My Favourite Medicine | Freewrite

in #freewrite5 years ago (edited)

I had never been a fan of medicine. I am not sure who loves medicine but not me, except my children for one type of syrup paracetamol medicine which tastes like orange juice.

Bad experience during childhood led to my dislike for medicine. Once, I was choked by a pill because I didn't know how to swallow, or should I say, my throat automatically had gag reflex. Secondly, I was once being forced by a nurse to finish the medicine prescribed there and then. I was fed by a stranger, needless to say, I choked again, this time by the liquid medicine.

However, things became better when I first found out about a special cough mixture. I called it the "bum-bum medicine".

It was in the wee hour morning, 4am, when I coughed badly. I was quite young that time, maybe around 10 years old, but was considerate enough to think of stopping the cough so I would not wake others up.

I silently tiptoed to the kitchen and I found this new medicine which I had never tried before since I hated medicine. In desperation to relief my cough, I read the instruction and with apprehension, I made a quick swallow.

Let me tell you, I fell in love with the mixture. Sweet, pleasant, with some soothing minty feeling at my throat. Since then, I looked forward to coughing so that I could eat my "bum-bum medicine".😋

Later on, I found out from my mum it was made by using sea coconut and some other herbs. Consider it a 85% natural medicine. This bumbummedicine sea coconut cough mixture has since then become THE medicine for home, until now. Otherwise, I will make a homemade cough-flu remedy by steaming 1 apple, 1 big onion and 1-2 clove of garlic, and then we drink the liquid produced.

IMG_20181129_163605.jpg
If you look carefully, you will know why I called it bum-bum medicine.

iw3z5idqf5.png

image

iw3z5idqf5.png

This is another 5-minute freewrite using daily prompt by @mariannewest. You can check her out. If you want to know more about 5-minute freewrite, here is the introduction post: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/writers-or-wanna-be-writers-wanted-be-free-freewrite

Feel free to join us as well at the @freewritehouse

PicsArt_03-07-12.45.33.png
20180212_193505 (1).png


SB_new.png



20180516_002249_0001.png

IOW COLOR MAP.png

art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

esteem-banner-credits-dunsky-podanrj.png

banner_moonbot.png


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://iamjadeline.vornix.blog/2018/11/29/my-favourite-medicine-freewrite/

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing your posts with us. This post was curated by TeamMalaysia as part of our community support. Looking forward for more posts from you.

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote bitrocker2020 witness

OMG I need some! Do you think I can find it in colorado, usa?? I love natural herbs and if it tastes as good as you say then YUM

Hmm... i am not so sure but looking at it, I don't think so. But I am sure you can find other medicines made of natural herbs too? so glad to see you here. Thank you @eaglespirit :)

Okay and you are correct thee will probably be something else’s here just not that one !! Wah. LOL

perhaps because it is sweet and natural, that's why you like it :)

well, natural medicines are usually better than modern allopathic ones. because they work better and actually help, as well as usually do not have any side-effects.

Thank you for reading my freewrite @vimukti-ananda. Yes, this one has no side-effects unlike some over-the-counter cough syrup which made my stomach feels bloated .

@iamjadeline.. saya butuh ubat itu, batuk saya sudah lama kali belum sembuh-sembuh

Saya rasa tempat kamu ada ubat ini. Kena minum banyak air, sekarang ramai yang tidak sihat dan banyak yang batuk.

Take care @khanza.aulia :)

Saya harus cari yang merk ini, saya rasa ini ubat yang bagus... terimakasih @iamjadeline

Oh sorry to hear the bad experience for the medicine . Fortunately I don't have a problem taking it. But thing is I don't like also taking medicine,I only take when I don't have a choice anymore and when pain is strong,
My regards .

So we must all take care so to not fall sick and can be medicine free. Thank you @mjtravel for stopping by. :) sending my regards to you as well.

I tried to see why it's called Bum Bum Medicine - But I couldn't figure it out! Although, maybe if I have to ask, maybe I shouldn't... 😉

Anyways, I'll keep my eye out for it! And thanks for that nice recipe as well, I'm sure that works pretty good!

A closer shot for you on the medicine box. I am sure you will know now. He he, @synrg.

IMG_20181130_175846.jpg

Well, that answers that! The mystery is solved! And dang, that's a hairy one!! ;)

Yep. Super hairy. 🤣

My favorite cough syrup too @iamjadeline lol

Nice right haha. We better don't get sick especially cough. Haha. Good health always. 👍👍

I like this brand and Pei Pa Gou too!! I wonder why all cough medicine taste rather pleasant haha.

Posted using Partiko Android

Same same. I love Pei Pa Gou too but it tends to cause me more phlegm so I stop taking it. I guess because they are sweet that is why we like it. lol.

Thank you Connie for always engaging and supporting.;)

Congratulations @iamjadeline! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 19000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 20000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I wonder what sea coconut is? I have to google it. But the apple, onion, garlic remedy sound like right up my alley. we have an onion coughsyprup recipe in Germany that works really well too.

Looks like onion has the property to cure cough. Some even try to put cut onion nearby the bed, it is believed to be able to "suck up" all the germs. Never try so I am not so sure. Thank you @mariannewest for always supporting freewriters.

I heard about that too. There is a chemical being released when you cut an onion and it changes with time. That is why you are supposed to let cut onions and garlic sit for 10 minutes before cooking - to allow for the changes that make the onion healthy to us.

There are so many things that can impact us we don't even know about - why not a cut onion in a positive way.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77