The Prophetic Speech of George H.W. Bush on Political Correctness

in #freespeech5 years ago (edited)
Sort:  

It all got out of hand with hate speech laws.

I understand laws like libel, fraud, and slander because trying to cause chaos or deception can have serious consequences. Someone isn't expressing their opinion if they are lying and they should be responsible.

Anti-hate speech, or worse political corectness, is protecting people's feelings and opions. Terrible and hurtful opinions may be ignorant, but we should teach people how to think better though education and debate or just ignore their stupidity and move on.

If you aren't on my witness list already, you are next time I adjust. I only want to support witnesses who are up for open discussions.

Posted using Partiko Android

It's beyond ridiculous and it is only creating mental and emotional weakness.

I've happily taken on a fair bit of social sanctions myself for choosing to speak against PC, pro-social justice, identity-politics-driven jargon in my past workplaces. Because even though it would sometimes be costly to express my disputes (and yes, it would be nothing more than that, letting others know that I do not think silencing speech in order to protect feelings is a good idea) I always came away feeling it was better to let those who seem to believe that it is worth sacrificing anything at the altar of social justice (in their eyes) know that there were people in their workplace who they respected that disagreed.

Not to mention that the time one stops engaging in conversations, merely because it triggers emotions and discomfort, is the very moment personal development ends.

Hitchens quote_silence in the grave.jpg

This is why I spend as little time as possible on Twitter and Reddit. On Twitter they're obviously extremely biased against anything that goes against their way of thinking. On Reddit, you've got some easily offended mods in popular subreddits who just love to shut down any sort of discussion that doesn't align with their views.

If you've seen the Joe Rogan podcast with Jack Dorsey, Vijaya Gadde & Tim Pool, you've noticed that some people get a pass, purely because their beliefs are in line with what Twitter deems 'acceptable'. While conservative voices are silenced.

I'm not conservative in any way, but I don't throw a temper tantrum when someone with opposing views wants to speak. Just bring better arguments to the table instead of trying to silence people for sharing their opinion.

Indeed, I'm aware of the Rogan/Dorsey/Jones saga. I stay away from all social media, with the exception of Steemit of course.

I stay away from all social media, with the exception of Steemit of course.

Probably a wise decision. You're not missing out on anything. I just use Twitter for sharing my own Steemit posts here and there, I tend to stay away from the drama.

Anyway, it's nice to see some interesting opinions here on Steemit.

I’m late to the party on this one, but your first photo drew me in. I couldn’t agree more, the push for tolerance has become a sick display of hypocrisy at its finest.. I guess we should work on trying to offend people more.

Great and thought provoking post, thanks. I’ll be following so I don’t miss the next one.

That is a great reminder, I have not heard about the G.H.B. Bushes in 90's because may be I was just 19 y.o. and actually it was the time for preparation to my entry exams, my "bibles" were my study books. That time we never thought about freedom of speech as we accepted it as something that automatically there. It is a truth nowadays that is slowly becoming an issue, luckily we do not see it so much in Scotland or Germany where I live and where I am from. But I can imagine and fully agree with you. Thank you for that information source and for drawing our attention to that topic, Cheers...

I am surprised I haven't read some of your stuff before, love it! @truthforce writing

Curated for #informationwar (by @truthforce)

Latest Drive For Delegation/Fundraising Click Here!!!

Ways you can help the @informationwar!

  • Upvote this comment or Delegate Steem Power. 25 SP 50 SP 100 SP or Join the curation trail here.
  • Tutorials on all ways to support us and useful resources here

It is my opinion that this kind of negativity has no place on Steem and I can not support a witness who promotes it. You may express yourself as you see fit, but I choose not to associate myself with it. I will not flag this, as it is your right to say it, but I choose to remove my witness vote and unfollow you. Everyone here seems to support free speech; I wondering if I will get downvoted for exercising mine. Good luck moving forward.

And where is that negativity you speak of? Why would you even consider flagging a post about free speech? Nobody will downvote you for expressing your thoughts, but some justification would have been nice. That's the problem these days, people react without arguing why they reacted in a certain way.

"And where is that negativity you speak of?"
Does this sound negative and insulting: "an army of brainless zombies thriving on ignorance and hate"?

"Why would you even consider flagging a post about free speech"
I never considered flagging. I even explained why flagging wouldn't be appropriate here. I don't know how you got that idea.

"Nobody will downvote you for expressing your thoughts"
I had been targeted by mass flags before when defending people on this platform from attacks, so it isn't uncommon. I was expressing honest interest to see if people who support free speech would do the same. As you say, people these days react emotionally sometimes.

an army of brainless zombies thriving on ignorance and hate

It may sound negative indeed, but not insulting, because the world is getting filled with people like that. I specifically crafted that sentence because a great portion of people (millennials in particular) is addicted to smartphones and social media; numerous studies have shown this is bad for mental and cognitive development, especially in children. So yes, a future generation brainless zombies is where the world is heading. Also, ignorance and hate result from the lack of judgment and education, linked to the latter argument I gave you.

If you didn't like my sentence, that's OK, but for me, I think I have reached my point with this post which may not be politically correct to some.

imma just leave this right here..... ;)

Congratulations @drakos! You received a personal award!

DrugWars Early Access
Thank you for taking part in the early access of Drugwars.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64507.66
ETH 3080.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85