I'm Not a Morning Person

in #freewrite5 years ago

sun8.jpg

By nature, I am not a morning person, but I do love it if I by some chance happen to wake up really early without the alarm. The key here being the no alarm and natural wake up, where the body says okay I’ve had enough sleep for now, I shall wake up and you’ll feel super energetic. If I have to wake up early to a sound of an alarm, I hate it. I think it is literal torture and one of the most unnatural things a human can put their body through, it is not healthy.

Today I woke up for no reason at 5.30am, and for one didn’t just roll over to sleep another four hours like I would normally. I had something to take care of in the citycentre, so I got up after scrolling on my phone for a while, and was out the door before 7am, revolutionary.

Mornings are so beautiful and peaceful, and I love to see the sunrise of course, which sadly wasn’t visible because of the heavy snowfall. The picture above is from some random beautiful afternoon, you know, just illustration purposes. I thought normal people go to work between 7 and 8am, but it was very quiet. There were some people around but not as much as I though. Do people start work and school at 9am these days? Well anyways, I walked to the centre and on my way back I stopped by at a grocery store. It’s always an adventure to go in without a shopping list; will I remember anything I had to buy, and how much random expensive snacks will I stock up on because I’m hungry. I did fairly well and actually bought things I needed.

I planned on baking some laskiaspullia, sorry no straight English translation again, but they are sweet buns with jam and whipped cream inside, a traditional winter treat. Laskiainen is an old Finnish pagan tradition, a mid winter sliding festival, where people go out to enjoy the snow and some treats. The celebration days where last Sunday and Tuesday I think. When Christianity came, they had to figure how to make the festival day into something religious so now it has something to do with Easter, nobody knows and nobody cares really. We just want the buns.

Long story short, it’s not even 9am and I have my bun dough rising and I’m finally having my morning tea. I like to kind of punish myself by not having my morning tea or coffee before I get some shit done, so I am more motivated to work. I’m always feeling cold and I need my morning tea or coffee more for the warmth of it, and not so much for the caffeine, though that is nice too. Though I’m quite sensitive to the caffeine in dark roast coffee I always drink and then I feel super jittery and get anxiety, and it always takes me a while to figure out it’s the caffeine and I’m fine.

I am not sure what I was gonna write originally, but this turned into free writing so let’s call it that. Now I need to get back to baking, the dough has risen nicely, thanks for keeping me company!

Sort:  

Sitting here, reading at 11 in the morning :)) and crossing myself!
5:30 you say? 😶 Never heard of it!

Posted using Partiko Android

It’s the time when internet people usually go to bed 😅

And you mean to tell me people go out at that hour? I wonder what is wrong with them...

Laskiainen is known in the English-speaking world as Shrove Tuesday. So, laskiaispulla can simply be translated as Shrove Tuesday Bun. It's a Christian celebration that marks the beginning of Lent which ends before Easter Sunday.

In England, they play a traditional football game called Royal Shrovetide Football Match on Shrove Tuesday.

If you're up early and I'm up late, we cross. So, back at ya'!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Wake up in the morning by Alarm its going to torture us, Absolutely right. I think our Body and our soul have connection and the boss should be our Soul, Body should obey to our Soul. Its can Work. If, we can realizes that and believe in that. If the soul has been succes take the control. We will never need alarm any more :)

Where's the treats? Have you finished and eaten them?

They key to a good morning is a morning without an alarm!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64140.77
ETH 3133.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15