Freedom of Personal Power - Day 357 : 5 Minute Freewrite

in #freewrite6 years ago

Here is my 5 minute #freewrite on today's prompt. Yes, I’m a cheat who keeps going long after my 5 minutes are up, and I try to catch all typos before posting. Thank you to all who point out any errors I’ve missed, and thanks again to @misterakpan for catching me at getting my own character’s name wrong in Her Well Being.

If you'd like to join the fun, check @mariannewest's blog each day for a new daily prompt. This one is Day 357 : 5 Minute Freewrite: Friday - Prompt: Freedom of Personal Power
(
source

“You got his work number, right?”

Jessica asked, her hand poised over the old flip phone. The number showed up on her screen and she hit the red phone icon.

“Mr. McBird,” she said in a smooth, adult voice, disguising her usual girlish lilt. “This is Adam’s teacher, Ms. Cooper. Sorry to bother you at the office, but it’s getting close to your usual pickup time, and I’m afraid show choir practice is running late tonight. One of the students will give him a ride home, if that’s all right by you. She’s a good driver.”

Jessica had to repeat herself a few times. Her voice betrayed none of her eye rolling or smirking. “Ok, good. We’ll see that Adam and his trombone are home safe in two hours.”

Laughing hysterically, she ended the call, then high-fived Clancy, Brie, Bex, and me. We were the cool kids, and we had powers that the Anti-Bullying goons would never intercept. Nobody would ever trace the old phone with the bogus user name.

“We ought to set up a surveillance camera,” Clancy said. “We’ll miss Adam Ick-Bird’s crybaby performance when he sits there til the sun goes down and still no ride from Daddy.”

I glanced over at the front door of the school, picturing Adam walk out to the steps and stand there waiting while cars pulled up one by one, kids piling in, until he was the last guy out there.

I didn’t have to picture the face of Natalie Wenisch when we invited her to the mall and didn’t show up. Brie, incognito, had filmed the whole lip-quivering scene from behind a pillar. The video went viral. Everyone guessed it was us but nobody could prove it, and why would they want to? We were the best entertainment since the video arcade went under and another cell phone store took its place at the mall.

“Jules, hey.”

I looked up at the sound of my brother’s voice. He was all button-down neat and clean in a soundless little hybrid electric car, window rolled down. Zach was my usual after-school ride to the car dealership which had been in our family for three generations. Mom would say “Quitting time” and take me home while Zach picked up the Thursday night shift.

Jessica grabbed my arm as I was shouldering my backpack into place. “Hey, see if you can get your dad to let you take out that pink convertible. You owe us.”

“For what?”

“For letting you be part of our awesomeness!” Jessica said.

Zach pressed the pedal to the metal, but there was no roaring engine or squealing tires in these pansy-ass cars that would reduce our carbon footprint by some microscopic amount.

“I hope Dad says no,” he said.

“Huh?” I glanced his way but Zach was gripping the wheel, grimacing at the road. “What are you all uptight about now?”

“You think you and your friends are so hot,” he said. “Well, you’re not.”

“Ok.” I slumped into a more relaxed pose to show how bothered I wasn’t.

“If I ever catch you little snots pulling your shit, I will get all five of you so busted, you…”

I tuned out his lecture until we got to the car lot, only to find he had the doors locked. All these new safety features were almost as annoying as a control-freak older brother.

“Jules. Look at me.” I finally met his fiery gaze. “You used to be the nicest person I ever knew. What happens to girls when they turn into teenagers? It’s like you get possessed by demons.”

“Yep. Better call an exorcist.”

“Not cool, Jules. You think you’re popular now and people look up to you, but you’re not in control at all. Your friends are. Having power means you have choices and the ability to influence others. Not by tearing them down, either.”

I tried the door again. Still locked.

“I don’t know what you little teeny boppers were giggling about when I pulled up, but if I find out you were bullying someone again, don’t be surprised if you get moved to the back row in show choir. Within smelling distance of the band geeks. And I was one of them, you know.”



source


“You still smell like one too.” He didn't, actually, and in fact the only thing the boys at school smelled of was too much cologne. "You don't have power to put me in the back row of anything."

“Annie Cooper and I go way back. She sees and hears more than you think, and she doesn’t think too highly of you all right now.” With a quiet click, he finally unlocked the car door. “Do the right thing, Jules.”

My phone buzzed. Jessica. “Is Daddy letting you take the pink convertible out for a spin? If you’re not here with it in ten, you’ll have to sit with Ick-Bird tomorrow at lunch.”

Zach was reading over my shoulder. “If you were really had the freedom of personal power,” he said, “you’d choose to sit with the band geeks tomorrow, after you drive the pink car up and down First Avenue--without those little snots.”

