Freedom To Choose Life Or Death

in #freedomfriday5 years ago

adult-2028245_960_720.png
img source

blue-wave-lines-clipart-double.jpg

I had started this post 2 weeks ago. Life has just had other plans for me right now and getting time to due my due diligence to those I support and keep posting to stay afloat so to speak had/has gotten to be very overwhelming. I don't like when I cannot stay true to my word. The bright side.... I at least have some catching up to do so I have content to post!!

I do seem to miss #FreedomFriday postings. I have told @eaglespirit that I love these topics. Sometimes I just can't seem to get my post out in time. I want to support this project anyway I can, so I figured better late than never.

blue-wave-lines-clipart-double.jpg

The Freedom to Choose Life or Death? How you see this truly depends on which way you look at this statement. Life being as it has been for about the past 6 months, we're going to choose to go with the standpoint from being ill.

The big question is when is enough, enough? or When is enough too much? To some people they get tired of fighting their illness. They feel drained. They see the drain on their loved ones and ponder the questions as mentioned. I believe with both of these it truly depends on the person and the scenario.

Let's take the case that happened not too long ago. On November 1, 2014 Brittany Maynard chose to die under the State of Oregon's 'Death with Dignity' law. If you aren't familiar with what happened, we'll do a quick overview.

Brittany Maynard was married in September, 2012. In January, 2014 she was diagnosed with:

grade 2 astrocytoma, a form of brain cancer and had a partial craniotomy and a partial resection of her temporal lobe. The cancer returned in April 2014, and her diagnosis was then elevated to grade 4 astrocytoma, also known as glioblastoma, with a prognosis of six months to live.

source

blue-wave-lines-clipart-double.jpg

So is the right time to choose life or death? Do you continue to fight? Do you preserve the memories of your loved ones?

It is hard to imagine what she must have been going through being 29 years old, married for 2 years and no children. I had watched several interviews over the course of this issue coming into the limelight. What bothered me most, was the fact that she was so severely sick and in constant pain, people would be mean and rude to her face not just in the news and on social media. She had caught so much negativity she had to publicly make an announcement to get people to back off.

On October 29, 2014, she stated that "it doesn't seem like the right time right now" but that she would still end her own life at some future point.
source

At that time there were only 2 states in the country that allowed for 'assisted suicide' or 'death with dignity.' These states were Washington and Oregon. Due to the nature of the laws her and her husband decided to move to Oregon from California. They followed the law every step of the way. She had set the date and the arrangements were made. Due to media circus, she issued the statement I quoted above. In the end, everything went as she wanted it to go. Despite the agonizing pain she was going through (mind you not all days were bad, but the bad days outnumbered the good and bad is an understatement.) She did not want to lose her faculties she wanted to be as coherent as possible and she did not want to leave her loved ones with the image of her being in pain and wasting away. She wanted to leave them with good memories.

blue-wave-lines-clipart-double.jpg

Currently, I have 2 friends that are living their lives at this point in time just like Brittany did. Each has chosen which path they want to take. I commend them both for having the strength to face the disease in the way that they choose. I don't want either in pain or their families for that matter.

Those that have followed me for a while know back in July I had a hysterectomy. The background on this. In 2002, I had been raped. Six months later I went in for a follow up Pap smear as directed by my then doctor. My results came back as abnormal. I had to have a biopsy done. Colposcopy if you want to know more about this absolutely wonderful procedure (Yeah NO). I was told then they were pre-precancerous cells and that at that time I became positive for one of the few of the large amounts of HPV strains. One of the ones that cause cervical cancer. I was told that I would should have an exam done about every 6 months, but definitely had to keep up with yearly. It was made out to be no big deal. Since that first colposcopy I have had over 25 Pap smears, 4 colposcopies and 2 LEEP procedures. At the time of my first LEEP procedure which was in 2009 I was at moderate to severe risk of cancer. The second one I went in at a moderate risk. My Pap 2 weeks later was at severe. So obviously something in my bodie was yelling it was finally time to take care of this. 16 years in and out of procedures and different doctors and pain. The goal was to get rid of anything that could possibly develop more 'bad' cells. Thankfully there was nothing left that should develop suspicious cells.

