Lady Graves -Day 7 - NaNoWriMo 2018 - The Madness Prompt 8: Irritation

in #freewrite5 years ago

The Madness Prompt 8 + Day 7, Chapter 7 of Lady Graves


source

Today I revisited Chapter 2 (shoot me, right?):

“My name is--”
He cocked an eyebrow at her, the same way his dog did. She gripped her long braid, brought it closer to her eye, as if her hair might reveal her name.
“This is not how I braid my hair at night.” That was it--the one revelation that came while examing her hair. “This looks lovely, though. Like a herringbone. You must show me how it’s done.”
He laughed, and she remembered that he had been impertinent and presumptuous with her.
“My name,” she said, with every expectation that it would roll right off her tongue, “is…”


source

I've been reading The Brothers Karamazov,

having just revisited Jane Austen's "Emma," thinking "It really must be all right to write like this; people still read these novels today!" -- and so, as of this morning, Chapter 4 now opens like this:

CHAPTER FOUR

To be living alone with a man would be scandalous even for a maid, much less for a lady, but Stangler could see no alternative. When she recovered, nobody need know where she had spent her convalescence.
With every hour he could see how well educated this young woman was--and how much like the young farm hand, Fritz Lanza, with that eagerness to learn and the capacity to do so. Both of them had a rare spark of perception that set them apart from most other people. At thirty-four, Stangler was roughly old enough to be Lanza’s father, and he might be more than twelve years older than Lady Graves. If she were just a maid, he would feel justified in keeping her with him for as long as she was willing. If she were a maid, young Lanza might very well woo her and win her over. He could picture them together on a ship to Ellis Island, pursuing life, liberty, and happiness in a New World with unbounded opportunity.
He did not like this picture, and he did not like himself for being so territorial and possessive. “Finders, keepers” did not apply to human beings, and not even to animal. Someone could lay claim to Emil and assert that a stranger had abused the dog after it strayed onto another property. It would be just like Emil to pursue a squirrel with no thought of trespassing.
If she was indeed a lady, it was imperative that he return her to her former estate. If he could only find out what and where that might be. London was his guess, but without a name, he had all the excuse he needed to keep her until she recovered her memory.
She did not seem troubled or unhappy. Her laughter warmed him like the first blossoms of spring. At times, though, she would look away from a book and sigh, and he could well imagine she yearned for a former life filled with people, whether hers were servants or royalty; either way, she had lived or worked in the society of others.

Another revision here (formerly in chapter 4 but now in 5, but the numbers and scenes will shift again):

She frowned at Lanza’s ill-concealed smirk, then met the doctor’s gaze. “You have never given me your full name and title. I should wonder what your name might be.”
Casting his gaze from the farmhand to the forlorn maiden, he finally replied. “Should anyone come looking for me, it is for your own safety that you know nothing of my history. In some places it may be wise if you do not call Herr Doktor, nor even Klaus, a nickname I never did like. If you are in the habit of using my name, it will be easy to slip up in the presence of those who cannot be trusted. Henceforth, if you would, please, just call me Stangler. The Americans are wont to do this, and you may call it crass, but I rather like it. Stangler, Lanza, and Graves! We sound like a company of lawyers.”
“Stangler.” She peered into his green eyes with the long, dark lashes. “The noble doctor yearns to become a crass American. Somehow it is no surprise to me that you are a fugitive from the law.”
“Unsinn! I am a fugitive from ignorance and tyranny. Never mind the charges against me; they are absurd and indicative of the sad, sorry state of a nation.”

Chapter Six left off here:

Emil was in a crouch, overlooking a ravine. “Don’t let her see,” Lanza said.
“She may have to look” Stangler said. “This may be our missing coachman.”


(she looks)

... Had the day really been so inviting, so sunny and lovely, when they first set out? Lady Graves pressed her hands to her head, wincing, then felt raindrops falling just in time to mingle with her tears. The moody April weather!

“Let us get her home,” Stangler said. “Some hot tea and a warm, dry bed for you, my dear Graves, while Lanza and I work out the details of the substitute corpse.”


