Liberty | Libertad (prompt: Freedom)

in #freewrite5 years ago (edited)

This is my entry for Weekend Freewrite -12/1/2018 - Single Prompt Option
Thanks a lot, @mariannewest!


Who would have thought: that was the last time I saw her. Exactly 20 years ago. She, so beautiful and necessary as vilified, for sure felt not only completely misunderstood, but savagely mistreated.

I have the audacity to approach her in dreams, trembling, not knowing what to do first, if I ask her for forgiveness in the name of the crazy crowd; if I burst into tears, hoping that she will comfort me, like a little girl; if I try she agrees to listen to my explanations. Knowing, as I know, that nothing justifies what we did, I just managed to stay there, standing but stooped (I can't avoid it), looking at her with deep sadness. Meanwhile, I see that peace abounds in her face, but I find no mercy.

When I've been alone, I scream until I hurt my vocal cords, I clench my fists and release furious blows on these walls, crunching my fingers.

That doesn't help nor won't make her come back. I still look around me at so many executioners who, although they are at the edge of the grave, insist, blindly, to indulge in the atrocities, one after the other.

Our deads will not return from their irremediable border, but, you, Liberty, will you come back?


3 tres J2.jpg


Libertad
Liberty (SP version)

Quién lo hubiera pensado: esa fue la última vez que la vi. Hace exactamente 20 años. Ella, tan hermosa y necesaria como vilipendiada, seguramente se sintió no solo completamente incomprendida, sino salvajemente vapuleada.

Tengo la osadía de acercarme a ella en sueños, temblando, sin saber qué hacer primero, si pedirle perdón en nombre de la loca multitud; si echarme a llorar, esperando que ella me consuele, como a una pequeña niña; si tratar de que acceda a escuchar mis explicaciones. Sabiendo, como lo sé, que nada justifica lo que le hicimos, solo atino a quedarme allí, de pie pero encorvada (no puedo evitarlo), mirándola con profunda tristeza. Mientras, veo que en su rostro abunda la paz, pero ni por asomo encuentro piedad.

He gritado a solas hasta hacerme daño en las cuerdas vocales, he apretado los puños y descargado furiosos golpes en estos muros, haciendo crujir mis dedos. No sirve de nada, eso no la hará volver. Aún miro a mi alrededor tantos y tantos verdugos que, aunque se encuentran al borde de la tumba, insisten, ciegamente, en complacerse en las atrocidades, sobrevenidas una tras otra.

Nuestros muertos no volverán de su irremediable confín, pero, tú, Libertad… ¿Volverás?


¡Bienvenido todo apoyo!
Welcome all your support!

Publicaciones recientes por las cuales pueden votar
Recent posts that you can upvote

222

One and only (prompt: Muscle)

223

One and only (prompt: Muscle) SP version

224

Hotel

225

Hotel (SP version)

226

The cat

227

The cat (SP version)

228

Faster

229

Faster (SP version)

230

Therapy | Terapia

231

The heart in the hands | El corazón en las manos

232

Entry for Artstorm Contest #52 - 'Polar Bears' (Category: Digital Art)

233

Eight-names | "Ocho nombres"

234

Paisaje que no existe

1 uno J2.jpg

Y ésta
And this

235

Liberty | Libertad (prompt: Freedom)

Y ésta
And this

236

Indeed | De hecho


Contenido de mi autoría y propiedad, original y exclusivo (excepciones indicadas)
Content of my own, original and exclusive (indicated exceptions)

©aumonde


[email protected]

Sort:  

Thank you for freewriting with us! Here's the prompt:- Day 408: 5 Minute Freewrite: Sunday - Prompt: carnival.

Thanks again! With love and hugs.

MomentCam_20181119125715.gif

Posted using Partiko Android

So far this is my favorite of today’s linked to Marianne’s post :) well wrote!

Thank you very much, I'm pleased you like it.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by aumonde from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66269.58
ETH 3204.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.24