Poetry Digest - Edition Twenty-One

in #freewrite6 years ago

poetry Digest.jpg

Poetry Digest - Edition Twenty-One

Welcome to our newest collection of original freewrite poetry brought to you by @wandrnrose7! It is very apparent that we have many unrecognized poets producing exceptional poetry using just a five-minute prompt. We read of love, joy, sorrow, and hope. All recommendations are read! If your poem has not yet been selected, keep reading and writing, it may be included in a future edition.

Remember the weekly Recommend Freewrite Poetry Contest​ posted midweek under @freewritehouse!

You tell us about your favorite Freewrite Poem for a chance to win a Membership in Steem Basic Income.

2x1 SBI winners per contest
2 x 100% upvote from @freewritehouse**
Thank you @curie for sponsoring the SBI prizes!

With the influx of poem submissions we ask that going forward all poems submitted for consideration of the weekly digest include a link with the freewrite prompt inspiring the poem (English or Spanish) in the post in addition to tagging with at least one of the prompts. Many poets are using the tags #freewritehousepoetry and/or #freewritepoetry but only poems utilizing a prompt from the daily or weekend freewrite prompts from @marianewest or @latino.romano will be selected for the weekly digest.

And now on to today's highlights!

poetry_digest.png

@pixiehunter

@whatisnew brings her poetry digest recommendation this week:
@pixiehunter perfectly describes how most of us feel about alarm clocks in her cute poem. It is a wonder how our alarm clocks still work with the beating we give them every day. And it makes me wonder how many times people smack that snooze button until they finally get out of bed. Share the love with a read.

Screen Shot 2018-09-16 at 10.05.50 AM.png

poetry_digest.png

@larriparra

@saulos brings a wonderful poem to our collection:

This time I would like to recommend @larriparra with a poem that he does not catalog in that way, but it has enough elements to be called poem, he writes it in prose, but it has rhyme, he would only need to accommodate it . In addition, his words are reiterative as if he wants to convince the recipient of his verses, I think he has enough quality to be taken into account.

Screen Shot 2018-09-16 at 10.21.32 AM.png

poetry_digest.png

@whatisnew

wonderwop brings a very cute poem to us:

Screen Shot 2018-09-16 at 10.08.22 AM.png

I found this cute little poem by our resident kitty cat, @whatisnewon the prompt describe a clock. She brings to our attention that no matter what design of the clock, it's just there to give us the time. Whether for an appointment or a flight, a date or just to wake us up, at the end of the day, she chooses what to do with her time. I also like the design of her clock.

poetry_digest.png

@arzkyu97

From solid to liquid ... Spanish Freewrite N ° 114
arzkyu97 (49) in freewrite • 3 days ago
Until now I felt that all my emotions were solid, I could not believe that he was really leaving and he was thinking of leaving us alone. I felt a complete madness and tried to show my greatest indifference. As if I will not care!

But really the subject brought me badly since a week ago since he told us about his plans to leave the country in search of new landscapes. I could not believe it, I thought to leave!

In spite of everything, I tried to separate my emotions and accompany her and help her with everything she needed, getting the tickets, ordering suitcases and all the paperwork I needed, but I did not want her to leave even though I knew it was necessary.

From our Spanish writer @arzkyu97 using prompt solid to liquid comes a heartbreaking poem of leaving.

Screen Shot 2018-09-16 at 10.10.21 AM.png

Google Translate

From Solid To Liquid

Until now I felt that all my emotions were solid, I could not believe that he was really leaving and he was thinking of leaving us alone. I felt a complete madness and tried to show my greatest indifference. As if I will not care!

But really the subject brought me badly since a week ago since he told us about his plans to leave the country in search of new landscapes. I could not believe it, I thought to leave!

In spite of everything, I tried to separate my emotions and accompany her and help her with everything she needed, getting the tickets, ordering suitcases and all the paperwork I needed, but I did not want her to leave even though I knew it was necessary.

