5-minute Freewrite: Prompt- Back Pain

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

flower-1364746_1280.jpg
Image

"Let's go to the playground!" said Mama. Tho' I was little, I could see it in her eyes, that I-am-exhausted-but-it's-okay look I have come to appreciate, it was the look that I would search for whenever came playtime. I had a happy childhood. We weren't well to do but we had enough. Mama made sure of that. Some days she'd save up all she could just to get us our favorite food, or rent a video tape of the recent cartoon that was already taken down from the cinema. To us, that was luxury.

When Mama got married to Papa, she got promoted to be the Home Affairs Minister. Since then, she devoted her heart and soul to grow our little family.

Mama married young, yet she did not regret her decision. We would hear stories of her being the top student in her course during her college years, she even received a job offer from the college Dean to teach upon graduation. A teaching position, no interview required. She was that good. Alas, war and chaos at her hometown made it next to impossible. Grandpa said they had to flee.

Mama loved our back rubs. She still does. I remember climbing up the sofa and hugging her neck from behind while she folded piles upon piles of laundry and she'd try to shoo me away because it'd trigger her back pain.

"Mama, does your back hurt?"

"Mm-hmm."

And I'd know what to do.

"Which part, Mama? Is it here?" while randomly pressing her back.

"... Yes. Right there."

And she'd close her eyes and let out a faint smile. All while I rub her back with my little hands.

Some days, if I'm lucky I'd sit quietly at the edge of the sofa folding our pile of laundry and I'd get to enjoy that same treatment, too.

"Mama, what (are) you doing?"

"Folding the clothes, baby..."

"Oh, okay!" her little arms wrapped around my neck.

"Baby, Mama's back hurts... Would you please get off the sofa?"

"Oh, sorry Mama, is it here?" touching my back with her little hands, and her face full of sympathy.

Those words. They sound like home.

I'm glad I could still pick up the phone.

"Hello, Ma?"

"Hi, baby..."


20180212_193505.png

SMbannersmall.png

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

banner_steemsugars.jpg

Asapers.gif

Sort:  

This makes me think of the love and sacrifice of my mum too. Tomorrow is Mother's Day. Happy Mother's Day to you.

Thanks, @iamjadeline. Happy Mother's Day to you too :) sending you and the boys lots of love love love! 💓💓💓💓💓💓

That made me a little teary! Thank you for that wonderful memory.


📬I've come not only as a friend, but as a deliverer and party inviter too! Here is today's prompt!

Imgur

Thanks for delivering the prompt, @freedomtowrite. Glad the story touched your heart. :)

We need your entry. You have one hour!!!!

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

My day would never be complete without my mom. :) She is the one I always look out for, every time I arrive home. :) I would gladly hear her voice waking me up every morning asking me what I like for breakfast. :) Thank you for loving your mom. :) All mothers deserve the best. :)

Thanks @annefernandez. Yes, I agree that it's a privilege to be able to enjoy such luxury of having our mothers around. I've gotten married and now have my little family in another state that requires me to fly if I wanna go home. So to be able to spend time with my MA whenever we got the chance to meet us priceless. Thanks for loving your ma, too :)

It is a cute story. A simple story with lots of little little things for thought.

Thanks, glad you enjoyed the story :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Alimamasstory from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This post has been curated by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Oh, that's sweet.

Thanks, glad you enjoyed it @philippekiene :)

Your post has been featured in TeamMalaysia TehTarik Sundays . Keep on steeming and here is a little tip!

Hi @alimamasstory! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @myach!

Chck out this new post from @myach: Click. Feel free to follow @myach if you like it :)

@tipU is looking for SP delegators - pays out 100% of profit + 50% curation rewards to all investors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66438.74
ETH 3268.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.39