5-Minute Freewrite Prompt: Let's Get Down to Basics

in #freewrite6 years ago

"Let's get down to basics, shall we?" the counselor said.

Tim and Kayla were in the middle of a pre-marital session. Their wedding is just two months away and there are still so much to be done. During the preparation, there were some little conflicts and arguments as they confronted some fears and also learnt more about each other.

"I would wish he can know what I am thinking without me telling him. I am getting tired of reminding and reminding. Sometimes there are things that upset me. He knows I'm upset but he just won't know what are the things bothering me whereas I have told him before, " Kayla was saying this, out of frustration.

"How would I know if you don't communicate? I am willing to listen and change but I always don't know where I am wrong at, " Tim defended himself.

"Well, obviously you didn't listen when I told you the last round, " Kayla got even more upset.

Now the counselor had to stepped in,

"Today's session is on the differences between men and women. We must know the make-up of men and women are totally different. A man's mind is like a cupboard with many drawers, so he can have a few 'drawers' opened. A woman's mind is totally different. She is usually focused wholeheartedly on a certain matter and she requires the same attention from others. However, despite differences, for a relationship to work, we always need communication. We cannot assume another person to know what is in our mind if we don't spell it out, not even if the person has gotten familiar with us. If so, a man would not need to marry a woman but marries himself, isn't it? We can't expect a woman to be a man or vice versa."

They looked at each other, guilty.

"Now, let's get back to the basics, shall we? What do you like about Tim, Kayla? And, what do you like about Kayla, Tim?"

They suddenly got a bit speechless. They have gotten so frustrated with each other that they have forgotten their first love.

"Erm... I think he is supportive though he cannot fully understand me? " Kayla had to dig out some memories.

"Come to think about it, she has always helps me with the details I can overlook, " Tim looked at Kayla with a loving gaze.

"That's right. Go on, it all goes down to the very basics."

image
Image Source


Freewrite is a prompt writing initiated by @mariannewest and @improv to write a free-flow post without correcting or editing. I checked out her post to really get what it is before I jumped on the bandwagon. Basically, there is no right or wrong, just let the mind and fingers do their work, to find our creative self and let it come out of us.

RoundPhoto_Feb152018_181213.png

81FB41B346924EE8233F0B6EC8D6624C2.gif

U5dtwrEWanaYvPSm2U9SjyrS9wcQH4t.gif

DQmepDz9DNUfgHYWZCABVYVEL9zjdbe9tnHWBXH2abTYx13.png

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

SB-Marvel-Family.gif
created by @zord189


Asapers.gif

20180516_002249_0001.png

sgg_footers9.png

Sort:  

lol! This made me giggle! It reminds myself when it comes to my husband. haha He's always saying I'm "nagging" but really if you would have just listened the first time, I wouldn't have kept saying it. lol My mil says men have a nothing box... reminds me of the fewer "drawers" here in the story. :) So frustrating at times but makes sense at the same time. Hope your evening is filled with peace! Thanks for this short story! I always enjoy them!

Hahah you are a great support to my freewrites, @squirrellyma!! Thank you for such love, and Hahah glad it made you giggle. You have an awesome night too!

WARNING! The comment below by @erudire leads to a known phishing site that could steal your account.
Do not open links from users you do not trust. Do not provide your private keys to any third party websites.

She'll be back in 7 years saying the same thing! He's always going to do something to irritate her. It one of those basics. ;-)

Anyway, I'm bringing today's prompt and it reminds me of the movie Multiplicity where a guy makes a copy of himself to keep up. Then the copies start making copies: "He's special, all right. - We made a copy from Two. Sometimes a copy from a copy is not quite as sharp as the original."

Great movie! Anyway, today's prompt has to do with the word copy: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-266-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-copy. Join us at the @FreeWriteHouse.

Hahahaha this is so true and funny. You know it well, @wordymouth!! Thank you for delivering the prompt! :)

interesting. I always thought it was the other way around. men can only do one thing at a time and women are multitaskers...

Hahahah oops, I may have remembered it wrongly and "gave the wrong counsel"! Lol.

Men is like a cupboard with many drawers. Lol.. This makes me laugh. But they forgot what drawers contain what lol... Sshhh..

Haha

Always enjoy reading your freewrite. :)

This is true. Men and women need each other like hand and glove, foot and shoe, a boy and his sand castle. :-)

Hahaha a boy and his sandcastle? That's cute, @blockurator! :)

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Here are trending posts by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/trending/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13