Freewrite Selfie Contest - It's All Over Now

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

steem size (13).png

It's All Over Now

Just kidding!! I truly hope that all of you are going to stay active with the Freewrite House and participate in future contests. Of course, we also want you to come and check out the digest posts we are doing - and who knows what else will pop up in the future.

I also want to remind you to let me know if I can use your selfie pictures and one or two of your freewrites for future "Remember" videos like this one with @ntowl's selfies.

Screen Shot 2018-07-02 at 7.49.44 AM.png

Click on the graphics to see and hear a Freewrite Selfie Journey!

  • If you don't want to read your own story, you can give me permission to have me or someone else read it.
  • If you do, save it as mp3, wav, or AIFF
  • If you don't have a recording and editing software and like to use one, Audacity is a free program you can download.
  • You can send a file either via Discord - my discord name is mariannewest
  • or via email: [email protected]

party.png

This is also a good time - I think - to ask if you like to get more involved with the freewrite community. There are many ways to do this - from freewrite encourager to giving a delegation, sponsoring a contest, writing posts for the Freewrite House and more.

Of course, visiting, voting and sharing our posts is HUGE

party.png

A Question

How did you like the format of the contest? Would you have dropped out earlier if there wasn't an ending date? Should I have been stricter in eliminating people who didn't 100% follow the rules?

Feedback is highly appreciated.

party.png

Our Last Selfie Day

Selfies are in no particular order

IMG_20180702_233003.jpg

test test.gif

chips.jpg

cornchip.jpg

squirrel_chocolate_chips.jpg

WIN_20180702_12_53_24_Pro.jpg

IMG_6130.jpg

IMG_20180702_182848.jpg

50-Selfie.jpg

chips-1.jpg

QmZENswzhqayrsDaRkNZcXHhDHwCJEGBbprYyg4MfEztXL.jpeg

20180702_175701.jpg

IMG_20180703_153837.jpg

20180702_160141.jpg

IMG_20180703_072604.jpg

7rApkuU.jpg

PSX_20180702_202739.jpg

chipsandme.png

50-cookies-selfie.jpg

IMG_0371.jpg

party.png

Payout

We ended up with 115 SBD total payout and 20 players. This came to 5.75 SBD per person.

Those who chose SBD should have the winnings in their wallets.

Screen Shot 2018-07-03 at 10.23.06 AM.png

If you chose SBI, I rounded it to 6 shares per person since the Freewrite House will also benefit. I thought that was fair.
The Steem is sent to Steem Basic Income and you should see that reflected in a few days. I think Joseph is about 3 days behind.
You can increase your payout significantly if you put @steembasicincome on your auto voter.

Screen Shot 2018-07-03 at 10.22.53 AM.png

Proof of transfer

Screen Shot 2018-07-03 at 9.19.24 AM.png

Thank you so much for being part of this fun adventure! Much love to you all!!!

Join us at the Isle of Write in the freewriter - retreat

IOW COLOR MAP.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

Join the Freewrite daily prompt

freewrite-2-350.png

Sort:  

Screenshot (15).png

I wanted to give out more but steemit hit a low point during this contest. Thanks for having this contest.

Thank you so much!!! You were so supportive from the very beginning!! And what a sweet surprise!!! Let's keep on freewriting!!

Thank you so much brother ,you are the best 🙂🙂☺️☺️☺️☺️🤩😘

What!? AW, Thanks Tristan!

:) I had in my calendar that we were going to play magic yesterday? I think we never settled on details.

You are too kind. Thank you so much 😊

Screenshot (18).png

I was able to help out a few more of you. If you are one of the ones I didn't get, it is because I don't know if you are going to stick around on steemit. If you are one of the ones I didn't get but are going to stay on steemit, let me know and when I have something next time, I may think of you.

Peace and thanks again to all.

That is such a nice thing to do!!! Thank you so much!! That is the stuff community is made from!!!

