Thoughts from a Cenote

in #freewrite5 years ago (edited)

WhatsApp Image 2018-12-04 at 16.50.12.jpeg

You see the fat guy in the middle? That´s supposed to be me.

You know how we can spend hours, days, months or even years believing in our own reality until somehow out of the blue the "real reality" strikes us? For example, we listen to an old song and we say "Oh I used to love this song" but only until someone tells us that song is from 2001 we actually realize that son is 17 years old and we are not a teenager anymore.

Well, a few days ago it struck me hard that I´m not a teenager anymore, in the full sense of the word. For the first time I realized I need to do a proper diet and a shiton of excercise to actually be fit, whereas just a few years ago I could eat whatever I wanted and just play ball whenever I felt like and I would have a fit and healthy appearance. I was also impressed of how different I look in pictures that are just a couple of years old and how my lack of sleep and bad habits have taken a toll on me.

I still like how I look, but I´m not nearly as presentable as I would like to be, especially if I want to land a Russian hottie at some point; you know what they say, "Love comes through the eyes".

WhatsApp Image 2018-12-04 at 16.50.11.jpeg

So, since I am a Mexican and I love leaving things to the last minute - procrastination should be my middle name - I think I want to take care of myself in this part of my life, but not until the next year begins. Of course I´m not starting a diet before that! Do you really think I´m going to say No to all the treats and yummy food that it´s usually served during Christmas season? No, no, I´m not a maniac.

In the past I´ve been able to stop drinking, smoking and eating junk food for short periods of time whenever I put myself to the task, just to play and to give myself a reminder that I´m still in control of my habits, vices and negative routines and I´ve always been able to go through this reality checks I put myself into. Up until a couple of months ago when I tried eating vegetarian for three weeks and broke the diet 3 days into it; or a few weeks ago when I put myself the task of not smoking for a few weeks and I broke my word one week into it.

You see, it looks like I´m no longer in control of my bad habits and that´s something to worry about, especially since I deem myself master of my fate and captain of my soul. For the first time in a long time I think about being fit and excerising, not smoking and control my bad habits and I think it will be hard if not impossible, whereas a couple of years ago I could lose weight or stop smoking in a matter of days.

WhatsApp Image 2018-12-04 at 16.50.12 (1).jpeg

Being in a Cenote, so close to nature and with time for myself and for my own thinking, made me realize that for the past months I´ve been drifting off this version of myself I thought I was, but just as realizing that a song is 17 years old, It hit me hard that I´m almost 30 years old and I´m not nearly the person I pictured myself I would be when I was 23.

And its something I can control, but I didn´t realize it needed to be controlled until it hit me, and boy, it definitely hits hard when you weren´t expecting it.

Sort:  

I should really fix my sleep schedule. But regarding weight I think that something that @celestal mentioned in his steemit year anniversary post is helping me greatly. Intermittent fasting. I eat breakfast at 12.00. at 13.00 I eat a few fruits and few a teaspoons of honey. lunch at 15.00. Dinner at 17.00 . If remember correctly previous time I checked my weight it was 82kg(this was some months ago). Few days ago I checked my weight again and it was 76kg.
Edit: best of luck with your goals.

Fair play. It does take more effort as the years go by to stay in decent shape, I do nowhere near as much exercise and so have steadily cut down the amount of food. Beer is a fker though, but since SteemFest just one for me.

Good luck in your quest!

p.s. Are you sure she didn't say 'love comes through the wallet'? :D

Ahahaha if it’s a Russian, she probably asked about his drinking habits and didn’t say anything else xD

I have fairly good drinking habits in a normal environment and day by day life!

Oh, if only we were crypto rich :(

I know, I wish I could stay away from beer and only drink some tequila shots once in a while, but then my liver would go on strike on me hahaha.

First and foremost. More topless nomad pictures have been way overdue.

Second, it's great to realize this when you're still young. Even with a wife and two kids I'm still pushing myself to take risks. I'd rather be a broke grandpa then one that never took risk and lived a life full of regrets.

Put together a plan and post it on Steemit so that we can help keep you accountable. Be honest with your shortcomings and have small celebrations for reaching each intermediate milestone.

