SBI Giveaway Inside! Freewrite Day 352 What does a banana taste like?

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

freewrite What does a banana taste like fitinfun.jpg

A banana tastes like yuck.

I do not like the taste, smell, or texture of bananas at all. But I eat them anyway.

Bananas are rich in vitamins, minerals and fiber, which are nutrients I need in my healthy diet. Bananas are also easily available and very inexpensive; especially here in SE Asia where I live now.

Part of the miracle of how I lost “half my size” with natural methods is the change in my diet. I eat some things I am not fond of for the dietary benefit. I do not eat some things I enjoy, because they will derail my new healthy lifestyle.

When I was obese, I had all kinds of bad habits with food. I ate what I wanted to eat and did not worry much about the health of it. Hance, I was obese and out of control.

Now, I think of food as fuel. I normally eat delicious food I enjoy, but sometimes I have to just “eat it anyway.” I try not to eat anything that does not have some kind of benefit for my health. I work to include a variety of foods that do help me stay healthy, even if they are not my favorite thing.

There is a phrase that “nothing tastes as good as being thin feels.” I turn that around to say, “nothing that keeps me thin tastes that bad.”

I am nobodies gourmet and I never will be. But I am thin now and I want to keep it that way. No food is too yucky for me to eat if it helps me. And nothing tastes that good if it will make me sick and fat again.

SBI Giveaway

How about you? Do you eat things you know are good for you even though you don’t like them? I would really like to know this information.

The most two most interesting comments for this post will each get a share of @steembasicincome at about the time of payout, so please give my your input.

My post is for the #freewrite daily challenge by @mariannewest. Freewrite is a great way to post on steemit when you do not think you have the time, or talent, or anything to say. I know you can do this too! Here is Marianne’s freewrite prompt post for today. Give it a try and surprise yourself.

And Steemiteducation is the place for you to tell us what you know.

oh3ta6jat7.png

If you do not think you can ever lose weight, I am here to help you. I want to hear your story and tell you mine.
039lew8cd0.jpg

Sort:  

Thinking back, not much I have never tried, very little I really detested, but sago pudding has to hit the top of my short list, of things I really find awful!

As children we called it frog eyes pudding, had to eat what was served but yuck that stuff has little value to man or beast, so a big no-no in my book!

Sago does not offer any significant quantity of vitamins or minerals. As a starch, the health benefits of sago come primarily from carbohydrates. This carbohydrate content allows sago to function as a staple food in several regions of the world. Sago is also low in fat and has no protein.

Really, as a child their is no way out without eating.

:)

It is popular over here in South Africa as a pudding, all four of us children bulked at the thought of ever eating it again, ended up never served up again....

I love sago pudding! But only the way my grandmother made it. Some other versions evoked the same response from me. I wonder if anyone else reading here knows what sago pudding is...

The texture, the look was enough to take to the hills and run. Have always avoided eating it since.

Ouma's of yesteryear may have made it quite tasty, most probably kept it as a good backup since it was dry and able to store away in a panty.

I totally agree, the look of it was horrible to say the least and we called it 'Frogs Eyes' too, shows how universal things can be. I didn't find the taste too bad, but they say you 'eat with your eyes' and literally this did make it offputting.

Agree on giving it a universal name, never bothered trying it ever again.

My girlfriend saw this segment on Dr. Oz that Elderberry Juice was a great deterrent during flu season. So everytime I sneeze during the months of November, December, January, and February, Debbie runs up to me with a bottle of EJ and makes me take a big swig. I detest Elderberry juice but take it because Debbie and Dr. Oz say it's good from me.

That's so funny! I have been reading about this juice in groups recently. No one seems to like it. What does it taste like?

Maybe a mixture of blackberry and pomegranate juices. Kinda sour.

I would probably like that. I guess sweetener is out of the question. I am pretty sure I'm seeing this in my arthritis groups. Now I will pay more attention.

Love sour and savoury, that would suit me fine!

