Poetry Digest - Edition Twenty-Five

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

poetry Digest.jpg

Poetry Digest - Edition Twenty-Five

Welcome back to the Poetry Digest
brought to you by @wandrnrose7.
We've reached a milestone to hit 25 digests! My, have we grown in our numbers and, I must say, in our quality of poetry. Many of our freewriters are frequent poetry contributors and we welcome you back each and every digest. We also love to see new faces in both the English and Spanish writing community. As the digest grows, it becomes harder to pick just a few selections; there is so much wonderful poetry out there by our Freewriters! Whether at your first poem or your hundredth poem, we hope that you will tag the digest for an opportunity to be included in the next addition. Please remember to use our prompts and to include a link to the prompt that you used.

Do not forget to participate in the Recommend Your Favorite #freewrite Poetry hosted weekly @freewritehouse for an opportunity to win upvotes by us and one of two SBI memberships sponsored by @curie!

Now onto this week's curation!

poetry_digest.png

@wonderwop brings a recommendation of poetry written by @rensoul17 using prompt not smart:

Screen Shot 2018-10-14 at 2.52.38 PM.png

I ran across this beautiful piece by @rensoul17 on the prompt not smart. If this poem doesn't make you stronger after you read, I'll refund your upvote. It was like I was reading a diary of my life, written by someone else. I believe everyone will see a little piece of themselves, in this writing. Please take the time to read

poetry_digest.png

@iamjadeline shares a poem by @kaerpediem prompted muscle.

Screen Shot 2018-10-14 at 2.51.50 PM.png

This is my first time reading a superb poem from a brain which is totally funked up. Imagine if the brain is not funked up what sort of poem will come out. I enjoy reading it, so synchronised the rhyming and rhythm, and I seriously think a rapper can use them for lyric or even a songwriter can compose some song out of it. The title will be "all funked up!" You should check it out, all funky punky. I can actually hear the rapping coming in. Haha

poetry_digest.png

@kaerpediem recommends a poem by @aislingcronin using prompt freedom.:

Freedom is such a tricky word and subjective. And even though it is an individual experience, it is a collective achievement. So to take the simple things in life, the things that some of us take for granted, to cherish it, we may actually feel the weight off more often. And I like the last line in this poem by @aislingcronin which you can read right here:

Screen Shot 2018-10-14 at 2.51.06 PM.png

poetry_digest.png

@improv brings us poetry written by @stinawog using prompt orange blossom.

Heck yeah.

I'm recommending @stinawog's

Screen Shot 2018-10-14 at 2.50.30 PM.png

It feels so true, like a legend that just might be. Maybe it is. Yeti tree sounds like a myth, but stranger things exist in nature. Regardless, it feels like the fable told and then transformed into a metaphor for everyone and for the here and now. I'm so dang proud of @stinawog (did I mention she's my wife?)

poetry_digest.png

@joeylim nails personal power in this stream of conciousness poem touching on the universal topic of daring to say no.

This excerpt describes the dilemma so well:

It left me silently smouldering inside,
all the requests I thought I had no choice
but to say yes though
I felt burnt out
like a heap of ashes,
left in the open
long after the fire has died.

If you, too, struggle with the demands of requests on your time read:
Screen Shot 2018-10-14 at 2.49.38 PM.png

poetry_digest.png

Have you ever been able to experience the change of seasons from summer to fall? @seifiro crafts a sensory laden poem using the prompt which captures the season well, well being.

Screen Shot 2018-10-14 at 2.49.03 PM.png

poetry_digest.png

Let's welcome @johnrel to the freewrite community! This is his first freewrite and he brings us a musical poem prompted by personal power.
Screen Shot 2018-10-14 at 2.48.22 PM.png
Screen Shot 2018-10-14 at 2.49.03 PM.png

poetry_digest.png

From our Spanish freewriters
@oscarina shares a very heart touching poem about her grandmother using the prompt orange blossom. This poem really made​ me feel her emotions!

Screen Shot 2018-10-14 at 2.47.45 PM.png

Google Translate:

AS A BLOSSOM FLOWER

Memories come to me
of your white skin
and your fresh scent,
what a flower of orange blossom.
This was your presence
simple, sweet and delicate
leaving your wake
where will you go ...
Your tender voice and company
they calmed fears
and you gave it calm,
to this life of mine ...
And now that you're not
my dear grandmother,
this orange blossom
bring me back
those feelings
and sweet memories ...

poetry_digest.png

This poem by Spanish freewriter @jakim has deep insight into reflections of time using the prompt muscle.
Read on for your poetic enjoyment!

