We are all champion once (5-minute Freewrite: Prompt - Quadrillion

in #freewrite6 years ago

I look into Merriam-Webster dictionary to find out what is quadrillion. I thought it is something to do with 'four' . Turns out it is 1 with 15 zeros behind. In other words, one thousand trillion. I learn a new word.

But I found out she does not even need to check dictionary and she knows the word directly. She is always adored by others. On top of that, she is always the top in class. To make things worse, she is among the pretties too!

Looking at the mirror in front of me, the girl holding the dictionary is really such a nerd. "Book worm! She is nothing but a book worm!" I can still hear vividly the echo of ridicule from the schoolmates.

I am short, with a round nose and pear-shaped body make everything rounder. Although, my good friends try to convince me that "round is a shape too". Because have I told you, I have a round shoulder too? But I know they are just trying to help with my low self-esteem.

I am far from brilliant, let alone genius. Even after hours of reading and studying books, I barely pass the exam. Mind you, I am really trying my best. Often, I skip hours of sleep just to study to pass the exam. And just at the brink of passing rate.

Why is she good in everything and I am good at nothing?

Here comes the sports' recruitment day which I am so scared to face. What can a round girl do except bounce? And I am not even a ball!

"Hi, would you like to try out javelin?

"No sir. I am not sporty and I know I am good at nothing. You're being nice to offer but I know I can't. I have never get any good grades in anything at all. And of course never no. 1," I reply solemnly as I look into the uncle's face.

"You never know. When I was young, I had the exact same mindset like you. But someone told me every single one of us had won the race with champion. The moment you were conceived, you are the one in a quadrillion sperms which successful entered the egg - that made you - you have won the race didn't you? And that is why you are here for something. Everyone has something to offer. You just need to find out and don't give up finding. I am the coach of this new sports called javelin. Somehow I see the potential. Mind to try it out?" he stands up and he reaches out his hands towards me. I look up and behold a short uncle with no sportsman charisma at all.

Hey, I know the word - quadrillion. Just read it this morning.

Fast forward to 3 years, I am now representing my school for the state competition in javelin. I can never be thankful enough of my coach who spotted me while I scooped there dying in hopelessness.

P/S: Exceeded 2 minutes to finish off the last important parts.


Selfie for @freewritehouse

IMG_20180612_123019.jpg

DQmQddJkLjrpSiVdZQzkZsXGfxttKQrimEFZ4obdGBrhiBa_1680x8400.png

If you do not know what freewrite is, it is a plan by @mariannewest and @improv to just free flow write out our thoughts, where there is no fear of whether what we write is good or not. Just relax and have fun and write in that 5-minutes-time. Here is the introductory post. Come on, you can start joining and have fun too! ☺ And now we have @freewritehouse, yay! Have a visit and you will not regret it!

PicsArt_03-07-12.45.33.png
20180212_193505.png

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers Animation By @zord189

20180516_002249_0001.png


Asapers.gif

IOW COLOR MAP.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

Sort:  

you have really very pretty eyes😍😜

Thank you @jassi for the compliment. :)

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

My wish is to someday get a quadrillion up votes for my posts even if they are all dust votes.. hahahaha

Awwa that was wonderful!!!!! I loved the story and the selfie. Thank you for sharing.

Your story is inspiring to me @iamjadeline.
I am reminded never to let negativity overpower you. Focus on our goals, embrace failures. Control the smallest voices, for they go both ways and can make it major.

We can achieve anything we set our mind to.

I'm so glad you found out you could throw a javelin!!

Woah, javelin?!

You’ve been featured in our weekly curation post Freewrite Favorites at @freewritehouse. Thank you for participating and raising the bar with awesome, creative freewrites! Freewrite On!

Fifteen zeros behind? Thats mind blowing if you ask me

Oh yes I just came to know about it too :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64961.60
ETH 3103.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86