Everyone kept asking me 'What are you going to do if it is cancer?' I simply answered 'live my life.' I was not about to play the 'what if' game with this. Did I prepare myself, of course. When I found out that things were a lot worse than what I had been lead to believe, was I supposed to get mad and start yelling? What good would that do? What would that fix? It would do nothing. I thought about my my one friend who had cancer at the time (the other had not yet been diagnosed and a whole story of his own) The steps he had taken, the changes he made and the conditions he wanted to live out his life. I thought about the story of Brittany Maynard. My 2 biggest concerns were more regarding my family than me. I did not want to leave them with a lifetime of debt due to my medical bills. I did not want them to watch me suffer. I wanted their memories to stay intact. That was it.

blue-wave-lines-clipart-double.jpg

So how or who says when or how we choose to live or how we choose to die? What is good for one person is not for another. It really isn't a question that has a definitive answer. Your beliefs, your feelings, your family all plays a part in what you do. Who is to say one way is the right way? The blunt straightforward answer. We're all terminal. We all will die, somehow, someway it is how life is designed. We live to die.

(I wanted to end this right there, but felt afterwards that I needed to respecify. This is not a suicide discussion that is something completely different. We can choose to cover that topic on another post if you guys want, just say the word. If we're lucky enough to get some discussion, please be respectful of each other)

leonardodavinci1.jpg



Pay It Forward Contests

SB_new.png



IMG-20180606-WA0005.jpg
Steemitcentral


Asapers.gif
ASAP'ers


Picture_20180513_211411075.jpg
Dustsweeper



manna banner.jpg
Earn passive Universal Basic Income


banner

CREATE YOUR OWN @REVIEWME PROFILE TO START EARNING CREDIBILITY STARS FROM THE COMMUNITY!
CREATING YOUR PROFILE IS EASY! JUST FOLLOW THE STEPS HERE ☜(ˆ▿ˆc)


Thank you for your continued support, Love

tryskele (1).gif

Sort:  

This is a tough discussion and I admire you for raising the question. I totally support euthanasia. I think one should be able to decide when enough is enough. And it shouldn't be a subject for others to debate on and make their political campaigns on.

P.S. I had hysteroscopy twice due to uterus polyps. I guess I know the feelings you are talking about :/

The only part that I left out, as I hadn't had that procedure, but should have. My uterus was filled with fibroids of various sizes most golfball size.

It's a very hard thing to talk about. I know I have the 2 things I that are my personal feelings, but it doesn't mean I'm not going to roll over either. This is something that almost everyone has been affected by in one way or another. Yet it's personal. I firmly believe each person needs to do what is right for them.

Btw, I didn't comment it, but I am really sorry for what happened to you in 2002. I hope the offender faced justice.

It's ok, well I'm ok with it. As long as he doesn't enter the state of Missouri he won't have any issues. They were not going to track him down after he left the state a few days later. Lessons learned, I guess. I admit, I did get angry about that and the fact that not only had I been through the rape, the police pretty much let him go, but mainly that I ended up with something more 'severe' (having a hard time putting words to it.) I can't tell you how much 'lighter' I felt after surgery, not just because the pain and discomfort was gone, but that chapter finally had an ending.

I always get angry when I encounter injustice no matter if it is towards me or someone else. I know for sure that sooner or later people who harm others found someone who will harm them back badly. So, I guess sooner or later he will get what he deserves.

I have two friends who had the HPV and bad PAP results. They had a procedure (I don't know if it is the same) of cutting some tissue (with the pre-cancerous cells) of their cervix. My sister doesn't have the HPV but still had some not good looking cells on her cervix, so she had the same procedure. We are lucky that medicine has advanced in early diagnostics and we have the chance of getting rid of this stuff before they turn into something bad.