Screen Shot 2018-10-14 at 2.47.11 PM.png

Google Translate:

Poetic Musing on Time

I am the time, master and master
of your sorrows, looks, joys, successes
and failures, immeasurable
to your understanding, tyrant maybe...

!!! Deadly !!! You have a perception
of my wrong caresses,
I exist for you while you are
I live and dream, but I do not exist
for those who die and
they are awake, abstracted...

I will be trapped inside you
by cycles of cycles,
abstráete of me, and you will see
worlds that you can not imagine
they exist inside you...

Break the chains that bind
your ephemeral existence to the fist
of my caresses, get rid of me
dying to the outside world,
empty the cup of your interior, and
you will free me from eternity,
of Karma and the Dharma...

Exercise your inner muscle
and you will have me on my knees
at your feet, I the lord of
then I will be a
blade of straw in the wind,
and duality will die to
my side, you will be
free and you'll come back
to the immensity
of the
O
R
D
I
N
A
R
Y

poetry_digest.png

I hope you enjoyed these poems. If the poem is past payout, please find a recent post to share a vote and comment to support these lovely poets!

A vote on an expired post does go back to the reward pool and has no benefit to you or the author.

expired post.png


Please tag us with #freewritepoetrydigest or #freewritepoetry so that we can find your work!! And if you see a piece of freewrite poetry of a fellow freewriter which really speaks to you, leave us a link in the comments - or better yet, save the link and enter it in the Friday Recommend a Freewrite Poem contest.

Happy poetic writing!

Poetry.png

Remember to recommend a fellow Freewrite Poet and Win SBI

Every Week, we have a recommend a Freewrite Poem contest at the Freewrite House. All you need to do is keep track of your favorite Freewrite poets and leave a comment with at least 50 words telling us about the poem.

We have a random drawing for SBI membership(s) - depending on how many sponsors we have - and also for several 100% upvotes.

Your comment always gets a 20% upvote - you win and win and win by participating!!

Poetry.png

We Welcome Sponsors for our Contests!!!

  • Please consider sponsoring one of our contests. We so much appreciate this and so do all the Freewriters. If you sponsor SBI - you know that you also benefit.
  • Or you can send us Steem or SBD with instructions how you would like it to be used - or leave it up to us.
  • Your name will be mentioned in many of our posts and in the Daily Prompt.
  • Our collective gratefulness will follow you around 😂

Ol53yrO.png

Make sure to participate in all the fun events at the Freewrite House

Regular Features

  • Adopt Me
  • Recommend your Favorite Freewrite and Win SBI - Tuesday
  • We-Write and win SBI - Every other Wednesday
  • Freewrite Favorites - Thursday
  • Recommend your Favorite Freewrite Poem - and Win SBI - Tuesday
  • Over 20 Club - Saturday
  • Poetry Digest - Sunday

Ol53yrO.png

Join the Freewrite daily prompt

freewrite-2-350.png

And join us at the Isle of Write in the freewriter - retreat

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

Sort:  

Thank you for featuring my first freewrite...

Thank you so much for the shout out @iamjadeline, @wandrnrose7 and @freewritehouse
I think I am kinda happy with this one though it took a little longer than 5 minutes
It also helped me start my journey out of the funk
I understand when they say, sometimes you just need to release it :D

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 20 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 9 SBD worth and should receive 138 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Thank you so much! And that would be wonderful!!!

Another week of great selections. Great job everyone. 👏

Complacida y agradecida con @freewritehouse y todas sus iniciativas, que nos motivan y ayudan a desarrollar la escrita; para mi ha sido una verdadera escuela... Un honor formar parte de este compendio, junto a poetas que admiro y respeto como @jakim7 y @seifiro

Muchas gracias, me siento honrado y agradecido de formar parte de esta gran Familia de excelentes escritores como lo es @freewritehouse , muy contento tambien de compartir con mis colegas Freewriters en Español
@oscarina y @seifiro sus excelentes trabajos en pro de la poesía los cuales disfruto mucho leerlos, asi como al resto de la comunidad, muchas gracias por tan excelentes y motivadoras iniciativas...Bendiciones para todos...

Muchas gracias por tus palabras, amigo.

For me these words are a honor! <3

Hello @freewritehouse, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66344.62
ETH 3214.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.37