Lawless

in #freewrite5 years ago


scroll (3).jpg

By the time I'd finished school, I knew I'd never make it as an employee and I'd be an awful boss. I was what they called wilful which luckily in those days didn’t result in a prescription for Adderall or Ritalin.

I'd never been good at taking orders nor giving them for that matter, so when I started a law searching company after college I took on a few of my friends, then their friends, and very soon we were a motley crew of 50 twenty-somethings running the biggest legal services company in the country. We worked like a well- oiled machine, all for one and one for all, getting the job done and divvying up the spoils.

And getting the job done wasn’t easy. We worked under tremendous time pressure in registries all over the city, searching through dusty tomes which we first had to prise from the hands of lethargic civil servants. With mobile phones yet to be invented, the information had to be couriered back to the office, typed up and hand-delivered to the solicitor’s office on time for the closing of the sale. Any mistake could cost hundreds of thousands and if the searches didn’t arrive the conveyance couldn’t proceed, resulting in furniture removal vans being turned back and frantic calls to banks for emergency bridging loans.

Though we operated with no real hierarchy the buck stopped with me. So whenever a solicitor came to call asking for the man in charge, it was me who rocked up to greet him, face painted with white clown makeup and bleached hair standing proudly on end. This was in the early 80s when women unless they were secretaries, weren’t so numerous in the legal world so you can imagine the reactions.

We paid huge salaries, bonuses every bank holiday and had wild Christmas parties. We gave employment to junkies fresh out of rehab, our receptionists were inner-city kids with accents to match and on mad busy Fridays, there were always a few joints on the go to keep the dispatchers sane.

We were notorious in Dublin legal circles, and for all the crazy stress involved, sure the craic was 90!

Posted in response to @mariannewest's freewrite challenge.
The prompt is awful boss

Sort:  

@deirdyweirdy Enjoyable story and thread! Thanks for the vote on my Down Voted piece! Have a great day!

Thanks for reading my scribblings. Much appreciated.
As to the downvotes, I hope you're not taking them too seriously. I know they're annoying and they never fail to give me a heart attack but they actually don't do you any harm as they've no rep and no SP.

I think you're a remarkable writer. Yes, I got three down votes on the down vote piece which I figured would happen. Happily moving on in life. Your support was exactly what I needed on that hiccup, which I appreciate. Lovely making your acquaintance.

Kudos for you DW! I would have loved to work with you back then. I can just imagine the surprised faces on the solicitors faces when they saw that it was you in charge. HaHa! I had to look up 3 of your words in the dictionary to figure out what you were talking about. : )

Great times indeed. Different times. The solicitors would expect to walk into some silent, sleepy office like their own and instead they'd be faced with something akin to a stock-exchange floor. When they saw me they'd look frantically around for the man in the suit ......or perhaps for some means of escape;)

We were wild kids with a lot of money and no thought for the future. We once hired a castle in the country and helicopters to take us there. Another time we got a plane to Amsterdam and stayed in the 5-star Krasnapolsky hotel, all 50 of us, many who'd never been outside Ireland before.

Listen, if we both keep up this learning from each other lark, at least we'll both go to the grave as geniuses!

Akin to a stock-exchange floor? That really puts things in perspective. Wow! You lived like royalty at such a young age. Amazing!

HaHaHaHa! Not only smart but having smiles on our faces too. LOL!

I was what they called wilful which luckily in those days didn’t result in a prescription for Adderall or Ritalin.

:>) …..The world certainly has changed in so many ways since then; hasn't it?

You can say that again, and not entirely for the better either.
Come to think of it, I remember my mother saying exactly the same thing when she was my age!

Are you talking English in Dublin or Keltic?

We speak English in Dublin. Ireland has 2 official languages, Gaelic and English. Gaelic is only really spoken in parts of the west of the country.

I saw a movie, where an American investigator comes to Ireland and no one wanted to speak to him in English. )))

Ah, he probably arrived during the annual flummox a foreigner fortnight.

ahahah... You are funny

I bet you say that to all the girls!;)

No. I am not that primitive. To each girl, I say different things. )))

Hahaha, you are funny;)

Ha, and all this time I thought you were a dude @deadlyweirdly. And you're also from Ireland? Assumed you were from the states.

I'm also part Irish and live in Manchester, UK.

I won't hold that against you;) A lot of people here think I'm a dude and it's getting more and more difficult to admit to being a woman these days;) Yes, I'm Irish and living in what used to be Dublin. I know Manchester pretty well but only after dark. I went to a fair few raves there in my youth.

Hello @deirdyweirdy, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thanks very much. You certainly made my day!

Hi Hun! I am finally here to help today. Am I on top or bottom?

Hahaha, there we go again. Our messages crossed. I'm on top today.

Mental telepathy. Sisters separated from birth, possibly twins but only having identical minds. LOL!

Hi @deirdyweirdy!

  • you have 602 units and 0 bonus units
  • your rshares balance is 2245128642257 or 0.983 $
  • your next SBI upvote is predicted to be 0.328 $

Structure of your total SBI vote value:

  • 87.61 % has come from your subscription level
  • 0.00 % has come from your bonus units
  • 9.85 % has come from upvoting rewards
  • 2.55 % has come from new account bonus or extra value from pre-automation rewards


    Did you know that your SBI level shows in your Steempeak wallet?

Hi Hun! I am here. Hope you are doing well. I am tops today and I will catch ya in Freewrite Land. : )

Hi Hun! Hope you are having a great day. I am bottoms up today. See ya somewhere in Freewrlte Land. : )

I'm here sweetie. Just noticed marianne is early......off we go!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66361.53
ETH 3253.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.43