Hmm. Let me think. I was taking sharkliver oil for a long time and I hated it. But it really helped me to get rid of arthritic pain I had as a side and after effect of Chemo.
Right now, I take vitamins and stuff whenever I remember. I hate taking pills and it is a big deal for me to swallow the bigger ones. So, there is that.
Otherwise, there is so much good food that I try to find things that are good for me and I also like. And, if you keep eating stuff, suddenly you like it :) All just takes a bit to get used to it...

Well that last part is so true. My tastes have really changed. I like so many things I did not. And I I do not like things I used to eat a lot.

But bananas - still yuck!

I'm with you on this pills too. I try to find powders or alternatives for all of them if I can.

I will see about finding sharkliver oil here. I will try anything for this dumb pain. Thank you so much @mariannewest!

Hmm, this is a question worth giving some thought to. I would say pig blood curd. 😂😂😂 not sure if many know what this is, it's also known as blood pudding or blood tofu, you'll find it in many Chinese stalls that serve dishes that include innards. It is believed to be very nourishing as it is nutrient packed, and truth be told it's not as yucky as it sounds, it actually does taste like beancurd when you eat it with your eyes closed 🙈 I think I may not know the difference lol! Maybe it's the mental image that makes me find it repulsive. I will eat it but I won't be the one ordering it.

Everyone have some favorite food and un-favorite one too. Nice example.

Banana blood curd, yum yum

How about you? Do you eat things you know are good for you even though you don’t like them?

For me I hated carrots because it doesn't have any taste when I was young . But now since I grew up and an adult. I just wanted to eat healthy and try to lose weight since I am also chubby . :) So now I am trying to eat carrots and other vegetables that is raw and try to make it as a delicious salad. I know it might sound delicious but we need to take care of our health because health is wealth . :) This is my answer for your questions @fitinfun :) Thanks . :)

I'm not too good with fish. So once I was on a date with this lovely girl. She told me how fish was her favourite meal. So I took her to the fish markets once. I myself don't do too well with fish. But the fish markets had a restaurant next to it, with fresh fish of course. Anyway, long story short. To impress her I had Salmon, which to most people is a lovely delicacy. To me? Well I managed to hold most of it in while I retreated to the bathroom. On the way I vomited on the waitress who was serving us. Needless to say. I gave her a massive tip...

Oh no! Ar you allergic, or do you just hate it? And what happened with the date? Did you ever see her again?

Not allergic it just doesn't seem to sit well. The date carried on, but the I felt like I'd let the relationship slowly fade.

Hey, imagine the scene hahahaha.
What you do love, well your @eightamstories dirias what you try to swallow to conquer love. Vote here!

Oh common you need to have strong mind if you want to try something new to adopt. After accepting you should not leave it. please carry forward.

Bananas are the worst-tasting things I can think of. I have to spit when I get a taste of one. No, I don't eat foods that are good for me and taste bad, and there are many of them. I try to eat those healthy foods that taste good. I also can't live without onions, garlic and spices.

Hi @fitinfun I am @ jurich am interested how you manage your weight loss...

Posted using Partiko Android

I don't like bananas too. I eat them because they are good for me, but it would not be the first fruit I reach out for... or the second.... or the third haha
The one thing I make an effort to do is drink lots of water. I'm like a camel and can go a whole day without water. And I have small bladder. So when I do drink water, I forever need to go. And you know traffic in KL... you don't want to be stuck in one needing the loo....

Here's a prompt that you will definitely like more than bananas

Here it is:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-353-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-muscle

There’s some fun as well as rewards waiting for you, so please do head on over to the
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

When I was young, I don't like carrot and pumpkin. I don't really eat them. But then because they are rich in Vitamin A. And Vitamin A is good for my eyes... So I told myself, eating carrots and pumpkin are for my eyes... I kinda like hypnotize myself to eat carrot and pumpkin. And it works. I like eating carrots and pumpkin now...

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11