This may or may not end up as the opening of

Chapter 7

Cold and wet, two men and a lady

peeled off their garments to dry by the fire. Lady Graves was sent to the loft to undress, and for the first time she saw the upper level of the cottage with its exposed wooden rafters, heavenly scents of cedar, sage, lavender and other herbs, and the feather tick on the floor where Stangler had started sleeping. Shivering, she lay down on it and wrapped herself in goose down and a musky scent of man while glancing around for a trunk full of clothing. The sound of raindrops on the roof was louder up here, making her feel all the more sheltered and secure. She was safe, for now. She was alive.

Reginald dangled over a ravine, battered by wind and rain, devoured by buzzards.

Vee was her maid, her lady in waiting. She was born to Hannah, their cook, not even half a year after Evelyn was born. Young Lady Evelyn had spent far too much time in the kitchen watching Hannah make magic out of ugly slabs of raw meat and smelly onions. With or without Vee, she would sneak out to the stables and befriend the horses--and the men who tamed them. The colts, unbroken and high in spirit, were her favorites. Reginald’s father, old Archibald, had credited her with making their work easier, taking the wildness out of the colts just enough so that they would tolerate the men who were out to harness them and control them.

Princess Caroline Matilda was her inspiration, though she’d died years before at the age of twenty-four. The princess would dress as a man and ride like one too, scandalizing the court. At fifteen she had married her cousin, the king of Denmark. Lady Evelyn was almost a princess herself. Her grandmother, the sister of a king, had left Germany to marry an English prince.

That was why she knew a little German.

Lady Evelyn, Lady Graves, the English patient--by whatever name, was born a lady--and Vee was her maid but also her constant companion from infancy. Hannah was more like a mother to her than her own mother, who had arranged to have them all sent off to Germany. To Lindenstein. Prince Hal was a giant of a man who’d lost two wives to the travails of childbirth, and Lady Evelyn was hard pressed to play the part of a lady when she loved running wild in the woods and riding horses bareback--but when was a real lady with all the papers to prove it, descended from the courts of Lindenstein. Her grandma had read to her The Nibelugenlied in English until little Evelyn could almost recite it herself, then in German, so that the legend of Seigfried was more a part of her than the classics of Shakespeare. Silly Romeo was a spineless dullard compared to the magnificent Seigfried.



source

The memories came in like an avalanche

at first, but Evelyn shut them down. Tears rained onto Stangler’s bed but she could do nothing to rein them in. Sobs convulsed her body.

“There, now.” A familiar voice, a whiff of hot tea, and a hand on her shoulder accomplished what her own will power could not.

Stangler knelt beside her. He waited for her tears to subside then helped her sit up and handed her the tea, then turned his back and rummaged through the trunk for some dry clothes. He handed her some pants, a shirt, and a cord to hold up the loose garments. The shirt bore his musky scent. He looked away as she dressed, then knelt again, fingering her damp hair, sectioning it into thirds.

How could she have found him so irritating, when his actions were always so tender? His speech could be rude and laced with disapproval that reminded her of her father, but Stangler's little fits of tyranny never lasted long. He was a healer, a gentleman and a scholar, not an autocrat. If he irritated her at times, it was to be expected, given her traumatic injuries and precarious situation.

“I started remembering things,” she said. This was more urgent than any apology she might owe him.

“Ach. This is sehr gut, ja?”

"Good, yes, but--"

She sniffed, and he handed her a kerchief.

The man was ever so patient, unlike her mother and cousins and lady friends, plying her with questions and barely allowing her to answer one before accosting her with another. She finished her tea and kept the warm cup in her hands.

“My grandmother was a princess of Lindenstein.”

“How very surprised I am...not,” he replied. He braided her hair, quick and easy, and secured the end with a ribbon of leather.

“My father…”

The tears started all over again. Papa! The commanding lord of Everly who had time for her brothers and sister but none for her. The name Evelyn was squandered on her; it was her younger sister Emma who modeled all the virtues of a lady, who married well and made her father proud.

“Twenty-one.” She sniffed. “I am a maid after all. An old maid. Or I would have been, had Prince Hal not condescended to marry the wayward English lady who embarrassed her family.” Another sob ripped from her breast, and Stangler drew her head to his shoulder.

She was betrothed to a prince.

The thought of young Lanza winning over the bright young maid was dreadful enough; the prospect of restoring Lady Evelyn to her German prince was even worse.

