Frank -5minutefreewrite (x3)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #freewrite5 years ago

"Took you long enough," Frank said when I came back to the car. "All set for tomorrow?"
The camping gear was packed.
The car was overfull. And Frank had the audacity to ask.

Yes, I was ready. I kept thinking about all the people I could have invited instead. One by one they paraded through my mind.

Sheryce would have made me laugh. Tony would have made me think. Cranston would have made me feel like a star. Patricia would have listened. Instead bi chose Frank because he made me feel guilty if I didn't invite him to things. And then he nagged.

"She wasn't the most unreasonable mother, but her point of view,well, what can I say?"
All Frank did was talk about himself and not only that but talking about his life like I should sympathize. His mother didn't share our political viewpoint. Ho hum. Whose parents are as progressive as their kids? Well, mine, but the point is, it's just a trope. I mean it's true for lots of people. It doesn't mean he suffers inordinately. She still attended his graduation ceremony and she'll vote for him if he runs for national or local office (but not a state office for some reason). He has no decent reason to complain, especially since he's not running for any office, except maybe community garden co chair and he's running unopposed if he even decides to.

ice cream dripped on his shirt. Frank was happier than I'd seen him in a while. There was probably something to be said for experiencing life nostalgia.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @sbi-booster.

Congratulations!


This post has been granted a 100% upvote, courtesy to @wokeprincess, from BlissFish!
Enjoy the Bliss!

Join us on Discord!
Upvote this post to help the minnows win a bigger upvote!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87