Forty-four -5minutefreewrite (also advice about SBD conversion and making $ with arbitrage) *not investment advice*

in #freewrite5 years ago (edited)

For https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-375-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-forty-four

Forty-four SBD is worth only 43 USD right now. You know that, right? SBD is significantly less than USD...

I mean, not SO significantly, but somewhat. Why is that important? Because the protocol that assigns SBD the value of 1 USD is incentivizing you to buy SBD and convert it into steem and keep repeating that process until SBD gets back to $1.

How? Well, let's use my real world example.

Approximately 3.5 days ago I got a payout that included .768 SBD. You can see it in my wallet somewhere. I happened to glance at the price of SBD and see that it had fallen to 98 cents (it had been at $1.02 for a while). Well, I just so happen to have learned the last time SBD fell below a dollar that Steemworld (created by the industrious @steemchiller) had created an easy-to-use interface for converting SBD to Steem). So I popped on over there to tell the blockchain that I wanted it to value my SBD at $1. I wanted $0.768 worth of steem for my 0.768 SBD.
It said, "ok, I'll do that, but I'm going to take the average value of steem over the next 3.5 days as my price for Steem."
That seemed fair enough. I expect steem to shoot to the moon someday, but not today.
Here we are, 3.5 days later, and it has done it. I got 0.978 Steem for my 0.768 SBD. If I had gone on the market and bought this, it would have cost me a whole 0.789 SBD!
So... I did that. I sold that steem I'd just gotten and got 0.789 SBD and began the conversion process again (because SBD is STILL below $1.

Soon I will own the entire blockchain.

P.S. on Steemworld.org you'll find "Convert SBD" under Balances in your lefthand bar:

Screenshot (5).png

Screenshot (6).png

Screenshot (7).png

Sort:  

Ooh, that all sounds a little complicated. Maths have never been my strong point.

It’s the midweek prompt delivery team here with your challenge for today; https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-376-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-tiny

Win a Membership in Steem Basic Income - Tell us About a Favorite Freewrite

Doing math isn't necessary! Just check the sbd price (on steemprofit.info, for example)

Posted using Partiko Android

that is interesting and I didn't even know about that function.
And, I wanted to make you aware of this post :)
https://steemit.com/socalsteemit/@socalsteemit/socal-steemit-visiting-hour-10-30

Maybe you or Stina or both - or at least Loch can join us someday...
😄

Indeed! I know @stinawog pays attention to her mentions on Partiko, so I think now 🐚 see this.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by improv from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87