I Am Finding It Hard to Breathe: Freedom Friday Melancholy

in #freedomfriday5 years ago (edited)

When I learnt to surf as a teenager, we used to paddle out after school at Torquay Point and enjoy waves to ourselves. At most, there might be twenty of us out there, and that's talking an absolute crowd. Often times, we had it to ourselves, screaming songs into the sky and venting teen frustrations and craziness in salt water and huge skies. That was always the appeal to me - surfing was pure freeeeeedoooommmmmmmm, totally away from the pressures of the world.

image.png

I distinctively remember we'd talk about this 'matchbox' feeling we would feel at school or at home with the folks, you know the one kids feel when they're exploring the boundaries of their world and seeking independence? It feels like being trapped inside a tiny box and screaming to get out. Being out at sea used to relieve that feeling for me. Still does, sometimes.

You'd gain a new perspective, too, out there in the water looking back at the shore. And wow - thundering along empty beaches with our horses with no one around to say that we couldn't - and if there was, it was usually just a grumpy park ranger that would give up once we were out of sight. Damn I miss those days of total freedom on an uncrowded coast, the feeling of expansion and endlessness in my heart. Things are different now. Not as free.

Hence, this freedom friday musing.

Whilst @eaglespirit's #freedomfriday is having a break this week, like @trucklife-family says, I've kinda got in the habit of it, a weekly musing on freedom that I enjoy. This week, however, 'freedom' has been kinda driving me crazy, or lack thereof. It's nothing overtly political, nothing world changing or inspiring, just me, @riverflows, feeling a little out of sorts. Like I'm stuck in a matchbox, screaming to get out, and I can't breathe. I'm just sitting with that, and wondering where it's coming from. Maybe it's just this humidity, the thunderstorms in the air, the pollens - I really literally am a bit out of breath!

I'm also thinking of how we gain small freedoms in gaps - in tiny spaces. Out in the water, surfing, the gaps are when I'm on a wave and I can entirely forget all the other pressures in my life, that still exist, but don't exist in that moment. There's always so many forces telling us what to do, what to think, how to behave. So many responsibilities, deadlines, obligations. Sometimes I just want to shout at everyone to leave me the hell alone. How can I think in all this noise? How can I breathe?

I'm a bit grumpy at the moment because our coast is so FULL now, and developers keep carving up land into tinier parcels (gone is the quarter acre block - now we have 300 sq metres! Talk about matchboxes!) and there's so much traffic that I feel like I'm in a city when I drive down there. But even here, I can find gaps - an hour or two when people think there's no swell or it's easterly but it's offshore and the waves come up, or people are hungover on Grand final Sunday and no one's at the beach, or at dawn or dusk. Lots of little gaps to enjoy the freedom to just be out in nature without anyone hassling you or getting in your way. I live for those moments. But this week I've been just wanting to tell everyone to GO AWAY AND LEAVE ME ALONE - you're encroaching on the freedom I've always enjoyed here. The price of a growing population I guess is this feeling of being encroached upon, crowded, cloistered.

J. said the other day it's lucky we bought our 5 acres when we did, because we wouldn't be able to afford it these days given the property prices. We've got a view to the west of just trees and the water re-use land and forest. We can light fires and build crazy projects and no one will complain as no one can see us. On the flipside, we'd love to share it as we miss living with people like we did on site in England, if you're familiar with the new traveller scene. Always these polarities!

So, really, my point is (sorry for the lack of structure here) - the gaps for small freedoms are so important for my sanity. In them I can be creative, expansive, and full of joy. These gaps include:

  • the ten minutes before J wakes up in the morning, where I lay awake and look out the window and breath
  • the mornings and afternoons I have off work in a part time timetable, chosen over more money
  • the darkness before sleep, meditating in infinite space
  • the pre-dawn paddle out into the surf before anyone else gets out
  • being alone and pottering in my garden and own space
  • walking along a deserted beach mid week

In what tiny gaps and spaces do you get chance to feel free?

Is freedom ever a constant, or do we only get to experience small moments of it?

PS I have tried to upload a Dtube snap all day @nathanmars, @indigoocean, @whatamidoing - like really trying! I got the courage to do it, played around, got a minute of film and a bit of psychobabble, and the damn thing wouldn't post. Thought it might and then the power went out. So perhaps it's a message from the universe that I shouldn't be doing it anyway!



