The Greatest "Fiction" Ever Written Is More True Than Authors Admit

in #freewrite5 years ago

For years I've laughed at that disclaimer

you see in almost every novel ever published:

This book is a work of fiction. Names, characters, places, and incidents either are products of the author's imagination or are used fictitiously. Any resemblance to actual events or locales or persons, living or dead, is entirely coincidental.

As if!!


[source: one of my many paperbacks]

Joyce Carol Oates

won my respect for many reasons, not least of which, her more-honest disclaimer:

Actual historical sources are acknowledged:

Today's savvy readers are onto us

and making memes about us, warning our coworkers, neighbors, friends, enemies and acquaintances that anything and everything is fair game as material to feed the fires of a fiction-writer's imagination.

ource

Wallace Stegner

beat me to it, and I cannot find the original quote anywhere, but yesterday for the first time I saw someone quoting him on the thing that has tormented me as a reader in the hundred and hundreds of novels I've read that were so obviously based on real-life characters and places:

“One of my favorite quotes on writing is the one from Wallace Stegner where he says, ‘The greatest piece of fiction ever written is the disclaimer at the beginning of each book that says none of the characters in this book are based off of anyone alive or dead.’ What a crock, I mean that’s what you’re supposed to do — find interesting people and populate your novels with them.”

--Craig Johnson, "Longmire" author source


Exactly! Thank you, Mr. Johnson!

Almost every person I write has a basis in a someone I met in real life, or someone I read about in a newspaper article. And that's what this best-selling novelist does. I feel vindicated at last after years of reading those disclaimers in novels.

#GottaLoveCraigJohnson!

“One of the dirty little secrets about my books is that the plots come from newspaper articles, every single one of them,” he said. “I think that helps me keep my character, Walt Longmire, anchored in a reality that western sheriffs deal with every day. I don’t ever want to write books where Walt is on a cruise ship or something stupid like that.”

He will continue to pull inspiration from the people, places and things around him, Johnson added.

Johnson, who lives in rural Wyoming and is often spotted in a cowboy hat. It’s one that’s definitely in character for Walt Longmire, the main character created by Johnson who has been the focus of more than a dozen novels and stories.

“I stumbled onto an interesting character and after 15 novels, two novellas, and an anthology of short stories he has yet to bore me,” Johnson said, noting that he appreciates Walt Longmire’s down-to-earth characteristics. “My sheriff is not the usual 6-foot-2 (inches) of twisted steel and sex appeal that you see in a lot of crime fiction. He is more like all of us or what I refer to as ‘over,’ overweight, over age, overly depressed, but he gets up each morning with a sense of humor and a determination that I find truly heroic.”

The Longmire series has become so popular that in 2012 it was developed into the A&E series, “Longmire,” starring Robert Taylor, Lou Diamond Phillips and Katee Sackoff. It was the network’s most watched original drama series and now runs on Netflix.

Author profile | Craig Johnson | Mystery writer says he draws inspiration from newspapers for best-selling novels

Well, that led me to look up more on Stegner.

Wallace Stegner | The Art of Fiction No. 118 | Interviewed by James R. Hepworth

“My methods are prelapsarian and prewordprocessarian. It takes me many rewritings to get a first draft, and all the chapters that went into it have been thrown away successively until I get something that will read consecutively. I go through that with an editing pencil and retype it to make a relatively clear second draft.”

Gotta Love Author Interviews!

Especially when their confessions reassure us that we are not alone.

I don’t go in search of projects. Sometimes they appear before my eyes, and sometimes they grow over a long period of time as I brood. Sometimes I know there’s a book there, and I have to hunt through an awful lot of research material, as I did with Angle of Repose. I have started books without knowing where they were going to end. That’s more dangerous. But in the case of Crossing to Safety the book just grew, more or less, through personal experience in Vermont, Wisconsin, and to a small extent, in Italy. In those places what was gradually developing in my mind could find a home. That’s how the book came about. It took a long time. I had to do it by trial and error, and I was years in getting it finally sorted out. It’s not a conscious process.