“But wait!” A thought struck him. “Lanza said the innkeeper told him Lady Evelyn had reported her maid Vee and the coachman missing, along with her money. We have found the coachman, God rest his soul, and we found you, left for dead in a lonely wood. If you should arrive at Lindenstein, ready to claim Prince Hal as your bridegroom, what proof can you offer, and what will the second Lady Evelyn do about it? If she is pretending to be you, and believes the real Lady Evelyn to be dead--”

Now the English patient looked irritated again, her fists clenching, her brows knitting together as she pulled away from him.

“What a thing to say! My maid Vee is missing. You speak as if she is a usurper--my friend and companion from infancy!”

“Despite her lower station.”

“She is as well spoken and well mannered as any lady, because I treated her like one. Sometimes as a joke we would dress her in my clothes, and nobody mistook her for my maid. Until we went down to dinner looking like two sisters. Mother was furious. Everyone else just laughed, but Mother had Vee punished--”

She winced at the memory.

Stangler laid a hand on her shoulder. “So she has been known to dress in your clothes before--and pretend to be your sister.”

“I do not like what you are suggesting.”

“Nor do I, but Lanza had the same thought. He is still here, if you are ready to go down and hear him out.”

“Never. I will never be ready to hear more of this treachery!”

“Ready or not,” Stangler said, “the door has opened, and you can slam it shut now, or you can go through it and see what lies between you and the road to Lindenstein.”

“I shall go,” she said, “just to prove how terribly wrong you are.”



source

END OF DAY SEVEN (for now), word count 1693

Sort:  

very good photos ... congratulations

Interesting turn of events!

Yay for keeping on writing on LOL

and still, I keep losing the word tracker link - I copy/pasted it into a google doc and can't call it to life.
"Here is the link to the daily word count tracker for weekly prizes" -- aha! It doesn't work in Google dox, but it works here! https://goo.gl/forms/zuuZ00Ket2nFsnCL2
I still like Word so much better for editing and formatting. Oh, and their word count! I stripped out every possible extraneous labeling I could find, and got

If I've exceeded 10,000 words for real, it was by going back into previous days' work and adding details but not counting those words.
I'm floored. The original Emil story was 1500 words, and a chunk of it got deleted.

Oh no!!! You need to invest the $ 49 and get yourself Scrivener. I am so in love with the program - actually, you can try it for free for 30 days... and that is 30 days you are actually opening the program - not 30 calendar days

For ten years I've been hearing about Scrivener... I looked at a free trial once and gave up. The familiar is too easy, even if it isn't as good as the new. For now I will stay in Word (familiar!) and later try Scrivener (it's been several years). Thanks. You're so good at tech stuff!!!

You cracked me up with more revisions. How do you know if you are coming or going? Seriously, your revisions are icing on the cake. I am happy that Lady Evelyn/Graves is getting her memory back. Onward, my dear! This resident cat is your #NovMadFan. : )

#NovMadFan Bruni says no more editing until December. Of course it's excellent work, so...

Hello!
I am late to the party.
I am a slow and steady steemer, and a freewrite fan.
I am slowly making my way through the November novels. Yesterday I was scrolling back to find the fisrt mariannewest entry, stopping off along the way, getting distracted by posts, I noticed a comment from you.

...I'm still at the "This was pointless!" stage, having read all 50,000 words and thinking how on earth could I have been so foolish as to share the rough draft with others... no wonder feedback has been scarce... nobody wants to tell me it's beyond salvage! Anyone who knows me knows I would take that as a challenge, anyway. You did great!!!...

This intrigued me enough to abandon my scroll in search of your pointless months work.
Now that I am invested far enough into your project to comment, I sincerely hope that I was just the run of the mill self depreciating artists comment. A mix of self doubt that is just enough to stir the self belief that resides beneath it, that is far stronger and much wiser than the fleeting judgement that arises when you put your work out for judgement of others. It seems that they don't hear you or see you, or worse, pass you by. But you are heard and your words are far from pointless, they are beautiful.

I am thoroughly enjoying you novel. The characters are endearing, and growing on me. The adits are absolutely divine. As I get to share the rewrites and share in your own process a little, I feel I glimpse not only the discovery of the fictional characters but also their development in the mind of their creator.