Congratulations to everybody! It's been a long way to the end...I missed a day after two weeks and I was out, but it was funny!

Unfortunately, I can't be every day on Steemit, so contests like this are not for me.

You can use my selfies and any of my freewrites, only don't count on me for reading them, because I would sound like a drunk Mario Bros with my heavy Italian accent :D

I'm losing a lot of Freewritehouse community initiatives, because I've no time for reading. This thing makes me really sad, because there's a lot of awesome people here, and I can't pay them the attention they deserve.

Time to post my weekly freewrite and doing some encouragement now!

Ciao!

It was so much fun to have your selfies!! And thank you so much for allowing us to use them - and btw. we love drunk mario brothers with Italian accents LOL.

Thank you so much for still doing the freewrite encouraging even though you have so little time. Let's hope that Steemit is going up some day and we all can vote for you so you can quit one of your jobs and spend more time writing.
You are so good!!!

I can only imagine, me with flexy work hours and fantastic boss, find it a challenge so kudos to you.
Will look out for your encouragers and free writes 😊

It was bittersweet to say the least. And I am so glad I got to the end. I joined the challenge to get into the habit of writing everyday. Did I like the selfies? not at first, but I got around to not minding, and then actually enjoying creating selfies to go with the story. Sometimes, I spent more time on the selfies than the free writes.
Q1 - The format of the contest worked for me. A story with a picture to go with it. It was easy enough.
Q2: With no end in sight, it would have been easier to give in to Life and its challenges. So I am glad there was one, so I could see me getting closer every single day.
Q3: I think it was the perfect balance. If you were too lax with the rules, it would have been tough for you to decide which ones were ok and which ones were not and even than I would say, you weren't overly rigid having reminded some of the players that they had forgotten to add the selfie, etc. For me, if you were lax, I would have been lax and I may not have been the only one, and then if you wanted to manage the challenge so it wasn't getting out of hand, would have been harder. I think you did great.

I said some time back while I was travelling, that I would like to help out and that's still a yes. Let me know how I can help, and I'm in.
Also, I will be more than happy to record some of the stories and work on the video (it is my dream to produce short films and sounds like this is a good place to start... haha)
Thank you so much for this challenge. I had a blast 😊

Yay on everything!!!

If you like to be a freewrite encourager - it would be great if you could join the Isle of Write discord. We have a private room there for the crew :) there is also a spreadsheet you can figure out which day works for you.
Basically, the Friday prompt is delivered to the people who wrote on Thursday. The encouragers read the freewrite, say something about it and leave a link to the new prompt and to whatever is going on at the freewrite house. right now, nobody but me is doing Saturday and Sunday. Which would be your Sunday and Monday respectively since you are almost 24 hours ahead of me - almost LOL

Or, if you want to take on something at the freewrite house, that would be great too. I am going to publish a post either tomorrow or the day after with some ideas what people could do...

As to the video - that will be fantastic!!

OK, will join the discord now 😊

I wanted to post my final selfie since i had tried yesterday and was having issues- I had contacted @marianwest and waited and tried for a while. This has been super fun and i'm glad I started to come out of my shell and get over my fear of selfies - thank you all for that :)

I have been playing some poker here, just silly house games with friends and since we don't have chips we use cash. This is me with a pile of 300k rupiah, really cleaned house and turned a tidy 14 dollar profit . (Well I gave my friend back his money twice so we could keep playing
and last night everyone besides me went broke at some point and we just kept giving them some money. So, yeah I'd like a little credit for being the only one in the house to not go broke ;)

Me too. I have overcome the fear of selfie. High-5!!!

YAY!! high 5 back <3

Phew!! And you made it. It's nice to see that pretty face with that pretty smile
I too am a little more comfortable with the selfies... I have been practicing secretly, and maybe will come to the point of posting those selfies haha
But having said that, I have no problem vlogging... yes I am peculiar like that..
See you around the FreeWriteHouse 😊

Yay!! Got your selfie!! going to put it in with the others now. And I am so glad that you came out of your shell. So much fun to get to know you more and we shall have many San Diego meetups after you come back :)

Congratulations to all winners. Yay!

