Day 404: 5 Minute Freewrite: Wednesday - Prompt: medicine - entry by @blueeyes8960steemCreated with Sketch.

in #freewrite5 years ago

reader's digest.JPG
(photo of magazine cover taken by me)

This is a Freewrite story - check out the original post here and come join us!
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-404-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-medicine

I went back and read the original post about what the 5 minute freewrite was all about. So this time I'm going to do it a little differently. Instead of trying to come up a totally cohesive story in 5 minutes, I'm going to "freewrite" whatever comes to my mind until the timer goes off. Which is maybe what it was supposed to be all along, but I was focusing more on a story and not just letting my thoughts flow. Not to say that was wrong, because I have liked the stories I came up with, but I wanted to try this. I'm not very fast at this and don't seem to get as many words in as a lot of the other fantastic writers who participate in these contests. So that is the point right? To try and improve. :)

LAUGHTER IS THE BEST MEDICINE

I love reading and have ever since I was child. It was my go-to-escape place. Unfortunately, my childhood had way too many moments that I needed to escape from. My family didn't have much money when I was growing up and buying books was definitely NOT on the priority list. I wish I could say food and shelter where the top priorities rather than booze, but that's another story. When I was older and we lived close enough to a library that I could walk there it was a true saving grace for me. But still I ended up reading more than a few hand me down magazines. Reader's Digest was very popular back then, and my first choice was to go the index and find "Laughter is the Best Medicine". That particular feature was just a collection of short anecdotes submitted by real readers that occurred in real life about things that they thought were funny. I always enjoyed a laugh or two or three, usually reading the page a couple of times. I'm a firm believer that laughter does provide a much needed component in our lives. How many times have you been in a situation that seemed dire, even catastrophic, and with a step back you were able to see the humor and actually laugh about it?

signature_1.gif

Sort:  

Yes and yes and yes!!!

The idea of the freewrite is to not think and just write. That said, many of the freewriters a) do not stop after 5 minutes and b) craft a story - maybe inspired by their original 5-min Freewrite. But many write, post, maybe find a picture, and be done.

I am a Laughter Yoga Teacher - YES to the power of laughter!! 😂

What is Laughter yoga? That sounds like my kind of yoga!

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh my gosh that is fantastic. I've never heard of that but I can certainly see the benefits!

Posted using Partiko Android

I thought about trying to do this free write, but I could not think of anything to write for medicine, I don't know how you do it, great blueeyes8960!!

Posted using Partiko Android

the trick is that you just start writing. for example, you could write something like this -

I thought about trying to do this free write, but I could not think of anything to write for medicine, I don't know how you do it but then, like with so many things in life, I am just going to write something. So, medicine. You can buy it in the store or you get it from a doctor. And then, there is alternative medicine and I don't know anything about that either. I have heard that laughter is the best medicine and now, I am going to laugh because I don't know what to write. hahahahaha. Laughing some more. The other day, I heard this really funny joke. Let me tell it to you....

And before you know it, 5 minutes are up. The beauty is that you write whatever pops into your mind and you give yourself permission to write nonsense .

Hope that you will give it a try.

Still a few days left to participate in the next WE-Write. For this version, you find a partner to write with
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@freewritehouse/etvgc-we-write-partner-up

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87