INTERVIEWER

Was there any point where you definitely knew this project was a novel?

STEGNER

I knew from the beginning it was going to be a book. You have that feeling. It’s like having a fish on the line. You know when it’s an old boot and when it’s a fish. But I didn’t know what the book was. I’ve got piles of manuscripts over there, eight and ten inches high, of stuff written and tossed aside in the process of finding out. At several points the novel was going in entirely different directions. It had different characters from those that now appear, more characters, episodes that never got into the finished book at all. The novel started in a different place. It proceeded toward a different end.


source

There's more, so much more,

from so many authors, so many interviews, more than I can read and sift through, collect, cite, and share here.

FWH-faves.png

Check Out The @FreeWriteHouse Prompt Of The Day By @MarianneWest

Remember the Monday prompt is a collaboration with the microfiction contest with @jayna - look for the Contest post on her profile - win 2 Steem.

Check out her contest post for more info. Contest starts every Monday and ends the following Saturday evening.

Join us on Twitter to spread the word about Steem https://twitter.com/FreewriteHouse

Sort:  

What a wonderful read! I especially like the Oates disclaimer. That was a hoot. I don't pretend to be a writer, but I am a reader, and I love the mechanics of how a story comes to be. Thanks for this!

You ARE a writer. And a very funny one at that. Check out @mariannnewest freewrite challenge if you haven't already, and take the plunge. Please!

Oh dear. Gauntlet thrown. I will have to pull my hip waders out of the closet and go in.

Posted using Partiko Android

You see?!
And that's the word I've been looking for! Waders! Thx!

You were looking for waders?

Posted using Partiko Android

No I had some that I was trying to re-home and could not think of the word so I had to describe them. "you know, like a big rubber overalls with boots to go into ponds with."

Hahahaha! That's so funny! I hope they found a good home!

Posted using Partiko Android

It's true!! You may not be writing fiction yet, but your non-fiction is just as riveting and entertaining. There's no better way than freewriting to find out if you have a story inside you waiting to get out. Freewrites don't have to be fiction by the way. Poems and essays count! Waiting for the waders and the words to come pouring out from @goat-girlz now. :)

🏆 Hi @carolkean! You have received 0.15 SBD reward for this post from the following subscribers: @carolkean @wandrnrose7
Subscribe and increase the reward for @carolkean :) | For investors.

Of course, AFTER hitting "post," I find more memes:

I am a fledgling writer with fledgling uncertainties and urges. This post floats my boat! How wonderful to hear the big guys - the real writers - put into words the cogs and the knacks in process that I understand only vaguely.
Whatever originality is, you can tell when it isn't there. I've said something like this before for a number of my passions - math, cooking, music, and acting. They all occasionally send me to a unexpected place, and it's for those journeys that I put up with the rest.
Thanks for this. It gives me hope and the urge to go feel frustrated as hell for as long as it takes for a story to emerge.

Your story will emerge - and it'll be the best butterfly in the garden when it does! Originality is less about the plot, more about the characters and their diction and their personal eccentricities. The journeys to unexpected places are what keep readers buying books. As for understanding the mechanics of writing, that's like expecting all car drivers to know how to identify the cause of a dead engine and then knowing how to replace an alternator, a starter, a battery, a serpentine belt... pistons, spark plugs... just rev up and the engine and ride!

I barely ever write fiction, and when I do, I have to go through and remove things I think others might recognize. Where are do characters come from but your life?

Thank you so much for all of your support - to me and to other steemers, @carolkean. I'm seeing your tips often! I am so grateful and hope you are not mortgaging the farm for this nice deed :)

You're most welcome!
I haven't figured out yet how @tipu works and how much money to keep depositing. But if the upvote money is covered by whatever my own posts bring in, no mortgaging of the farm is necessary. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00