain close

I would love to hold on to more friendships than I have in the past but not at the cost of my own growth. I think this should be easier because the friends I’ve made as of recent are not friends of convenience or circumstance.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66569.64
ETH 3235.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.31