The Busiest Room In The House

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

squirrel on faucet.jpg

      How would you describe the room you are in?

      You could go with something simple, "I'm in a kitchen," or "It has four boring white walls and some cabinets." My personal favorite way to give a description of somewhere to someone is often, "It's a place with some stuff to do the things." (The exasperated looks I get are hilarious!)

      My kitchen is the busiest room in my house. Cooking, cleaning, crafting, sewing, pacing through when stuck on a phone call with someone who won't take a breath so that you can tell them that you really need to go, you get the idea.

      There's a shelf above the sink that I screwed into the windowsill (my partner wasn't thrilled when he saw this) so that I could have room for plants and my dragon incense burner, Leviticus. I like to put my phone in between his wings when I do dishes so that I can listen to music or podcasts. My youngest daughter's mint plant, on the right, is thriving there. So was the basil that I brought in from my yard until I knocked over the teapot I when trying to put the window back on the track.

      As you can see through the window, I have a lovely view of my neighbor's roof and a few trees. As nice as their roof is, the beauty of the shelf is that it gives me something more interesting to look at. Like the tasty plants, a pipe fox that my eldest daughter made from clay, a rubber red lizard, and a weird orange dude with googly eyes (none of us know where he came from).

      I live in a fairly quiet section of a city. Unfortunately though, there have been break-ins and vandalism in the surrounding blocks. While I don't want anyone to burst into my home uninvited, I have to admit that if anyone does, I'd almost feel bad for them. Almost. See, I'm usually in the kitchen. A room that has numerous heavy pans, a fire extinguisher, and knives. LOTS of sharp knives. Let's just say that it wouldn't end well for them. (The newspaper headline would probably read: Knife Wielding Squirrel Foils Burglar.)

squirrel with knife.jpg
You picked the WRONG house to break into buddy!


      Speaking of my tiny paws, there's also a toaster oven in the corner. Underneath a painting that I picked up for five bucks at a country store following a camping trip, it's used practically every day. I used it to teach my children how to bake, since it was easier for them to learn with the smaller appliance. It sits atop a utility cart where we have some of our vegetables and fruit.

squirrel with toaster oven.jpg
Way cooler than an Easy Bake Oven!

      Oh, I forgot to mention one other thing. The cupboards in the kitchen are magic! I have three cats, one dog, two human shaped squirrelings, and a half hill giant living in my home. If there is ever a time that I need to summon any of them, all I need do is open a cupboard. No matter what they were doing or how loud the music they're listening to was, they will hear the click of the door opening and instantly run to the kitchen.

      See? Magic.


Thank you @Omra-sky for my sweet Squirrple Necklace separator!
Main image by @brisby
For the 5 Minute Freewrite Prompt - describe the room you are in by @mariannewest.
Thanks Marianne!


IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

Squirrel World GIF by @Omra-sky. Thank you! 😻

GIF by @Omra-sky.

Carl GIF by @Snook! 💖 - Personalized by @Omra-sky

Keep up to date with everything #freewrite related!
Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Badge made by @Fireawaymarmot & personalized by @Omra-sky!


Thank YOU for reading!

Sort:  

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66753.89
ETH 3256.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34