Accidentally Making a Friend

in #freewrite6 years ago

20180611_063908.jpg

      I was digging through the dirt at the base of my tree when I heard the faint yells. At first, I ignored them.

      It’s not like I didn’t care. I did. But you have to understand, there are often animals screaming their heads off at each other in the city. If I ran off to investigate each one, I’d never have any rest! Besides, they sounded really far away and I figured that I wouldn’t be able to do any good anyway. Returning to my digging, I happily pulled a hickory nut from my stash. Hickory nuts taste great when paired with birch leaves, which I just so happened to have for my lunch.

      Again I heard yells, closer and much angrier.

       “I take it back! I don’t like you! Put me down you mangy sky-scum!”

      Looking up, I figured the caterwauling was coming from the long green rope that was dangling from the beak of a wren. The last time I saw a worm that shade of green was in a bowl of my aunt’s ‘special holiday parfait’. (‘Special’ meant: do not consume if you value your life.) I considered staying out of it. Birds ate worms all the time. If I interfered, then I’d be forcing it to go hungry.

      Mind made up, I stuck by my decision. Honestly I did.

      For about twenty seconds.

      Then I launched my hickory nut straight at the bird’s head. (It’s at this point that I’d like to point out that I’m aware of my lack of skill with aiming and anticipated that the motion would startle the bird into dropping the giant worm.)

      The massive thing hit the ground and I rushed over to see if it could still squirm. Imagine my surprise when I met the blinking eyes of a caterpillar! When did they start getting THAT big!

      I asked if the think was okay and it stared at me for a moment, looking confused. Then it twitched it’s antennae, scrunched up and gave me a bow.

      ”Thank you! I’m Baron Fraxinus Excelsior the Eighteenth! I’m so grateful that you saved me! I promise to follow you forever until my debt is paid.”

      Quickly, I held up my paws. “That’s okay. No need.” I emphasized the next line. “Please, don’t.”

      ”Oh no!” He demanded. “I insist!”

      Great, I thought. Just…great.


Thank you @Omra-sky for my sweet Squirrple Necklace separator!
Main image by @brisby
For the 5 Minute Freewrite Prompt - caterpillar by @mariannewest.
Thanks Marianne!


IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

Squirrel World GIF by @Omra-sky. Thank you! 😻

GIF by @Omra-sky.

Carl GIF by @Snook! 💖 - Personalized by @Omra-sky

Keep up to date with everything #freewrite related!
Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Badge made by @Fireawaymarmot & personalized by @Omra-sky!


Thank YOU for reading!

Sort:  

That was a fun read! I wouldn't have thought to view a caterpillar from the perspective of another animal.

I'm so happy that you liked it! How's the deck coming along?

Thanks for the inquiry! Round one of painting is done, and the front deck is complete except for the railing on the stairs. Now I need to tackle the second heap of wood for the back deck railing and stairs. I got a much-needed massage on Tuesday; the massage therapist said my back and shoulders had never been so tight before! ha ha! I'm not surprised! I'll go back to see her again when I'm all done!

Wow, you've already accomplished so much! Good thing your therapist was able to relieve some of your tenseness. I hope you have a terrific weekend ( try not to work too hard)! ;)

Lol this was wonderful and now what will he do??

Thanks Janelle! I suppose now I'll have to introduce "The Baron" to my fish. (And explain that sometimes, squirrels eat caterpillars.) :)

I think you should :)

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord
If you would like to opt out of receiving comments reply with STOP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13