Day 291: 5 Minute Freewrite: Monday - Prompt: helpless

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)


narrow-1057500_1280.jpg

Image Source

Helpless being a robbery victim

I was wondering what to write for this prompt and thought for a while. This scene came to my mind when I was rob at a side lane neat my auntie's house

I could not remember exactly when was it but it was in the 1970's. I visited my girlfriend (now my wife) auntie's house during one of the evening in Taman Paramount, Petaling Jaya. By the time we arrived, her auntie and family have their dinner.

After seated for a while we decided to go for our dinner nearby the house. Since it was just walking distance away we decided to walk thru the side lane between two rows of houses.

By the time we walked halfway the lane, I heard motorcycle sound approached and stopped. At first I could not figure out what the cyclist wanted, until one of the took out a shape object and demand us for wallet.

During that time, I was frozen (I think ) for a while and care for our own safety helplessly, I took out my wallet and gave him. By the time the motorcycle drove away then only I realised I was robbed.

We went back to auntie's house and told her untie about that incidence. My aunt looked at us and showed her helpless face. We woke up and went to a nearby policy station to make a report. At the police station, the official told us there are several similar cases reported and asked us to wait for a copy of the statement.

We needed the statement to use it as a proof for loss of identify card for a replacement.

Until now, I will avoid taking side lane even it is just next to my own house. you wouldn't know who is watching you. That was my personal helpless situation. Sigh

Cheers

This Freewrite article is written by @Digitalmind

You are invited to join the fun. Here is the link to the details of the daily prompt by @mariannewest

Related Freewrite Post

Disclaimer

  • Unless otherwise stated, all photos are taken by @digitalmind


follow

Sort:  

Hello friend! what a bad time to spend when it is stolen.... we had that experience a couple of years ago, they broke into my house took several things. Thank God we weren't home. Of course the material is recovered. Little by little we were buying the stuff they stole. The material is recovered, life is NOT. And it is good to avoid at all times in the street to pass by lonely places to be safe. And well also the company of Our Heavenly Father always with us. Greetings friend!!

Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator

ya... that was something lesson to learn. Never walk in a lonely place, be it main road or small lane
Better be safe than sorry
Cheers

I nominated your post in the @freewritehouse Tell us About a Favorite Freewrite Contest for this week.

Even though this is such a sad and scary story, you wrote it very well, and I am happy to support it. I hope you win!

@fitinfun thank you so much for your nomination. This is a surprise for me
Cheers

You're welcome. Keep posting!

You were nominated as a favorite freewrite this week and featured in our Freewrite Favorites Post of the week!

Keep freewriting, you are doing amazing things!

FEATURED.png

I am honored to be selected as your featured free write post . And t/and you for dropping by
Cheers

That must have been a scary encounter! No wonder you still don't like alleys.

Yes it was a scary experience. It stuck to my brain until now
Lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64207.05
ETH 3065.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87