B2235A50C31CD126067343B513524EE62.gif

Sort:  

I feel truly fully free when I challenge myself to do something that terrifies me... The last time was when I was in Zion national park and I woke up alone at dawn and hiked up the spire at angels landing. I felt like I was clinging to the edge of the world the whole way up and I'm so glad I was alone because it felt like me and the universe playing a game of "how far can you go?"
The view was awesome but it was nothing compared to how expansive I felt standing there alone at the top of the world, both terrified and loving it.
As a side note... I have felt this feeling you describe, the matchbox feeling. And can't catch a breath. I feel it most often in the calm after a storm (life storm 😉). I find that in survival mode (which I'm going to blog about today, I found the topic somewhere so it's fitting 😂) in survival mode, I dive so far into self care so I have energy to make it through, and reprogramming, that after life calms down, it's like finally the processing starts, and it can actually be really stressful in a quiet subtle way. I think... It's like I'm holding my breath waiting to see whether it's really calm outside or whether more shit will hit the fan. Haha you just got some great news but think of all the times in the past year or so that you've been unknowingly holding your breath (every time you feel tension, whether you know it or not!) and now, that things are calming down in life, or now that once again liiiife is breathing around you, those patterns of holding breath do continue. You might just have a more open space to notice them. Just a thought.
Anyway, loved this post. I saw it on my way to the new interview sessions, and it really made me think of this stuff.
To freedom, eh?IMG_0053_2.jpg

Indeed, yes to Freedom. I have loved reading people's comments and see that people seek the same things and feel the same things. We can feel trapped , but find release and freedom especially in nature. Oh, I totally know that feeling of the breath. And sometimes it feels as if you cannot get enough air, yet you are taking great gulps of it. The weight on the chest. I think when I was young I used to push that feeling with cigarettes stupidly but I didn't really understand how to deal with it. I wonder if it is a biological imperative to crave space comma as if it gives us room to renew and recharge, I kind of survival mechanism

Posted using Partiko Android

lovely lovely photo and cool ramble. funny i recall the same with being around a pack of kids in the ocean. i am an ocean girl. sharks n all. tho a fear of them. your last line tho ... guess not supposed to do them hahahah
so sorry

I guess it's just my reaction and I should just not react, but it's like, get the f out of my personal space, you know? And when you know what it could be like, and you're a bit sick of people, it's just that little bit more frustrating I guess.

Oh eek, sharks, yeah, I kinda just don't think about it. Sometimes when I'm in murky water in the morning or late at night I'm super scared but the love of the ocean wins out. There's places in Australia I would never ever surf though!

Honest to god, that bloody DSnap was going to be the death of me today!

I guess it's just my reaction and I should just not react, but it's like, get the f out of my personal space, you know?

¡Holy Moly! now I see how a lucky old coelacanth I must have been to not be ultimately extinct right now.

Today I realize how easily I could have disappeared from the face of the earth for ever. If that day while we were expecting the final results of the Netcoins Voting Contest, I wouldn't have been far enough and out of reach of your hand when I furtively penetrated, invaded and took possession without permission of the DJ Display in your backyard in discord. LoL };)

The reason i love travelling alone is that it gives me my own space from everyone...hiking alone most of all. In doing that, i get scolded by my friends and family. If i can't get away, i go for a walk no matter what weather in London. I can't seem to get any of that now so am happy to walk about in our backyard.
Being on sabbatical i guess gives me the freedom to do something more important.

Beautiful written @riverflows, I understand how you feel about freedom. Hopefully you find a way out of that box soon! Remember many small gaps make a big one so you can escape in the end!

Surfing delivers me the same kind of freedom, but I try to find the freedom feelings in a lot of small things. Even my job offers me the feeling of freedom. And for sure it won’t be the same feeling as getting out on the water standing on my board and the wind in my sail, and only me, the water and the wind are out there. Yes, even in my small country we can surf alone😉

300 sq metres funny that it sounds small for you and for me it does sound like a big property of land. I feel myself lucky with a 100+ sq meters. Actually, weird that people react different to happenings, surroundings, areas, things, etc. for me my small garden is all I need, for you it would feel claustrophobic I assume and totally destroys the feeling of freedom. My girlfriends feels the same as you, she wants/needs a way bigger garden to do her things otherwise she won’t feel free.

The garden delivers me for sure some kind of freedom, when I fire up the BBQ and can cook for my friends and family. While having dinner and we can talk and laugh about anything

But I also need the feeling of being alone, some ME space. I can find that while being at home listening to some music. But I can find it on the beach as well. But there I need to go midweeks or early or late during the day or in winter. Oh yeah winter is approaching!

