Sweet Summer Nights

in #freewrite5 years ago

87365A13-F717-43D0-868D-63CB3E68A49E.jpeg

I took this picture 366 days ago, at around 3.30am, just before sunrise. I’m sure it smelled the same that night, as it does this night.

The scent of an early summer night in Finland is nothing less than intoxicating, but never overpowering, never heavy, never sickly sweet. It’s in the same family of scents with fresh laundry and rain after a hot day. The air smells of new green leaves of the birch trees, freshly bloomed apple trees and lilacs, of cut grass. A light breeze from a lake makes everything blend together into a fresh summer cocktail.

The colours of the night, light blue tones in the midnight and the warm tones ahead of the rising sun, emphasize the scents of the summer night. They add into the harmony, blending together perfectly. I can’t imagine a pitch black night with a sweet Finnish summer scent, it doesn’t exist. Even if Alice were to help me imagine six impossible things before breakfast, that summer scent and a black night would never be together.

Freewrite for a sleepless night.

Sort:  

Freewrite for a sleepless night.

Good timing since that's what I'm literally having right now.

Posted using Partiko Android

How wonderful. I'd just love that midnight soft light. The night always seems too dark to me. The word lilac sounds like it would smell pretty.

I had to google lilacs, they are called syreeni in here, and a new understanding opened up to me when I realised what these lilacs are that are talked in poems etc.

I like it when you write like this. Thanks Eve.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Weirdo. We would call this tekotaiteellista paskaa in Finnish, which would mean something like pretentious artsy fartsy bullshit.

We’re all many different things. I find the most interesting people are multi-faceted. 😀

Posted using Partiko iOS

That is a very early sunrise. That's usually the time I go to sleep lol

That’s Finland in the summer, sun sets only for a few hours 😁

Ehehe the North of the UK is kind of the same... Lol winter time at 3 or 4 pm is the sunset and then 3 am is the sunrise lololol when I was there it was so confusing for me lolol

I love this time of year here too, as all our honeysuckle is blooming and the lily of the valley, the scent mixed with the smell of the sea is like Heaven. It's a good break from my currently very busy days, hope you are well @eveuncovered

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62796.11
ETH 3045.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85