I read her text again. Bossy little bitch. Why was I taking orders from her?



source

Ten minutes later I was in the convertible,

approaching the school. There was Adam McBird, alone on the front steps, long legs dangling over the edge. I drove past him. Standing on the corner, Jessica and company looked up from their phones and stepped off the curb as I braked to a stop. Before they could touch the door, I gunned the engine to make the tires spin and burn rubber, then checked the side mirror before peeling out and leaving them in the lurch.

No cops in sight. I did a U-ee and roared back to school, squealing to a stop at the front door. “McBird,” I said. “Need a ride?”

He stood and squinted at me like I was some stranger. “No thanks. My dad should be here soon.”

“Um, Adam? There’s something I need to tell you.”

Suddenly there was no way to explain it. What was so hilarious about having a kid get stood up by his father after school? I took a deep breath and told him the deal.

“I’m sorry, Adam. There’ll be hell to pay tomorrow, but I’m done with Jessica. You’re free to blow me off, and I deserve that. You’re also free to say yes to a ride home in a pink convertible. You got a license? I might even let you drive.”

He smiled, picked up his big black trombone case, and shook his dark, shiny hair out of his eyes. He had really nice brown eyes. And long suntanned arms with white shirt sleeves rolled to the elbows.

Across the street, the girls were aiming their phones at us, recording everything.

Let them. No matter what embarrassment they had in store for me, I would handle it.

Adam had a license to drive, and four mean girls had no more power over me.

Until next time,

Keangaroo

Find me at Twitter:
@tea_in_carolina
novelist, reviewer, editor, book critic
fan of indie authors & underdogs
Follow My Reviews at Goodreads, NetGalley, Amazon Vine
Rants, Raves, Reviews, History, Current Events My Wordpress Blog
Perihelion Science Fiction
Let's Fry Chicken Little nominated for 2015 Pushcart Award

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics


In proud collaboration with @steemitbloggers and its founder @jaynie, @theluvbug regularly supports the Steemit community with upvotes and resteems of great content which is really adding value to this platform..you can help by spreading the word of #theluvbug...

Sort:  

I totally love that!! And bad friends are a bad thing. I just talked to the friend of my daughter who became a Heroin addict at the age of 28. She said that all her good friends moved away - and she ended up getting some bad ones.
Glad Jules had a big brother who could get through to her.

Thank you so much for your generous gift!! I am going to use it to power up the Freewrite House :)

We become whoever we spend most of our time with, it seems. I hope your friend's daughter has healed. Funny you should bring it up -- if this were a longer story, the brother would have had a backstory on why he didn't finish college--based on a real life friend of our son's, age 28 now, who nearly died of overdoses (twice) in his early 20s but now is married and doing well (last I heard). This is why TV shows like "Ozark" set my teeth on edge. We're being set up to LIKE and root for people who end up in the drug trade, selling heroine, and we don't see the victims of the drug addiction itself, just the criminals killing each other for profit and control of the illegal drug trade. ugh. Thanks for reading and commenting, @mariannewest!

I am glad that your son's friend is doing well. My daughter's friend is off heroin too - but addiction is so hard!!

I don't watch much TV and certainly can't stand shows that make the big business of drug sales glamourous - including most pharmaceuticals.

the scariest thing is how many "nice" kids from "normal" homes get addicted, and how many lives are ruined as a result. Too many of our son's high school classmates ended up in rehab, but luckily for them, they had parents with the resources to get help for them. It's incredibly expensive and time consuming, and if these kids could have had a crystal ball of what lay ahead for them after the first hit of whatever drug - but kids are immortal. (And I see now that I mixed up "your daughter's friend" vs "your friend's daughter" -- details! They matter!).
You'd never guess my minor was journalism and "Verify, verify, verify" was our mantra. That was before computers and internet and reams, reams, reams of words coming down the pike.(Excuse, excuses, excuses!)

I agree with you that it is so scary how many kids get into that crap. And it is available in grade schools. It feels so overwhelming.

And your statement was correct 😄 She is my friend's daughter as well as my daughter's friend. All good!

This post was spotted by @theluvbug and has received a 100% upvote and possibly a resteem too.
If you would like to possibly receive future support from @theluvbug
then please make use of the #theluvbug tag.

Spreading the STEEMIT LOVE with upvotes and resteems of AWESOME Steemit content. Use #theluvbug to get my attention :)

In Proud Collaboration with @steemitbloggers
and their founder @jaynie

interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

Congratulations @carolkean! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Steem Power, Followers and Following added

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62480.78
ETH 3045.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91