When the long awaited day arrived for her and the most desperate for me, I had to accompany her to the airport, I could not let her go like that without needing to say goodbye and tell her how much I appreciated her.

When I embraced her, and I realized that many years would pass without being able to do it, without seeing her, without listening to her laughter and complaining about her, I understood my true feelings. Those that I thought were hard as stone, they were becoming liquid and had become a river that came down my eyes and filled my face with tears.

"Take care and do well" -I said and with a smile for now we said goodbye.

poetry_digest.png

@larrayparra

@larrayparra of the Spanish freewrite community using prompt describe a clock uses the prompt very effectively while pondering a love that no longer feels like love is and explains how time invested reveals the heart of one he must let go and move on from. The strong emotions are well conveyed using this method.
Screen Shot 2018-09-16 at 10.06.36 AM.png

Google Translate

Describe a Clock

I want to express at this moment everything I feel.
Years trying to build when you just wanted to destroy.
I mean all the time, wasted in this love.
I can describe my watch and much the time I invested in your love.
Describe your watch and you will see that there is no time for me.
In the same way I explain to you that I have no reason to follow this love anymore.
I leave, I retire, I do not care about your destiny, I go to other roads where I can be calmer.
Do not try to search me, since I just want your forgetfulness, do not try to search for your life I retire.
Describe your watch and you will only find lost time. Describe your watch and you will only find oblivion.
Do not look for me, I just want your oblivion, I will describe my watch and find reasons to follow
looking in another love, what I do not achieve with you.
I leave, I retire to where my destiny takes me, the only thing that I want is not to continue more with you. I only want to look for a way and a clock in my heart.

poetry_digest.png

I hope you enjoyed these poems. If the poem is past payout, please find a recent post to share a vote and comment to support these lovely poets!

A vote on an expired post does go back to the reward pool and has no benefit to you or the author.

expired post.png


Please tag us with #freewritepoetrydigest or #freewritepoetry so that we can find your work!! And if you see a piece of freewrite poetry of a fellow freewriter which really speaks to you, leave us a link in the comments - or better yet, save the link and enter it in the Friday Recommend a Freewrite Poem contest.

Happy poetic writing!

Poetry.png

Remember to recommend a fellow Freewrite Poet and Win SBI

Every Week, we have a recommend a Freewrite Poem contest at the Freewrite House. All you need to do is keep track of your favorite Freewrite poets and leave a comment with at least 50 words telling us about the poem.

We have a random drawing for SBI membership(s) - depending on how many sponsors we have - and also for several 100% upvotes.

Your comment always gets a 20% upvote - you win and win and win by participating!!

Poetry.png

We Welcome Sponsors for our Contests!!!

  • Please consider sponsoring one of our contests. We so much appreciate this and so do all the Freewriters. If you sponsor SBI - you know that you also benefit.
  • Or you can send us Steem or SBD with instructions how you would like it to be used - or leave it up to us.
  • Your name will be mentioned in many of our posts and in the Daily Prompt.
  • Our collective gratefulness will follow you around 😂

Ol53yrO.png

Make sure to participate in all the fun events at the Freewrite House

Regular Features

  • Adopt me - Monday
  • Recommend your Favorite Freewrite and Win SBI - Tuesday
  • We-Write and win SBI - Every other Wednesday
  • Freewrite Favorites - Thursday
  • Recommend your Favorite Freewrite Poem - and Win SBI - Tuesday
  • Over 20 Club - Saturday
  • Poetry Digest - Sunday

Ol53yrO.png

Join the Freewrite daily prompt

freewrite-2-350.png

And join us at the Isle of Write in the freewriter - retreat

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

Sort:  

Wow those were all great picks. Thank you so much for picking mine too. I made a chart so I can keep track of what each day brings. The one by @arzkyu97 was sad and beautiful.

We sure have some quality poets hanging in the #freewrite community. Keep pumping those rhymes! 👏

Thank you for the feature. What an honor to be among these fine poets. : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62441.28
ETH 3020.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79