Entry for Day 689: 5 Minute Freewrite: Monday - Prompt: poetry reading

in #freewrite5 years ago

Screenshot-2018-12-11-at-13.27.15.png
Source

badges 8.jpg

Thank you to @mariannewest for this challenge:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-689-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-poetry-reading

Hi everyone.

Thank you for stopping by.

When I was studying poetry for my English A Level exam, I was the class rep to the college council.

The tutor was always setting really demanding homework tasks that I tried to complete. After one such task, he announced he had two tickets for a poetry reading by Philip Larkin. He was a famous poet at the time and this was just before his death.

The tutor decided to award one ticket to the student who had submitted the best homework task. I knew that would not be me. Then, surprise, surprise, he turned to me and said the second ticket would go to the class rep for the hard work I'd done for the class. I was over the moon. I'll never forget that unexpected treat of the poetry reading.

I found an old photo of Philip Larkin to show you above.

Thank you for reading my post which took nearly 15 minutes.

Vote untersatz.jpg

Why not use one of your witness votes to support "untersatz" run by @contrabourdon and @organduo?

This is their witness statement given to me on Discord:

Statement: Produce more blocks so we have SP to upvote our circle and keep providing you with Steem prizes.

I voted for them as I support the aim in their statement.

Follow this link to place your vote:

https://steemitwallet.com/~witnesses

Webp.net-gifmaker.gif

Sort:  

That was a nice thing the teacher did, to recognize a different kind of work that was just as valuable as homework.

I'm here to deliver the Tuesday prompt so please write us another!

https://steempeak.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-690-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-screeching-tires

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Thank you for your help and comment :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02