Banana Girl (freewrite)

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

The way she did her hair, she always reminded me of a banana. Nah, don't think that, I mean in a good way. She had this long, blonde hair that she just did up somehow and it covered her face. It was her punk-rock do, you know? The one she put on whenever she was going out, to run the town and get drunk.
She liked to fly, but she needed someone to give her the wings, which is always a shame, because if you grow to depend on someone else for your wings...then, you never know when they might clip them.
And she depended on everyone, with her pretty hair and her made-up eyes. She did that to look older, to get the guys to buy her a drink. She always looked so small when she wasn't wearing any makeup. Wouldn't give her a day over fifteen. Well, she was sixteen, in truth, but I always saw this as a good thing.

If people though they might get in trouble over her, maybe they'd just leave her be. But you know, Raynie was alone for a long time and the last thing she wanted was to be left alone. Oh no, she just wished to be the soul of the party, the life of the house. And she liked the eyes of the men, lingering over her young body. Made her feel so...wanted.
theledge-mv-1.jpg
I tried to protect her, but she never listened to me. I tried going out with her, don't think I didn't. I know, I don't seem like much of a party boy. I'm not. I hated everything Raynie did, but I loved Raynie.
I'd spend most the night following her around and begging her to go home. And she always invited me, because she thought she was being nice. We both knew I didn't want to go, I just wanted to help her.
But some people can't be helped. So, I'd let her do her hair up like a banana and I let her get drunk and dance on the pool table and I let all those guys look up at her. And I told myself I couldn't help her.
But I could've. Looking back, there's always more you could've done, isn't there? But you did not. And you must live and die with the consequences.
And so must I.

You've been very nice to listen to all this. I really appreciate it. And listen, don't blame yourself, please. You did everything you could, but I was going to do this before I even met you. You didn't stand a chance. But it's not your fault.
I'm going to be with my Banana Girl, now. I'm going to be with Raynie.

Prompt of the day was 'banana'. As I was writing, I kept thinking of the move 'The Ledge', so I thought it only normal to use a picture from the movie (really good one). If you'd like to try freewriting yourself, don't hesitate to visit @mariannewest or the @freewritehouse. Be brave ;)

Thank you for reading,

photojoiner_photo(16).jpeg

Sort:  

I love this. It's absolutely haunting. So much said and alluded to without saying it directly.

Thank you! That's what I was going for, I guess <3

because if you grow to depend on someone else for your wings...then, you never know when they might clip them.

deep

and you had to kill them again!!! But I loved it!!

Thank you, Marianne! I know, I can't help it sometimes.. :D

Your stories always leave me in surprise!! Great job!!

Owww thank you, @snook! <3

I'm new here and still figuring thins out but I enjoyed reading this post and gave it an up vote. I will have to look more into freewrite. Thank you for sharing.

Why, thank you and welcome! i highly recommend joining the freewriters! it's a great way to nurture your creativity ;)

How do I join this freewriters? Is it a blog I should follow or a tag i should use? Please help this confused newb...

Yes, you should follow @mariannewest (she always posts the freewriting prompts) and also @freewritehouse.
Marianne posts a new prompt (word/picture/phrase) every day and you're supposed to just sit down, set your stopwatch for 5 minutes and write whatever that prompt inspired you to write for the next five minutes. You can then post it, with the tag #freewrite ;) (I also recommend using other tags such as #writing, #fiction (if it is, of course), #isleofwrite, #blog, #story....But those aren't mandatory or anything. Well, usin the tag #freewrite isn't mandatory either, but it helps keep track of all the freewrites :)

Also, when you do post a freewrite, make sure to drop the link to it in the comments on @mariannewest's prompt post.
Helps other freewriters find you.
Hope I've made sense here and I look forward to reading what you have to say ;)

Starts off romantic but ends up so sad!
The twangs of a love lost is captured. Well done!

Thank you! I'm often very surprised by what comes out, as the story unfolds :)

First of all, I had no idea a hair style could be related to a banana, but you nailed the visualization AND made it cool when it could have been goofy. Also, I'm impressed by your development of Raynie's character in such a short space. I think I know her!

Thank you, @eyedreemit! I had a very clear image of her in my head and I guess that helped...:)

Yes there are some people who don't even need help but we care to help them but later realized their mistakes
Raynie would later know it's bad attitude getting drunk and..........

well, sometimes later becomes too late...Thank you!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 20 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 20 SBD worth and should receive 48 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 60936.15
ETH 2921.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70