The Chase (freewrite)

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

She sat on the pavement across from me and try as I might, I couldn't quite finish my sandwich. I found myself drawn to her cold, dead eyes and the long locks of white hair hanging from the top of her head. She turned, slightly, so that she couldn't quite see me, whilst I could stare at her unashamed.
I loved the sight of a beautiful woman and there was none quite so beautiful as this particular one.
She was staring at something off into the distance, far from me, too far to grasp, and frankly, to care. Because all I could see was her, the long dress falling in rivers over the grass.
What I wouldn't give to slither my hand under her dress, to run my fingers through her long white hair, to look into the light of her eyes forever.
And then, just like that, she was gone, taken from me, by I don't know what, she vanished, like she never was there and I couldn't quite get her out of my head. I tried, I swear I did, but I couldn't concentrate on my work. When I stared at Laura, my fiancee, all I saw was gray, nothing, pallor like no one should ever see. Truth is, nothing had color without this mystery woman.
38920212_481759462295755_2895650419634077696_n.jpg
I don't know what happened. By then, the days had grown so bleak, I barely noticed passing from one to another. The only moments I do remember are filled with shame and dishonor. I only remember the dreams I had of her, sometimes even when I was with Laura. It upset me greatly, yet I couldn't help myself. So that one day, I found myself staring into the eyes of my boss, a friendly giant if you know the type.
He looked at me in shock and for a second, I had no idea what I'd said. Why he was giving me the look. But then I realized – I'd told him I was quitting. I couldn't focus and to tell the truth, that was the right thing to do, I still believe that. Although maybe, if I hadn't quit my job, I wouldn't be in this mess, huh?
At first, I figured I'd just take a day off. Or three or ten, you know, whatever I needed to find her again. I would wander the streets, looking for her, because in my lost mind, it only made sense that something would guide me to her.
Something so beautiful couldn't exist only for a chance encounter, a brief moment like that.

Laura would come. Every once in a while. She'd bring me food, at first, but then, once I'd eaten, in a corner, usually in the same park I first saw her in, she'd begin chiding me. She would beg me to come home, yell at me, curse me, once she even told me she would leave if I didn't stop with this childish obsession. And I knew, you know I knew, right? I knew what a lovely woman Laura was. Hell, I loved her. But I couldn't abandon her, you know, I couldn't, so I abandoned Laura, instead.
That night, in the cold, I told her that she could very well go, that I wouldn't care.

But I do now. I do care.

Ah, well.

Once Laura was gone, the search grew sadder but more driven. I stalked the streets, looking for her and once I was done, I somehow knew that she wasn't there anymore. Not just in town, I knew she wasn't on that Earth anymore, so that's how I ended up here. I guess I just wandered off the face of the Earth one day and that was that. You know, most people seem to think there's some big mystery to it, but there isn't. You just step out into the nothing and you're gone.

Well, not gone, you're here, I suppose.

The man looks at me as if he expects something. Of course, they all do. That's their biggest problem if you ask me.

I'm sorry, I get it, I really do. But rules are rules and stalking an angel has its consequences. You need to be punished, son.

He stares at me, not understanding.

An angel? You mean...

Nope, she's not here. Enjoy your burning, though.

And I leave and descend into a sea of screams.



Today's prompt was 'burning' and yes, I expected to write something grimmer too. Oh well, I guess things are what they are. Head on over to @mariannewest's blog for some freewriting fun!


Like what you just read_.jpg

Thank you for reading,

photojoiner_photo(16).jpeg

Sort:  

It's strange and unfortunate... Regardless whether the purgatory is only in his mind, he doesn't seem weak. It feels as if it is a self-imposed facade. He's punishing himself for simply perceiving he's weak.

Overall, his character is very interesting. Fantastic job.

Thank you very much! :D I love that you see a lot of potential in it, in his mind <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71