It hit me a few years ago when I started my new job. Talking to some recent college grads I felt "out of touch" because I realized I have been out of college for longer than I was in college. I was no longer a college grad, but a young professional.

That hit me hard, especially now I'm the old fart with two kids.

Oh they´ll come, I promise :P

Oh yeah, feeling like you missed on things and regretting not doing everything you wanted is one of the things I fear the most in life, I´m glad you are also down that mindset man.

Oh I tried doing that with the vegetarian diet and I couldn´t even post one single update because I broke the dietvery fast, so i rather not making my diet or regime public until I´ve actually made some progress hahaha.

Hey, we can always feel like young farts, it´s all in the attitude right?

Wait into you hit 50... telling yourself you are now old is a massive shock to your system
I've started a diet, lost 46lbs and feeling better about myself, got more to loose, I'll carry on with the diet up to Christmas and New year then restart in the New year. Good luck :)

Ahaha exactly what I want to avoid! Reaching 50 and feeling 70, so that´s why I´m taking hands into the matter now haha :D
Oh wow, 46 lbs is a lot, I´m so happy for you! YEs yes, having a break through the New year´s celebrations is smart, otherwise youpll break the diet and feel guilty about it.

It gets harder to loose weight the older you get, do it now but have fun doing it whilst your still young and fit enough 😀

Definitely more challenging to handle as we age. The good news is you recognize this and aren't ignoring it. Even if it is a difficult realization and problem to confront. You are a smart and passionate dude though...you'll right the ship. Just takes a bit of effort and commitment. After the holidays I am doing the same regarding my diet. Going to start yoga as well for my back and really give a tremendous go at taking a bit better care of myself. No more of this...

Logo-Mañana-Mañana-zwart2.png

Only almost 30? Young'un ;D

I know that feeling though, this year my partner and I realised OMG WE HAVE A TEENAGER. And next year we won't have any more single digit kids.

Think it's hitting our parents harder though lol XD

That's a really nice looking spot you're in :) Hope you're able to get back on top of things.

Ahaha you have no idea how cool it is to see the little goat below your comments, I automatically know who left the comment without reading the username :)

Oh wow, that sounds like a milestone, "no single digit kids" :O

I love this kind of places, I could spend hours here and not get tired ot bored, sadly I´ll e leaving in a few days :(

Acknowledging that you need to change is the first step, so you are well on your way! Good for you that you are planning to start down a healthier road. I need to take that step myself, but at over 40 I am more entrenched in my ways that I would have thought. I did have a health scare last year that gave me some motivation though. Better you are making the changes before you need a health scare to prod you!

It´s funny how most of the times we need a wake up call to actually take the bull by the horns and start changing our behaviour. I´m glad it took me a few pictures and insight instead of a health scare though, I reckon it must have been somewhat eye opening foor you mate, I hope you keep trotting the healthy path :D

Thanks! I think I am good to go for a while now. That is what the doc says anyway!

We're same age, and now I'm in Mexico! Cenotes are awesome places to rest, which one is that? And about your age and thoughts, remember you have as many years as you fell :) I will always fell 20 having 30 next year :)

Oh really? Where are you at right now?

We've been to Cancun last few days and now we're flying to Rome :)

If you ever want to kidnap me to this place you know where I am lol.

Ohhh, you´d need to DM me your location for that to happen lol :P

HAHA! "Russian hotties" works it's way in to 2/3's of your posts, lol. You really need to claim the #russianhotties hashtag. The older you get, the harder it is maintain that look. I think at some point in your 30's, it becomes less important to you. You can land dates with girls WAY out of your league as long as your either smart, funny or passionate. You've got those going for you, so skip the vegetarian diet and enjoy the holiday cookies.

I can´t help it man, they are hardwired on my brain now :P I agree, when I was younger it took me a few days to loose a couple of Kg and be ready for the beach haha. It´s not that important to me but still, I want to reach 50 being healthy and somewhat fit haha, oh no, no vegetarian diet for me anymore, just laying off the junk food and the beers haha. Thanks for dropping by man!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 65012.58
ETH 3101.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86