Does size really matter? (5-minute Freewrite: Prompt - skinny)

in #freewrite6 years ago

"She is very shy and skinny too".

Above was the remark my class teacher always made in my report card. Is being skinny has anything to do with academic results? I wondered. But I was no. 1 in class.

Yearly without fail - that remark - and that only proved I was skinny. It gradually caused my parents to worry because on top of that I was looking yellowish and pale too. Some called it fair. But as far as a young child was concerned, people termed it as "not looking healthy - no pinkish color - pale".

I lived with these comments since young. Therefore I had no issues in overeating. Meaning, I could overeat and not becoming fatter.

And so I thought that would be my fate forever. But my destiny with 'being skinny' parted ever since I reached puberty. I notice not only my chest grew but the butt and thigh and upper arm grew too.

And then people start to comment "You have grown fatter."

I grew even more after I gave birth. You know the hormone, it sort of opened up your ligament and it stayed that way. From XS size to S size to L and then the XL.

I realise people will never stop commenting. People can talk about anything under the sun. And I gotto be comfortable with who I am, regardless of my size. Yes, for health purpose I would not want to be obese and for confidence purpose I would want to be fitter, but whether fat or thin should not determine my joy meter.

I want to be happy with who I am and how I carry myself as woman. It is not healthy if I keep compare myself with other supermodels or with Wonder Woman (Oh I love Gal Gadot). It is tiring for the ears of my husband if I kept saying "Oh no I am so fat" everyday.

Now, I successfully maintain myself at L size and I am comfortable with that. Although with a little more diligence I still have some fats to shed. However with those fats, I confidently tell my children that I have muscular arm to carry them and to protect them from nasty people. And I have huge thigh to kick away bad guys. Lol.

Big or small, tall or short, it doesn't matter, as long as my body, mind, heart and emotion is healthy. And stay happy always. Be blessed!


Selfie Contest for @freewritehouse

IMG_20180616_104114.jpg

DQmQddJkLjrpSiVdZQzkZsXGfxttKQrimEFZ4obdGBrhiBa_1680x8400.png

If you do not know what freewrite is, it is a plan by @mariannewest and @improv to just free flow write out our thoughts, where there is no fear of whether what we write is good or not. Just relax and have fun and write in that 5-minutes-time. Here is the introductory post. Come on, you can start joining and have fun too! ☺ And now we have @freewritehouse, yay! Have a visit and you will not regret it!

PicsArt_03-07-12.45.33.png
20180212_193505.png

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers Animation By @zord189

20180516_002249_0001.png


Asapers.gif

IOW COLOR MAP.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

Sort:  

I agree that people tend to "swell up" after having a child.

My weight has increased since my son was borned.

Oh wait.... :P

"swell up". Lol. What a term to use. Perhaps we should say we have grown prosperous. Hehe

"fatt fook" lol!

Haha lol. Hope it is a fook! Coz everytime I type fook my keyboard want to change to fool. Lol

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Here are trending posts by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/trending/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Totally agree with you!

HI-5! thank you for dropping by @joannewong :)

HI-5! thank you for dropping by @joannewong :)

People really should stop talking about how children look. skinny, fat, pretty, ugly...
I was always told that I am fat as a kid - and that stayed with me even when I was pretty thin...

I want you to check this out.... :)
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@freewritehouse/the-over-20-club-june-15-2018

Oh I am excited for the invitation :) will surely join.

Yes I went through the skinny for a long time... but the kids and age made me put on some weight.
Initially I had trouble dealing with not being able to fit into my clothes the way I used to... now I work with comfy and said bye-bye to a whole bunch... :)
I'd take the kids over skinny anytime and then again... haha
Thanks for sharing @iamjadeline

You are right!!! Haha I also used to have the skinny problem and now to me, being skinny is great cos I am no longer skinny too after gave birth Hahahahaha. I like your size @iamjadeline, it is called the RIGHT size! :)

My size is not right size lol. Still abit plump. M SIZE IS BETTER. Like your size. Anyway we all should love ourselves way beyond our size :)

Everyone is beautiful. Everyone is different. That is the beauty of life <3

#steemitbloggers

Size is over rated, it doesn't amount to ability, self belief is the tonic

Yes we should believe in ourselves. Thank you @youngerudite for dropping by :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34