How High?

in #freewrite6 years ago

20180605_052754.jpg

      How high would I have to go to escape the omnipresent noise of the city?

      It's still there atop the spire of the churches. The echoing can still be heard through the highest branches of the pines in the park. Ascending the towering skyscrapers, sources of din themselves, yielded no respite.

      Even in the dark, when the city should be sleeping, it's there. Banging, booming and buzzing, it continues. The clashing clamor of commotion, the calm shattering shrieks of sirens and more rumble and tumble through the air. Oh for a night of peace!

      I could escape to the woods. Deep into a sheltered forest with hundreds of trees to block the drifting noise of a busy society. Then there'd be the burping and chirping of the crickets. The warbly whooshing of water in a stream and the peal of pretty birds singing sonnets, though beloved sounds, would still be noise. Where could a squirrel go to find some quiet?

      I see the clouds. Drifting high above it all. Those white wisps drift along silently, well, aside from the dark and angry ones but, who can keep from shouting when they're full of lightning and fury? I can't so I won't hold that against them.

      I want one night in the above. To lie upon a pale mound of fluff and drift along through the sky and listen to nothing but the wind. Maybe I could relax while floating at twilight, noctilucent clouds holding me fifty miles above the Earth. I wonder if my fur would keep those icy tendrils from creeping into my bones? Even then, I suppose I'd hear the crackling of crystals creeping in the wind.

      I would take it, in a heartbeat. For just one night away from this damned din.


Thank you @Omra-sky for my sweet Squirrple Necklace separator!
Main image by @brisby
For the 5 Minute Freewrite Prompt - clouds by @mariannewest.
Thanks Marianne!


IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

Squirrel World GIF by @Omra-sky. Thank you! 😻

GIF by @Omra-sky.

Carl GIF by @Snook! 💖 - Personalized by @Omra-sky

Keep up to date with everything #freewrite related!
Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Badge made by @Fireawaymarmot & personalized by @Omra-sky!


Thank YOU for reading!

Sort:  

It gets lonely up here. I could use the company. 🌛

My favorite celestial rock with a quiet view of the Earth and stars? How could any squirrel resist? These clouds I dream of won't make their way to you so, it looks like l'll be helping myself to a rocket ship (or a REALLY tall ladder)! 🤗

Of course I'm your favorite. I turn people into Werewolves.

Sounds like heaven. I can identify with your plight. I've had three jackhammers outside my window for four weeks now. Even when they're not there I can hear them in my head. I'm close to lunacy I think, if I'm not there already.

Hmm..the fact that you're hearing them when they're not there sounds sane in my book. ;)

Honestly, my hat is off to you. I think I'd be a raving looner by now. How have you not committed murder yet? Or have you just not been caught? ;) I think that, by this point, you'd be forgiven for running over those jackhammers with a stolen steamroller.

Peace and quiet. I've decided that it's a nearly perfect gift to give to anyone.

Why brisby, you have a murderous turn of mind I would not have suspected from your sweet, calm demeanour!

Read my profile if want me to resteem your post to over 72,500 followers. @a-a-a

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord
If you would like to opt out of receiving comments reply with STOP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66438.74
ETH 3268.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.39