Weekend FreeWrite: "The Sacrifice"

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

dailyprompt-weekendfreewrite.jpg

This is my first time to join @mariannewest's #weekendfreewrite challenge, and I am hoping it won't be the last. I had fun writing this story! If you would also like to take part in this challenge, please click this link: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-07-07-2018-part-1-the-first-sentence. Begin with the prompt first sentence, then followed by the interference and then end it with the dramatic twist. Each part must be written in 5 minutes, total of 15 minutes for this weekend FreeWrite!

rsz_transparent.png

"The Sacrifice"

We went to a place with years of tradition. My husband was hesitant to go. He is not much of a traveler, and he also doesn't like looking into someone's history or culture. I told him that it was part of me. He wouldn't be able to get to know me, the real me if he wouldn't give this trip a chance.

I wanted him to understand my heritage. The person that I am is because of how I was brought up - that includes my culture, my tradition, my people, my faith.

I'm relieved that he agreed to come. We went to this secluded village where we had to cross 2 rivers and a mountain on foot. There were no modes of transportation. We had to cross a hanging bridge, too. I'm glad that he was with me


Because he never got the chance to change his mind. I already booked a flight to go back to my country. I already applied for a leave of absence for 3 weeks. I already organised everything. I did not want him to think that we were going to waste our money just because he did not want to go. I told him this would be an opportunity for us to be closer together.

There was a "witch doctor" that I wanted to see as well. All the "real doctors" said that there was no way I could get pregnant. So I said to my husband that in my village, it was part of our tradition to dance before a patron saint for seven consecutive nights. That would make anyone who has difficulty conceiving get pregnant miraculously. Apart from that, a witch doctor might also give us help.

"You don't even believe in such things," my husband said countless of times. "Yes, I don't believe in them. I have faith in God," is what I would tell him. But I just showed him how desperate I was. I just told him that so he would agree with me.


'What the hell for?" was the question he'd always ask me why I kept on bugging him to go back to my country with him. I have used so many reasons already, but to him, they're not reasons enough for both of us to go. So I guess I was desperate. I used the "pregnancy" thing as a good-enough reason and the last straw. To my surprise, he said yes. He even gave me money to pay for the tickets and for all the expenses we might have to spend whilst we were there.

So now, we are at this place with years of tradition. What he did not know about me is I am a member of the Amazonian tribe. We are a community of women. Just women! No men are allowed. One of us is sent out to meet men, and then bring the prized man back to the tribe, as a sacrifice to our gods. We are nearing extinction, and we need my husband for our population to grow again.

The End

Image credit: Image Source 1 Image Source 2

rsz_transparent.png

dynamicsteemiansGIF.gif

rsz_11rsz_steembulls.jpg

Steem Bulls
rsz_sgg_footers6.png

rsz_flaminghelpers-7.jpg

itestify1.jpg

Discord banners provided by @dynamicsteemians, @steembulls, @greetersguild, @flaminghelpers, @itestify and @bearone of @teamaustralia.

My recommended witnesses:
@pharesim, @curie, @jackmiller, @steemgigs, @yabapmatt, @quochuy, @reggaemuffin, @blocktrades, @qurator, @hr1, @aggroed, @utopian-io, @ocd-witness, @themarkymark, @arcange, @scottcbusiness, @yehey, @steemitboard, @ausbitbank, @ocd-witness.

You can vote up to 30 witnesses by clicking this link:
https://steemit.com/~witnesses

evlachsblogta.png

Sort:  

Forgot to upvote and comment when I found this blog a couple days ago. Intended to highlight in curation post contest but found that it needed to be a newer one. Will keep checking back.

LOVE this #freewrite. Reminds me of Lemuria days. ;)

Thank you, @angelacs. I appreciate that a lot. I haven't done freewrite lately as I have been focusing on submitting #ulog posts.

I must admit I have no knowledge of Lemuria, so I had to google it. :-)

You're very Welcome, @evlachsblog!

I'm planning to combine the two... I need to do shorter posts anyhow, so five minutes is a great way to get to that, I'm thinking.

The #ulog takes care of the daily posting. @mariannewest's #freewrites are daily, with even special weekend ones.

IF I EVER get to actually starting writing daily #freewrites, I plan to make some #ulogs writing-based... #freewrites.

That's the fun thing about #ulogging... can focus on any part of our day, even if that's the #freewrite we happen to write. ;)

Think it could work?

I think it could work. That would be a great idea. My #ulog posts take over 5 minutes to write though because I tend to give lots of details, whether it's only a fragment of what happened to me during the day.

Excellent freewrite¡

Hi @evlachblog, hope you get what you have wish for. I pray for you 👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66344.62
ETH 3214.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.37