5 Minute Freewrite Challenge Day 333 Visit

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

4d825a7vwc.jpg

I am not a visitor. I live where I am even if it only for one day.

This song came out in 1972 and was on the radio everywhere for years on end. You should listen to it and even get up and dance like me. It's a great song and a great video. The clothes! The hair! The audience! The dancing! This is worth your time on every level.

What man does not look better in a tight pink suit with a girlie tie?

The song is about a kid who lost his dad early and is seeking answers. His mom tells him:

Papa was a rolling stone
Where ever he laid his hat was his home.

I related strongly to this sentiment and I still do.

Ok- I’m not male and I’m not dead, but hang in there with me.

This was one of my theme songs in the 1970’s. I was a runaway for a lot of my teen years, and often was only in a place for one day.

When I heard that lyric, which played everywhere, I would think of myself. I was not trying to stay anywhere, but wherever I was, I treated it like I lived there.

I tried to be respectful of whoever took me in and leave the place as good or better than when I came. Because wherever I laid my (non-existent) hat was my home.

This usually would add up to watching people’s kids or doing the dishes. I liked the dishes idea since it included warm water, you can clean yourself up, and people really are happy if you do their dishes. And most people I was staying with did not have kids.

My post is for the #freewrite daily challenge by @mariannewest. Freewrite is a great way to post on steemit when you do not think you have the time, or talent, or anything to say. I know you can do this too! Here is Marianne’s freewrite prompt post for today. Give it a try and surprise yourself.

steemitmamas.png

nm5dl3062o.jpg

Please start here to kick obesity to the curb:

Set Your Goal for Weight Loss

Anyone can beat obesity if I did. Please ask me and I will help you do it too.

Sort:  

Looks like 1 share isn't a large enough vote for the system to record. Going to need to address this in the next sales round, but want to give you the option of either getting your steem back or adding to your purchase.

Think that a minimum of 3 or 4 shares will be needed to make a vote that counts after all the HF stuff goes into effect. Gave a vote worth at least what you would have gotten if the other votes had posted previously.

OK thank you - so would I need to send an additional 3 steem for each of us? I'm in a fog of all the new things I am doing right now :(

I think that would be enough. But I am also looking into an option to make it so those with 5 or less shares only get 1 larger upvote per week. This will have much more impact on their posts.

It will be even more so once the new 50 vest tax per vote goes into effect with HF20.

Sounds like you had a rough time during your teen years and I am sorry that you had to go through that. I can see why you would relate to that song so well. Love the "non-existent hat."

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 65012.58
ETH 3101.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86