Thank you @freewritehouse for this contest. I love the format and would not drop out earlier at all. And I don't think you need to be even stricter on the elimination. What you did was good and good enough. :)

I don't mind you to use my selfies and freewrites for the "remember" video. And yes going to check out the audacity. If I'm going to read our the freewrites, how many should I read? Do I do one video file for one freewrite? Or one video file for few freewrites combined?

Lastly, thank you for the prize. And what is auto vote? Means I go Steemauto and set to follow @steembasicincome?

Ops so many questions above. Geee

@ntowl red 2 and that pretty much covered her video - but she dropped out after 20 or 25 days. If you do the video yourself - putting all the pictures together, you could just read as many as fit :)

Audacity is an audio file and if I put them together, I import everything into iMovie. You can download it from that program in different formats. Mp3 is one of them.

autovote - yes. steemauto or any of the other auto vote services. I would do 100 %. If I am not mistaken, that doubles your shares - at least increases it a lot...

How did you like the format of the contest? Would you have dropped out earlier if there wasn't an ending date? Should I have been stricter in eliminating people who didn't 100% follow the rules?

  • I liked the format of the contest, though I hate taking/posting selfies of myself (and I know eliminating that would have defeated the purpose). I would have preferred a contest that wasn't selfie-focused, but I liked the rest of it, which is why I participated.
  • Definitely would have dropped out sooner, simply because I know that there were a couple of participants that weren't ever going to drop out, because they were already dedicated enough to have written 100+ freewrites prior to this. It wouldn't have been winnable and I wouldn't have had the energy to try.
  • Naw, I think it would have been better to eliminate people as little as possible, since it was all just for fun. It wasn't like we were competing for a million STEEM with no end date.

Thank you. One of the reasons I was setting an end date - besides my own sanity and not wanting to do a selfie contest post for 500days :) - was that there are a couple who would have been the sure winners... and that would take the fun out of it, I think...

Sis , you know I always wanted to tell you something..heheheh 😋😋😋

You remind me of Katy Perry , no now Katy Perry , like her old days like when she first came , I don't know if it's your bangs or what..hahah I always wanted to say , I couldn't hehe

😘😘

Congratulations to all the survivors. I think if there was no ending date, there should be stricter rules to quicken the eliminations. I don't know how long I could have gone past 50 days, with some of the harder prompts.

And, you can use any or all of my photos or stories, if need be. 😘

Congratulations and excellent job done to all of you who win and stay till the end!! :D

clap clap clap

Amazing, right? People were dealing with all kinds of things... and still stuck with it.

Hey @happycrazycon... thank you
You should definitely take part in the next one 😊

How did you like the format of the contest? Would you have dropped out earlier if there wasn't an ending date? Should I have been stricter in eliminating people who didn't 100% follow the rules?

  1. I really liked the format of the contest. I liked how it was all arranged. Plus this contest came at the right time. The whole SBD price going so down and all. Cause I feel like that would have made me stop posting completely , plus I was in a middle of many exams and alot of problems , so this contest helped me stay sane , like really.

  2. Yeah , I think so . Having an end date really made me do this. Being all like..yes soon . Hehe that anticipation.

  3. Hm , idk . I feel you have been strict sis . But then again. I feel like we all became more close and there came a point where even though I know everyone wanted to win , we all started caring about others . Haha , so I would say this was just perfect.

Again I would like to thank you guys for this.

Just a sad day for me haha , if you have time , you can read my post. I wrote Freewrite at the end part.

https://steemit.com/teardrops/@ashley4u/is-my-tears-worth-something-real-feelings-freewrite-prompt-state

I am so glad that this contest was able to help you to keep your mind off the heavy things in your life. And I do feel that we all grew closer through this...

☺️☺️☺️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29