Tremble | Lola Part 35 | 5 minute freewrite ~ Prompt: wet

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Part 34

Bryon stood up and pushed in his chair “Sorry, Gloria,” he said. “I’m going to have to be heading out. Would you like me to wash my mug before I go?” he offered.

“Oh you!” Gloria swatted the air. “Don’t be silly. But I tell you what, any time you need some company, you come right over. I know how bachelors live…” she said shaking her head with a laugh.

“Well, I might just take you up on that,” he said. He turned towards Lola, gave her a wink and walked out of the room.


The door closed quietly behind him.

Lola sat, frozen in her seat, her fingers shook as tried to brace herself to stand.

“Lola, sweetie, can you grab that? My hands are all wet from these dishes.” Gloria called from the kitchen.

She noticed now that the house phone was ringing, but by the time she made her way over it stopped.

“Oh well,” Gloria said. “If it’s important they’ll call back. Are you feeling okay? You’re as white as sheet!” She dried her hands, and felt Lola’s forehead. “Well, you’re cool enough.” She held both of her cheeks in her hand and looked back and forth between her eyes.

Lola held her breath. She wanted so badly to tell her mom everything, but would she believe her? Or worse, would this put her in danger too?

“I think it might just be a touch of morning sickness again,” Lola said.

“Oh shoot, you’d been having such good luck with it,” she said. “I’ll tell you what, you go lay down, put your feet up, and I’ll bring you a nice cup of tea.”

Lola nodded then turned to head down the hallway to her bedroom. Tommy poked his head out of his door as she past.

“Is he gone?” he asked, worry on his young face.

“Yes,” she said. “But he knows,” her voice trembled. “He knows that Kyle was trying to tell us something.”

📃A special note to the readers📃


Thank you so much for reading! Sorry this one was a bit shorter!
Please check out the Story Club @canadianrenegade has started in the comment section of the posts! She has some great, engaging questions!

If you would like to start from the beginning to see a fuller picture, I've linked all the parts below! And thank you to all my readers! @freedompoint, @cecicastor, @dreemsteem, @bennettitalia, @thefarmerswife, @thegreatdayne, @scribblingramma, @whatisnew, @quirky.countess, @angelacs, @canadianrenegade, @enginewitty, @wordymouth, and @mizdais!

If you would like to be added to the list (or taken off) please let me know in the comments!

Part 1

Part 2

Part 3

Part 4

Part 5

Part 6

Part 7

Part 8

Part 9

Part 10

Part 11

Part 12

Part 13

Part 14

Part 15

Part 16

Part 17

Part 18

Part 19

Part 20

Part 21

Part 22

Part 23

Part 24

Part 25

Part 26

Part 27

Part 28

Part 29

Part 30

Part 31

Part 32

Part 33

Part 34


If you are interested in trying a freewrite (which I highly recommend) check out @mariannewest or visit https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-230-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-wet

"You have to make the prompts work for you." ~@borrowedearth*

Sort:  

Get your post resteemed to 72,000 followers. Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a

You are teasing again (or still)! Byron is guilty of something...

Haha...hopefully the next part will get us closer!

Haha I love your support!

There's that darn phone again. I wonder if this is a trend...

Story Club - Everyone's Invited

Are you enjoying @freedomtowrite's story as much as I am? I always find myself wondering where Lola's adventure will take her next and I am curious if you are too. I wanted to invite you to Story Club where we can share our thoughts on each new part and reflect on where the story began. With @freedomtowrite's permission, I will be posing a few questions after each new part in the hopes of sparking some lively discussion. Are you in?

Part 35 Questions

  1. Lola is obviously going to needs some back up. Do you think she'll eventually turn to her parents for help?

  2. Why do you think Bryon was so quick to reveal his true colours?

If you've found yourself tagged it's because you're a regular reader, but if you want to be removed from these question, feel free to let me know: @freedompoint, @cecicastor, @dreemsteem, @bennettitalia, @thefarmerswife, @thegreatdayne, @scribblingramma, @whatisnew, @quirky.countess, @angelacs, @enginewitty @wordymouth, and @mizdais

Cheers, Aimee

Q1: Nope, she won't. I don't think she would want to get them involved yet until she has a clear picture of what's going on

Q2: He obviously needs something, I just hope he has nothing on Lola that he can use against her because he sounds devious.

I think you're on to something...
-Aimee

Lol

I worried it wasn't long enough for questions! Thank you!

Are you kidding. My brain is in perpetual motion reading this story. Like you said, it's an ocean of possibilities. 😉 -Aimee

Haha you're right! I'm so thankful you've come along side me with this!

My thoughts on part 35

  1. Lola is obviously going to nee some back up. Do you think she'll eventually turn to her parents for help?

    I think Lola will keep her parents out of the loop for as long as she can but considering Gloria's intuition (with the exception of Bryon) and the fact that her dad is a detective, I suspect they'll figure out something is going on even before Lola is ready to fess up. Hmmm... I wonder when Lola's dad is going to make an appearance.

  2. Why do you think Bryon was so quick to reveal his true colours?

    What ever Bryon is after, he must be desperate to get it which is why I think he switch from charm to chump real quick. He must have either picked up that Lola wasn't falling for his act or that someone tipped her off about him. Either way it seems like this creep is hunkering down for the long haul.

Cheers, Aimee

Don't forget to leave your thoughts in the comments below!

Tommy should go be a spy, like since he just a kid for the most part, kick the can down the street or smack a baseball through Bryon's window. Then he (they) could get a better look. And burn him alive in his bed. Lol

Hmmmmm those are good ideas! Except maybe burning him alive....hahaha

Such mystery! When does this get a book cover and a publisher? ;-)

Today, our prompt mistress has given us a new one that focuses on the word cherry. Feel up to the challenge? Here is the prompt: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-231-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-cherry

I'm waiting for the next part, I really wanna see what this Bryon knows and wants...

Hopefully the next part will come with more answers!

If you haven't seen yet...I posted Stranded Part 4!

Yes I saw it, I was too tired to read it last night. I will check it out now. Good morning

Oh good! I just wanted to make sure since I haven't started tagging anyone in it. 😀

I'm still not 100% sure who the good guy is....

I love that you're still guessing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89