If life is as smooth as silk.. (Freewrite's Prompt: Smooth As Silk)

in #freewrite6 years ago

I admire. I envy. Those smooth skin of my child. As smooth as silk. As an ant rides on it, I can only imagine the ant will slide. Sometimes I think his skin is as smooth as tofu too.

image
Designed by using Canva's app

"Both of your skin are so smooth." I told my 7-year-old boy once.

To my amazement, he replied "Yours are smooth too, just with wrinkles." Never dawn in me he viewed my skin as smooth. But with wrinkles. What a say to describe.

In my heart I prayed that his journey of growing up will be as smooth too. But deep in my heart, I know he will face rough patches in life. Journey that we all are in now isn't smooth at all. We face rocky mountain. We drop into a well. And then we climb up. Just when we get some breather then we land into thorny bushes.

Looking into the mirror, I see wrinkles and some white hair trying to show up too. We have had our bouts of "risky kayaking" in life. Not knowing the route nor the water movement, we kayak and we adapt as we face what lies ahead of us. Those wrinkles show I age. It is not bad after all. They are proofs that we have walked our miles of journey. And miles to go.

All of a sudden, I remember my parents, whom had walked before us, bracing all the challenges as they brought me up. They too had seen my skin as smooth as silk, but now are rough with wrinkles. Thank God for face powder to smoothen the complexion. Also with high tech mobile phone who automatically set your phone to "portrait setting" so you don't look so old.

Oh how I miss my parents. They have gone through alot for us.

Well, if life is as smooth as silk, I would not have discover rocky mountains, thorny bushes, stormy seas, windy thunderstorm. Just sayings out my thoughts as I ponder on something as smooth as silk.

Back to my silky comforter.


image

DQmQddJkLjrpSiVdZQzkZsXGfxttKQrimEFZ4obdGBrhiBa_1680x8400.png

If you do not know what freewrite is, it is a plan by @mariannewest and @improv to just free flow write out our thoughts, where there is no fear of whether what we write is good or not. Just relax and have fun and write in that 5-minutes-time. Here is the introductory post. Come on, you can start joining and have fun too! ☺ And now we have @freewritehouse, yay! Have a visit and you will not regret it!

PicsArt_03-07-12.45.33.png
20180212_193505.png

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers Animation By @zord189

20180516_002249_0001.png

IOW COLOR MAP.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

esteem-banner-credits-dunsky-podanrj.png

Sort:  

Nice one!

I found this very interesting, i had to follow your profile :D

If life was smooth all the time then we wouldn't get the opportunity to grow. Challenges help us to gain perspective. To test us and show us that we're capable of more than we thought we were.

You are so right. Challenges have indeed make us tougher and stronger too. Thank you for thoughtful comment. :)

The life that will grow is a life that is always approached by problems. But we must be strong to deal with it, because that is what will make us progress better.

We certainly won't to progress better, aren't we?

Thank you for dropping by :)

This post has been curated by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Life's a bumper car if you ask me. Sometimes, we knock into other, other times we get knocked over. Anyhow, we always get dented but we'll survive & drive on

Those dents are just proofs that we survived and emerged stronger. Thank you Irene 😉

What a cute child :> only children can say things like that, and that's why they are...cute. Eh?

If life's smooth as silk, you won't know the real definition of "smooth as silk" :) That's why we need more spices here and there to make life at least a little more interesting.

Plus, if it's smooth as silk, we might as well slide to the end without the need of enjoying it thoroughly :) right?

But we fondly remember the "smooth as silk" days as sunshine moments. Without the rough days, we would have great memories!

Here is today's prompt: Day 294: 5 Minute Freewrite: Thursday - Prompt: puzzle

DQmY73bhwxZbFPVvGvGshKPCtEzK7fseuHjaxCDEW4fB6Pe.png

There appear to be many challenges facing the younger generations now what with climate change, political turmoil, and economic turmoil. It is pretty clear that the older generations are not addressing these issues--choosing to further challenge the young.

Proud member of #steemitbloggers @steemitbloggers

Ya it's really appreciating line with a deep meaning , nice throught..

very good posts. keep on being big brother

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66344.62
ETH 3214.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.37