People need to mind their own business and stop telling others how to live their lives or not.

Put a date on the day you will expire changes everything .

You're right. Until you're in the situation, you don't know what you would do and as we know we're all different.

And yet we are all the same 😉

At times like that we reach out to family and friends for comfort, advice and acknowledgment. They make a difference

Absolutely.

You obviously know my feelings on all of this; I'm with @wolfhart... Until you walk in someone else's shoes, you really have no idea or right to judge.

Hope you're well @tryskele. This is me, dipping my toes in the steemit water again 😊

Doing better. I hope you guys had a nice trip to Texas. I do! with everything that our little group has been through since we've met it's really was one reason I wanted to do this post. I'll have to see if @eaglespirit has tossed anymore out.

People need to take care of themselves and stop worrying about what others do. It's not their place. I support those I care about no matter what they do. That is what people are supposed to do. Not tell anyone they are right or wrong for what they choose.

I can't say that I could ever tell someone else what to do facing those issues. I can see reasons to fight it and reasons to not. But can't say I know the answer to what is the right. Not sure anyone would know. I know my grandpa got cancer when I was younger changed what he ate did the chemo and beat it. He live another 20 years but I was pretty young when he got sick so no idea how serious it was. But I could tell for him it was clear to fight it. I am guessing when you face it after a while you figure out what you will do.

That's definitely a thought. We all come with an expiration date, yet as @wolfhart says until you know that time frame your perspective is different. To be honest, there is no right answer. The only answer is compassion and support for whatever decision is made. Yet we know many will disagree with that statement.

It's great that your grandpa was able to extend his for as long as he did. It gave you time to know him.

Hi @tryskele!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.485 which ranks you at #6464 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 32 places in the last three days (old rank 6496).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 240 contributions, your post is ranked at #153.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I am not here to discuss @tryskele, I just miss your post a lot. I don't know about brittany maynard story, but I think that she's doing the best for her and her family.

There are so many people out there decided to stay alive but living death, not because they're terminally ill.. but because they don't know what to do. But I appreciated you and your fight, brian, lynn and wolfhart too. I learned more than enough in short time about being grateful and live the life with dignity.

I lost 2 nieces last month because of brain's cancer and unidentified illness (they're only 15 and 30 yo) and couldn't agree more with you "we live to die", it just a matter of time for me too. We all have our own fight but showing our sympathy and empathy to others, not a hard thing to do.

@cicisaja I don't think you 'can't not' discuss things LOL. It's your nature and I love that about you. It was a big story here in the US. People would picket her house or the hospital she was at when things were that bad, simply because she wanted to live 'end' her life on her terms.

I have learned so much about life from the 3 of them in such a short time. They have been a saving grace. For many people, empathy and sympathy are very hard to express. People have become so self-absorbed that to show compassion or empathy is something they can't understand.

😊 you really knew me so well @tryskele 😉 yes, in my country different things happened, someone was growing cannabis in his home to cure her wife, but then police arrested him and while he spent his time in jail for investigation, his wife was dead, but people reaction is amazing, nation wide coverage... they support him and finally even he's fired from his work as civil servant, lost his beloved wife but at least he's released and got some paid off, from government and community to start a new life.

Sometimes, people take an extreme action to avoid other's judgement by commiting suicide and still.. even if we read and watch many news about it, none take action in community about it, that's not the right way to do for a muslim community.

I think nobody in certain circumstances asked for a sympathy and empathy for their own sake's and pride, but still.. people can be so harsh because they're not the victims.

Personally, I am always Pro-Choice.

Some may choose to succumb to "guilt induction" and some may choose otherwise. I choose otherwise - whether relatives or friends may (ironically) label me as a "selfish individual".

Seriously? When someone tries to influence a decision that affects somebody else's body, who is the selfish one?

"Nuff rambling...

Namaste, JaiChai

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04