Steemit response is varied and unpredictable. It is hard not to judge your worth based on responses, upvotes and comments.
I wish I had followed your posts earlier and been able to be part of your cheer squad during your write. I have been unwell and not able to do the things I used to.
Today I am under enforced rest. You have come to my aid as I am finding it very dificult to stop and follow medical instructions to rest. Disappearing into your delightful novel has carried me through the morning. Today my only task is to relax and let the tale of the maiden, the doc and the farm hand carry me away from my own woes and to a world of delicately hinted romance and growing intrigue.

I look forward to buying your hard copy one day soon,
Your newest fan
gb4m x

Ohhh @girlbeforemirror - may you feel well soon - bless you! I did have a few cheerleaders but I'm the dimwit who dismisses a compliment as "just being nice or charitable to me" while any insult = "I earned it, deserved it, totally had it coming." Why don't I feel I totally earned compliments? It's an uphill battle-for-a-lifetime. THANK YOU, thank you, for the reassurances, and explanations, and kind words!! You are quite a polished writer yourself if one comment is any indication (and even then I just "know" I'm right here). This totally makes my day: Today my only task is to relax and let the tale of the maiden, the doc and the farm hand carry me away from my own woes and to a world of delicately hinted romance and growing intrigue. I'm off now to see your own blog. And you won't have to buy a hard copy. You earned one! Beta readers and reviewers are entitled to at least that much. :) (Now to see if you don't change your tune when you read your way to the lame ending in which nobody is tortured or killed! I am the wimpiest author on earth!)

Right here is what makes you a great writer. You just described the human experience. You are not alone, everyone needs 100 compliments to challenge the continued echo of one thoughtless comment, or worse that incessant internal dialogue that tells you nasty things.

...dismisses a compliment as "just being nice or charitable to me" while any insult = "I earned it, deserved it, totally had it coming." Why don't I feel I totally earned compliments? It's an uphill battle-for-a-lifetime...

Knowing that I am not heading into zombie territory or a sci-fi adventure is reassuring, you never know.
I was most pleasantly surprised and a little shocked when my husband sat down with me and turned on pride and prejudice. I should have known better.

Bloody lovely.

images.jpeg

https://m.imdb.com/title/tt1374989/

If I waited one more chapter before commenting, you spoke for me perfectly from the perspective of the protagonist and her reference to story telling as a form of medicine.
It is evident that you draw from so much knowledge in your writing.
I saw in your notes that mid month the historical basis started to take its toll on you a little. I think a healthy balance between fact and fiction is acceptable, and artistic licence allows for some interpretation of history.
If we can allow pride prejudice and zombies to exist, then a slight variation on dates and such things is forgivable.
I am a fan of binge watching period drama. Downton Abbey, even outlander (which is delightfully sci-fi in a magical Celtic dance through the stones kind of way) , all of them have their historical critics, but no-one dwells on these. Give the history buffs something to commentate, they live for it.

I love your perspective on history being malleable for the sake of artistic license! Most readers wouldn't question seeing "Germany" mentioned in an 1820s setting, but the ones who do will crucify a novel in reviews - those one-star bandits who live to find fault with "Free Today" novels. (Shame on them.)

I love the Outlanders TV series! I read Book One first but it's so looooong, I never did read the other seven.

And the first Kindle book I ever bought, 99 cents, was Pride and Prejudice and Zombies -- even though I avoid zombies, vampires, post-apocalypse, and dystopian fiction. The PPZ book had its charms.

Thank you so much for you kind words!! As the novel progresses, the urge of Stangler to teach and preach and share his knowledge annoys the reader as much as the other characters, I fear. I do need to pare it down, or at least weave it into the story and have it lead somewhere. All the way to America.

I had entertained visions of putting Stangler on a ship that sinks within swimming distance of the island Napoleon is exiled on (not Elba; he died on St. Helen). Now that would be a good example of "Think of the worst thing that could happen to your protagonist, then do it to him!"

Binge watching is the only way I watch TV shows anymore. Who wants to wait a whole week for the next episode? Oh we are spoiled.

Again, huge thanks for reading, and if you or anyone has suggestions for improvement, I'll add you to the acknowlegments whenever I get ready to self-pub. And I do lean toward being an Indie Author.

You're the kind of reader authors dream of! Thanks again!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64549.55
ETH 3170.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13