Freewrite Prompt: Sunflower Seeds

in #freewrite5 years ago

I laughed when I saw today's prompt and though I am kind of late, I am still writing about it because it stirred up an old memory.

My friends and my family used to really like this snack. We have it all year round and can be found in different seasoning though the most common one would be just salted. We call it "Kuaci" here, I think it originated from the Chinese word but everyone seems to call it the same here.

My family like to chat while munching some sunflower seeds. I remember when I was young, I didn't know how to crack the shell open to get the seed out from within, so my dad would crack open one by one and I only had to eat.

When I grew older, I learnt that it was fun to try to open them by myself. In the beginning, I failed and part of the seed was wasted because I chewed and smashed the shell together with the seed. Soon, I realized that I should do it at a certain angle and the tongue helped to get the seed out. It was such an achievement.

My friends came out with something mischievous as we enjoy this snack of sunflower seeds. They came out with a competition of disposing the shells of the sunflower seeds. We all have to try to spit as far as we can and we really measured to find out the winner. It was seriously hilarious and a bit foolish now, with some people accidentally spitted their saliva, eeeeww! We must have looked like a bunch of kiddos with nothing better to do. Needless to say, I never win because I would be sitting in one corner, laughing at them. After that, whoever participated in the game had to do serious clean up at the porch.

Sunflower seeds, still sound like a good snack to me. But I may get those that had been peeled nicely these days, me being a lazybone now. I used to have a hard time to believe that Kuaci comes from the sunflowers. I couldn't believe I could eat the seeds from the sunflowers, you see. I thought it was just a myth or someone trying to con me, but seems like it was nothing but the whole truth.

image
Image Source


Freewrite is a prompt writing initiated by @mariannewest and @improv to write a free-flow post without correcting or editing. I checked out her post to really get what it is before I jumped on the bandwagon. Basically, there is no right or wrong, just let the mind and fingers do their work, to find our creative self and let it come out of us.

created by @zord189

Sort:  

Hahaha I love the games that kids come up with! When I was young, my brother convinced me to chew the whole thing, shell and seed... that's the way everyone ate them! 😂

Hahahhhhahahahahahah really? Did your brother play a trick on you or it is just the way you all eat it? 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

You reminded me of my childhood. ...when we use to spit the orange seeds...as far as possible...we dislike those.orange seeds whenever come across in our mouth.
Chewing Sunflower seed is pretty new to me..and never heard it before....but it is like cracking a walnut from mouth...for sure not thay tough...hehehe

Posted using Partiko Android

Hahahah hi @steemflow! :) it's definitely nothing hard like chewing open a walnut. I never chew open a walnut, always used the nutcracker though. Lol. Sunflower seeds are easy to open actually, after some practices.

Spitting orange seeds sound like a fun game too! I can imagine the after party chao's after that though lol.

Posted using Partiko Android

Ahhhh..then i never did it. But opening a walnut through a mouth is quite intetesting

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @happycrazycon! This post was selected by the @steemitbloggers community as today's Member Boost Post :) It will also receive a complimentary upvote from @Appreciator throughout the course of the day!

You can find the community announcement on Discord :) and it has also been shared on our Steemit Bloggers FB Page and Twitter feed.

Been a while since I stopped by @happycrazycon. Hope you are well? I loved that memory! thank you for sharing!

Hi @fionasfavourites! :) I am so happy to see you here! Unfortunately I haven't been well. Have been suffering from flu and sniffles for the longest time since last weekend. I trust I will be well soon. Thank you for enjoying my memory. How are you on your end? :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Kuaci!! Yea, it amazes me to see how easy it is to pick out the seeds from mature and dried out sunflowers. It's a sight to behold! Here's today's prompt:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-375-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-forty-four

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Thank you for delivering the prompt, appreciate it. Unfortunately I think I'm skipping it today.

Hahaha great stuff! I can imagine the disgusting spit coming out everywhere when people couldn't do it properly... Grim! I would be sitting in the corner laughing as well. Great story and well done on cracking the code of getting the seed out of the shell 😀

Posted using Partiko Android

Hahahaha yes it was indeed disgusting. Can't believe we were having fun with such a disgusting game lol. Good to see you from Steemitbloggers, welcome @nickhavey! :)

Posted using Partiko Android

I never have been a fan of sunflower seeds but they are real popular here in Texas with folks. Nice concise 5 minute free write you cranked out here.

After I have grown up, I am not a fan anymore too. But I love pumpkin seeds though. Nice to see you dropping by, @sultnpapper :)

Posted using Partiko Android

This post is sponsored by @SteemitBloggers in collaboration with @appreciator. Just keep up the good work.



Thank you so much @appreciator for supporting my work and post! :)

Well, I guess I must say something...

Hahah @wales. What is the something you want to say? Good to see you is what I want to say :)

Posted using Partiko Android

I still haven't gotten the hang of cracking sunflower seeds in my mouth. I just chomp the entire shell. :-)

Hahahaha your reply made me laughed @mattifer! :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Hahahaha your reply made me laughed @mattifer! :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88