And it failed with a Clang...

in #freewrite5 years ago

I love Gentoo but it can be a pain in the ass sometimes. Like when you have to update something. Especially when it's one of a few particular pains in the asses to compile. One of the worst is Chromium, the open source version of the Chrome web browser. It's regularly updated as well, which can be a huge problem. One of the other huge pains in the ass is Clang, a compiler related to Mac OS. Thankfully Clang isn't updated quite as often as Chromium, but when it is, it's a massive pain in the ass.

Now is one of the few times that I wish I had a more powerful computer, with more RAM. My computer is powerful enough for most tasks. It's more powerful than most people's computers. Though I am working on less RAM than I started with, due to a quite unusual failure of 3 sticks.

So now I gotta spend money I'd rather not to buy some extra RAM I've been putting off, all just to upgrade my system because a stupid package is a pain in the ass to build.

You see, when you try to compile certain HUGE packages, they eat up all your RAM and your hard drive starts to grind, if you got a hard drive still. I do, because despite them being faster, they actually die at a faster rate too. Plus they're cheaper and have a bigger capacity for the most part. Sadly I've worn out every flash drive I've had and have been putting off buying a new one. What can I say? I'm a cheap ass that puts off buying new shit until I absolutely have to.

Fucking Clang...

Gentoo is awesome as a daily driver...until you gotta update shit or install something. You got way more control over packages. There are features you can enable you didn't even know exist on some packages.

Yesterday I actually started up my computer on a USB drive, chrooted into the local environment, and tried my best to update it. I got most things updated, things that were giving me trouble updating on a live system, but then it all came to a crashing halt with a Clang. No matter what I tried, it kept failing, running out of memory.

Fucking Clang...

I'm gonna get some extra RAM to tide me over until I upgrade my system.

Fuck Clang.

MaxPixel.freegreatpicture.comManSunglassesMatrixFacebookFaceNetwork2014929.jpg
Image copyright CC0 Public Domain (source)

Sort:  

You got a 37.14% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @geekpowered!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 12 SBD and the respective amount in Steem.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70557.88
ETH 3560.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75