Warm Amber Eyes -5minutefreewrite

in #freewrite5 years ago

For https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-629-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-warm-amber-eyes

The cat has Warm Amber Eyes. I know you're expecting me to make a joke about how the eyes are still warm since she just plucked them from Amber's eye sockets.

But I won't. Instead, I'll tell a sweet story about a cat who has flecks of gold in her warm amber eyes, and who, instead of gazing at me with the cool stare of a hunter, gently gazes on my with hope for a neck scritch. She closes those eyes and begins to drool as my fingers caress the soft fur just beneath her cheeks. Cats have such downy soft fur right there.

This particular cat does happen to also be named Amber. She was named for her eyes. And we had just watched Jurassic Park, and I had just learned that the substance encasing the mosquito used to start the dinosaur apocalypse was called amber and came from the hardened sap of trees, and I like all those things.

So Amber. Amber sat on my shoulders as a kitten. To be fair, I placed her there, and she was probably afraid of falling off, so she dug her claws in and it seemed like she was sturdily placed. But that fear grew into nostalgia, I imagine. When I'd sit on the couch, as an older teen, she'd often come sit behind my head, as if she were still on my shoulders.

There aren't really stories, I suppose, to be told about cats. They do things, sure, and there are descriptions of things to do, but they are abstract animals. Their lives don't have the structure of stories.

No one's life has the structure of a story. It's very unfulfilling. I wonder if... I wonder if there's a way to make it seem like a story, and if that makes life more palatable.

Cat photo credit me
IMG_20150603_104006.jpg

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

This is really nice, skirting the line between prose and poetry.

We complicate our life because we do not enjoy the simplicity that the creator has given us. Excellent story friend @improv.
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-630-5-minute-freewrite-friday-prompt-10-000-feet-elevation

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @sbi-booster.

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70884.24
ETH 3570.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76