Loving your morning rhythm looking outside before J wakes up. Ten minutes of pure gold I assume? 😊

That 10 minutes in the morning is 10 minutes without hearing about landowners haha stop

As you know surfing totally gives you that feeling of freedom comma only it's getting busier here and you couldn't be enjoying your freedom and then some dick head drops in on you and spoils everything full stop so I have to be very careful about choosing when and where I surf. A paragraph yes I guess it's very relative but we do live in a big country so it seems silly that they are trying to squeeze as many people in two small areas as possible of course it is all about the money. There is no way I could live in such a tiny space stop I wouldn't want to live in anything smaller than a quarter of an acre full stop in Australia the quarter acre block with a lemon tree was always the standard.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey, I know how you feel being out of sorts. I’ve just been really cranky myself and I feel frustrated with the ‘real’ people around me. I do blame it on the weather partially. I wake up, hopeful to start a new day afresh, and just feel dark because it’s freezing cold, but I’m told it’s going to be super hot. Which way is it going to be universe?! I’m weather sensitive, so it just makes me feel hassled.

But today, I forced on my smiles and tried not to project my dark mood on others, and appreciate them. I even had a sweet old lady who is a real character at my work place give me a hug. Totally unexpected. Lol It just reminded me it wasn’t them and it was me. I’m feeling scattered and unbalanced, and trying to get a grip on my reality. More concerning to me, is that I feel I’m abusing the little freedoms I have, and wasting time. So maybe that’s where we differ, I don’t think it’s external factors oppressing me, I think I’m my biggest enemy.

Hi darling karma Melbourne weather is so crazy. Perhaps it is not either us all the external world but a combination of both. Be kind to yourself, I think we are trying our best, but sometimes things just get to us and that's ok as well. It is nice though isn't it when you fake a smile, and invite the world in and then you find you are actually smiling because the world is actually really nice.

Posted using Partiko Android

Agree wholeheartedly. ❤️

no wonder you feel boxed in with all that development happening, it sounds like you are tuning in with how the environment is feeling too, it is right to feel anger and upset because it is horrible to lose the wilderness around us and when we are connected deeply with it, it is an attack on us too. much love my dear, you feel like this because you care and because you are aware xxx

I live about half an hour from the worst of it so it's is only noticeable if I drive that way or go to my beaches on busier days. So it is not all bad. I guess you can't stop progress but it is still really disappointing that they let it happen

Posted using Partiko Android

Ha I've missed reading your posts! great food for thought..

I know that feeling I've not surfed in around 6 years for very much the reasons you mentioned and the commitments of family life. When i used to live much further north we always had the coast to our selves, some beautiful little spots that were kept secret and only known by those that explored or were welcomed along I miss that feeling of sitting out back feeling safe from the chaos of life!

when I moved further south the coast seems packed year round and the feeling changed, very clicky and more like the rat race i was trying to avoid... ill get back in the surf eventually but love the tranquillity of the mountains these days as its much easier to avoid people than a crowded lineup.

Have a great day! 😀

I know exactly what you mean comma and to be honest I am glad that surfing is not the only thing in my life. Some people only surf and they never do anything else. But I feel like I have back up plans, and like you can get enjoyment from other things like forest or Mountains or even just the yoga room or my garden. The world is full of beautiful things if you know how to look for them and don't only focus on one thing for your saving.

Posted using Partiko Android

I don't think I've ever experienced freedom like that - you ride/ rode horses too ? - but, then again, I grew up in Holland and we're different people.

I myself am also always searching for some kind of freedom and, I guess, in the end, the freedom needs to be found on the inside. Part of it is probably alone time/ space but I also know from experience that being alone too much isn't freeing at all. I guess it's also a lot about letting go but that's alsways so much easier said than done :>)

Anyhow, I don't mean to give you any advice, just rambling a little here. Let's keep breathing. I realize I often forget that that is the easiest, healthiest and above all cheapest medicine to feel better and freer' :>)

And talking about Matchboxes, do you remember this song? I bought it on a CD single back in 96 or 97 and played it a lot...

Matchbox 20 - Push

Source

Have an awesome day! :>)

xx

Goodmorning dear @riverflows.

I am a skateboarder myselfI have been skateboarding for almost 14 years and I totally feel you.
When I feel frustrated,anxious or everytime something is bothering my ehad too much,I grab my board and just roll.I don't care where I'll go,I just want to feel that feeling of freedom you described.To isolate my mind from all the things that don't really matter much and enjoy myself.

Also,freedom for me is travelling in mountains,small roadtrips even if it's a small village 10 km away from my city.
Freedom for me is everything out of the oorinary.

About Dtube upload,I am so glad you gave it a try.
IF you feel like trying again,here is what will solve your problem:

1)Log in with your username and posting key(not through steemconnect)
Posting key can be found here:Waller-->Permissions-->Show posting key

2)Upload a snap while uploading the video

3)Never write your tags with Caps on.

I hope my comment helped you and enjoy that feeling of freedom whenever you can.
Much love girl.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97