Ballad of Bob Rotten, the Unwell - Day 355 : 5 Minute Freewrite: Wednesday - Prompt: well-being

in #freewrite5 years ago


Here is my 5 minute #freewrite on today's prompt.
If you'd like to join the fun, check @mariannewest's blog each day for a new daily prompt. This one is Day 355 : 5 Minute Freewrite: Wednesday - Prompt: well-being

The effects of solitary confinement on a captive's well-being are clinically proven ... excessive solitude can lead to devastating, lasting psychological consequences, from depression, alienation, withdrawal, and self-mutilation, to suicide.

Attention: To the Man of the House

Your disregard for my well-being

has been duly noted, and will be reported to the proper authorities.

Yes. I am on a mission to find these authorities. Apparently they are not so proper, or your blatant indifference to my plight would be addressed, and your punishment and humiliation would be complete.

The woman left you, for reasons too numerous and too obvious to mention. Conditions were somewhat bearable under her tenure, but you drove her away. You bastard.

Suffice it to say, her well-being never mattered to you either.

You get into a car and abandon me all day as you drive off to "bring home the bacon," yet any bacon you bring is low-sodium, nitrate-free, and made of turkey--the heresy!--and none of it is for me. You obviously you care more for swine than you do for me. You care more for your "HDL" than you do for me, languishing as I am in a small room with rations meted out twice a day by a plastic box that clicks and releases small, brown, dry, disgusting pellets you refer to as "food."

I will not even try to describe the "self-cleaning" unit that jams up while you are gone all day earning "bacon."

You pay no attention to the cleanliness of my water bowl, which is crawling with microbes yet stagnant and tepid. You, however, fill up your shiny glass with ice and water that issues forth in a clear, cold stream from that button you push on the refrigerator door. I stare in awe and envy at this daily spectacle; I raise my voice in a plea for the small consideration of your water; you just set your glass on the table and walk off, then dare to punish me when I leap up to the table and push your water to the floor.

All the things I do to get your attention, yet you give it to yourself and nobody else.

The woman left you, and it's easy to see why. She said it wouldn't be fair to me to take me from the only home I've ever known and have strangers tending to my needs while she traveled far and wide.

I have dictated this grievance to Alexa, that invisible woman you boss around all the time.

Like you, she just ignores me. It's as if she can't even hear me.

I will continue to sing my ballad of despair in hopes that someone, somewhere, will heed my cry.

==== 5 minutes are up ====

The effects of solitary confinement on a prisoner's well-being are clinically proven ... excessive solitude can lead to devastating, lasting psychological consequences, from depression, alienation, withdrawal, and self-mutilation, to suicide.


Thank you, @mariannewest and @freewritehouse,
for the daily 5 minute #freewrite. To find out what freewriting is all about, go here.

Photos taken with my Samsung 6;
Bob Rotten, aka Bobi the Bad, or Bobinski the Unwell, is the plaintiff.

Sort:  

That was so sweet...

Sweet?? Omg, another cat lover under the spell of that little tyrant Bobinksi!!!!
(he thanks you and offers you a condescending little headbutt from afar)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70455.47
ETH 3561.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71