Day 2 Prompt : Paper - 200 day freewrite contest prize 25sbd and a chance to win sbi

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

P_20180516_082147_BF.jpg

Paper is a common item in our daily life and many of us have forgotten or never ask where does it come from?



Do you know what is paper made of? Most of us take for granted and seldom give a second thought about it. But I am sure you are aware that paper is made from a tree, true?

To be honest, I also do not know exactly where does the paper I am holding in my selfie come from. But I know its raw material is from pulp ( produced from a tree) and produced into a paper roll by a paper mill.

There are many types of paper in the market. The type I hold in the selfie is mainly used in office and it A4 size. It is a common document paper commercially used in Malaysia include government department and legal documents for property agreements.

Then for a big scale industry like the newspaper, the paper used is in roll form and is called newsprint. This big roll of newsprint is mounted onto a giant printing machine which prints and cut the newspaper to the required size.

The raw material of producing newsprint is call pulp and it gets more and more expensive. As the industry evolves, manufacturing of newsprint stated to a mixed virgin pulp and recycled old newspaper to become the secondary raw material. This will reduce the cost of consumption of the raw material in total. Actually, I oversimplified the cost of raw material to exclude the cost to recycle the old newspaper.

Anyway, another use of paper in this part of the world, a paper is used to wrap food for takeaway. Over the years, the quality of this type of paper has improved to a waterproof so that it can wrap around food without getting thorn away. I am not sure what process manufacturer did for this type of paper, but it has a layer of material which is like a wax effect. Water will not damage the paper.

Then i think another most common paper is the paper for books. Those years, before recycle paper is used to bind books, the quality of paper used in books also have diferent grade, I still remember there are glossy paper and a regular papers.

Maybe this is a tricky question but I don't meant it. Actually I am asking myself this question when I started this post. My selfie shown a white color office use type of A4 size paper. It is white in color. If it is made from tree, why is it white ?

This freewrite selfie contest is posted in conjunction with the 200 days 5 minutes freewrite contest organized by @freewritehouse and @marriannewest

Post written by @digitalmind

Disclaimers

Sort:  

It is white because it is bleached. Paper can be made from all kinds of fiber and many feel that hemp-based paper would be much better than using trees. Hemp grows fast and would be a lot cheaper.

thanks for dropping by and provided additional useful knowledge about raw material for pulp. Yes, that reminds me of an alternative to a pulp back in mid-2000's. I was totally forgotten about it.
Fortunately, your contest does not test for in-dept knowledge of the prompt. And I did not verify the fact I wrote as I wanted to practice 5 minutes freewrite skill
Cheers

Now I recalled, in early 2000's the newsprint mill was researching into "Kenaf" as an alternative to the pulp. After I have seen your feedback on "Hemp", I also found it on google as one of the alternatives to the pulp
However, I did not make in-depth studies on various alternatives though

Congratulations @digitalmind! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

thank you for watching my progress. I am pleased to be awarded
cheers

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00