WHY WRITING IS IMPORTANT TO ME - Day 201: 5 Minute Freewrite

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

typewriter-801921_1920.jpg

My journey with writing goes a long way back, from my essay classes in high school till now and so far, it has been a pretty amazing journey. I'd never have guessed 2 years ago that I would be able to reach a number of readers on the internet today, steemit has been a catalyst that helped launch my creativity to another level. most especially when I came across the freewriting challenges by @marianwest. It helped me to think outside my box and to escape my traditional way of writing.

WRITING HELPS MY THINKING


Writing finds a way to ground me in my thought process. There are so many thoughts that fill my head throughout the day but when I sit down to write, I only think about what I'm writing about, my mind becomes dissolved into what I'm doing and freewriting helps to break the barriers of overthinking and enables me to write freely without hinderances.

WRITING HELPS ME TO VENT IN A BEAUTIFUL WAY


It is often said that nothing bad ever happens to a writer, everything is material but it goes beyond just writing about a bad or good day. I see writing as an art form of converting an experience either bad or good into an enjoyable format. For instance, if I'm going through a tough day, I could write a poem about conflicts, heaviness, etc, or If I feel good I could write about Nature's love, the love of a mother, etc.
Creating art from real life experiences is a beautiful way of venting either a positive or negative experience.

WRITING HELPS ME TO DREAM


There is a great amount of Imagination that comes with writing. the ability to use words to paint a perfect picture exposes the mind to a great deal of creativity and visualizations. There is something about creating mental imageries and breaking them down into words that help me to develop more vivid imaginations.

WRITING HELPS ME TO BE MORE EMPATHIC


There are different forms of writing but in each form, you are basically telling a story surrounding a character or different issues, either in a fiction or non-fiction format.
Personally, before I can write about something I have to be able to put myself into the shoes of the character or imagine myself in the situation, writing from an empathic point of view is one of the keys to engaging potential readers. writing helps me to be more empathic in that sense.
banner.png
imgsource
The Freewrite prompts is organized by @mariannewest, The prompt for day 201 is "IMPORTANT". If you are interested in freewriting you can check out her blog for the daily prompts. thanks for reading :-)

gif.gif
alianc.png

Sort:  

Very true about the venting part. I am a talker by nature who has trained myself to be very quiet. Which means my mind is always speaking but my mouth isn't. Writing helps me release all those pent up words.

Writing indeed helps like a therapy, but if you are a true talker then talk on, maybe you could start a vlog or podcast, I do envy people who can talk effortlessly unlike me :-)

I am not a good writer. But your post makes me feel that I may write. Thanks for sharing your thinking.
I hope I will get some tips on how to start writing with 0 skill.

You can start by freewriting. visit @mariannewest for the daily word prompts and you can just improvise your writing around it. thanks for passing by @tuly :-)

you're most welcome.
Thanks for the suggestion.

Freewriting is a great way to start writing!

Very good freewrite!!! Freewriting helps me think up new stories I would have never written. Some of my best writing has come from the freewrite prompts. :D

Exactly @simgirl those prompts are a blessing. it's like waiting for random gems each day and using what you get to create something unique in your own way. thanks for dropping a comment :-)

writing definitely helps me get my thoughts down, which is usually why I journal when I'm upset hahaha. Thanks for sharing! Keep writing!

Thanks for reading and dropping a comment @corinneiskorean :-)

Excellent points. Freewriting has certainly helped me to think out of my box. : )

Resident cat here, wondering why anyone would need a parasol today: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-202-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-parasol

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!
Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Thanks for passing by @whatisnew. :-)

My pleasure @abmakko! : )

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by abmakko from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I assume myself to be a great writer but the reality is I always get stuck with long and passive sentences. Any ideas how to turn them into short and active?

From my point of view, I think that most active sentences always begin with the subject and usually end with the object. e.g: mary kicked the ball. A passive sentence would be: the ball is being kicked by mary. to shorten a long sentence, one should be able to keep a brief relationship between the subject and the object. thanks for reading @amarbir.

I will keep this in mind.

Thanks bro.

you are welcome bro :-)

My pleasure.

Yeah writing has many benefits. A lot of people are simply scared of writing anything, but it's actually not too hard once you start doing it.

You are correct. @trendo it's all about breaking that first wall. even I have a lot to write about. my layers are slowly peeling the more I keep writing.thanks for passing by :-)

One of my struggles is writing. I am not very good but something that I would want to excel in. Lot of great writers here and I always say, "How did they come up with that?" I feel so much fire but often I run out of words to say. Takes me a lot of time just to finish my stories. Well for now I try to write with my photos and I hope to get better each day. Thanks for the tips.

I think your mind is getting overstimulated, It happens to me also. fortunately, writing also helps with that, whenever you fill overwhelmed with ideas just write whatever comes to your mind, keep writing until you feel empty, then you can start going over your written words and build up on that. thanks for reading :-)

Thanks for the tip. The free writing is a good exercise too. Will soon give it a shot.

I can say these are the reasons why you have been an exceptional writer.
Keep writing!
Well done!

Thanks for passing by and dropping a comment dear :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17