What's for Dessert?

in #freewrite6 years ago

20180515_032036 (2).jpg

      I'd entered Kevin's house, making it to the living room when he met me, frantic and eyes wide with fear. "Quick! Order a pizza! Mom's had something rotting in the crockpot all day!"

      My stomach, which had been grumbling at me for skipping lunch, whimpered at the word 'crockpot' and then fell silent. I couldn't blame it. Mrs. Jay's One Pot Wonders were the stuff of campfire tales. The ones that ended badly for the poor, hungry souls who were stupid enough to eat the food the witch served them.

      I wasn't stupid. I bolted. Tossing a "Sucks to be you!" to my friend, I made it to the edge of the doorway before my face met brown carpet. I rolled, kicking my foot at Kevin's shin and would have gloated over his girly yell but was stopped by the shriek of a harpy.

      "NATHAN THOMAS ANDREWS! KEVIN ANTHONY JAY! What have I told you?!"

      This time, both of our heads hit the floor. Great, now we were both trapped. In unison, we replied, "Not in the house."

      Mrs. Jay's voice lost it's shrill tone but kept the authority. "Good boys. Get washed up for dinner." She stepped over our prone bodies, it was too late to play dead but we tried. "NOW!"

      At the table, I poked at the dull yellow sludge on my plate. Crockpot banana chicken and rice. I could smell the fruit but was pretty sure the chicken ran away. The sticky goo gripped my fork and held tight. Trying to mask my disgust, and free my utensil, I thanked my friend's mother for the meal.

      "Oh, you're welcome!" Mrs. Jay beamed. "Eat up! I hit a major sale on bananas today so there's plenty more where that came from." Her brow furrowed as she added, "Kevin, your father said he'll be working late, again. Make sure to wrap him a plate after dessert."

      I smirked as Kev's eyes met mine. We both knew his dad was busy all right. Busy hitting a drive thru. Still avoiding taking a bite of his gelatinous helping, he asked, "What's for dessert?"

      My fork, bent with a mass of muck stuck to it, hovered as I stared at him. Hard. That was a stupid question.

      Proudly, she chirped, "Banana cream pie."


Thank you @omra-sky for my sweet Squirrple Necklace separator!

Main image by @brisby

For the 5 Minute Freewrite Prompt - bananas by @mariannewest.
Thank you Marianne!


IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

Squirrel World GIF by @Omra-sky. Thank you! 😻

GIF by @Omra-sky.

Carl GIF by @snook! 💖 - Personalized by @Omra-sky

Keep up to date with everything #freewrite related!
Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

This awesome badge was made by @fireawaymarmot & personalized by @omra-sky!


Thank YOU for reading!

Sort:  

HaHa! When I read about the sticky goo that gripped the fork, all I could think of was flicking the fork so the goo would go flying. It would be interesting to see where the goo would land. On the wall or in someone's face. : )

😂 Someone's face! Hilarity demands that it hit someone's face! (I'm picturing a slow motion shot with the goo flying towards Kevin, his eyes widening in fear as he realizes that he can't dodge, then SPLAT, yellow gunk right in the kisser!)
Thank you so much for the laugh Whatisnew!!!

HaHa! That slow motion shot is so funny! Thank you for the laugh!

This sounds like a true house of horrors. I've never been a fan of bananas.

LOL! The Banana House (a tale of terror)... Now I want to read a story where the Steemkeepers are invited to dinner and everything is BANANAS! (Maybe we'd get to see Cinnamon again?) It would be hilarious to see what they'd do to get out! 😂

I prefer them in treats rather than on their own (bananas foster french toast is delicious😋 ). Though, sometimes I go too long without eating and end up with a massive headache. I'll admit that eating a banana works quickly to get rid of it.
Thank you for re-steeming my story Omra!

Makes me think of the song Rapper's Delight by the Sugarhill Gang.
And of course she include their middle names while yelling at them, lol. Well played.

So, of course I had to listen to the song! Thank you Eyedreemit! I hadn't heard this in years (I'd forgotten how LONG it was)!

Yeah, when a mother whips out your full name, it's time to do whatever she says! 😂

Who WOULDN'T want either of these dishes, both with bananas... that yummiest and most versatile of fruits! 🍌

Love your name!! I bow to the fortitude of your stomach! 😉 Would you like the leftovers?

Send 'em our way!

And we're having a contest to win free Steem Basic Income, you can read all about it in our latest blog post. 🍌

I think I will never look at bananas the same way (the Bananafish God is upset).

My apologies to the Bananafish God. 🙏 (May he never be given unidentifiable offerings!)😆

..such as? 🤔😁

Heh! In that house there was every reason to go bananas!

Here’s the most recent freewrite prompt, so you can keep on writing in this amazing community:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-208-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-paper
Enjoy, and have a good day!


Visit this blog for amazing insights, contests, and initiatives about #freewrite community!

Ha! 😁 Thanks to your selfies, I can totally picture your grin when you wrote that!

What a great story!!! The hazards of eating at a friends house!! LOL

Thank you! Visitors beware.....😨

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64852.72
ETH 3178.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.20