5 Minute Freewrite: Friday - Prompt: fire alarm

in #freewrite5 years ago

When I was in junior high school, teachers would ask what was our ambition when we grew up. Some would say doctors, engineers, accountants, just to name a few. One of my friends, Sam choose to be a fireman. Well.. we were only like ten at that time when such questions were asked. How would we know what we wanted to be ? If I knew better, I would've said that I wanted to be a blockchain entrepreneur and immediately get a job with Apple or Huawei.

For Sam, it was very clear to him because both his father and grandfather were fireman and had many great achievements in saving homes and lives. Sam used to tell us stories about how his mother would worry each time his father stepped out from the house. But, he knew that both his father and grandfather were heroes like Superman! Out to save the world and bring peace to everyone.

Hey! At ten, we only believed in Superman !
It's a bird, It's a plane, It's Superman !

gob11l0cl9.jpg
Source

Sam had shared with us before that when his father wasn't on duty, he would bring Sam to the firehouse. He'll get the chance to slide down the fire pole and even sit on the driver's seat of the fire engine. On one of his visits, there was an emergency and the sound of the fire alarm rang loud all around the firehouse. He was both afraid and excited at the same time.

It was then that he knew that he wanted to be a fireman when he grew up. But, then like any other child, we all get exposed to the NEW WORLD and with the many influences by society, we change our views of our ambition. And by the time, we reach high school, many of us would have changed in our decision of our ambitions.

What was it for you ?

freewritesignature_2.gif

Many thanks to @mariannewest and @freewritehouse for bringing me along in this magnificent journey. Through them, I have found back my desires to write, be it fiction, freewrite, true or make-belief. I have evolved myself into more than just a reader. Unlike in the past, where I would stick my nose into a book and be amazed with the creations of others, now I'm able to share my own creations to the world.

So, come join us and let the feelings come out from your heart and the words will eventually form on its own. Before, you know it, your first Freewrite is complete.


bad gif.gif

ezgif.com-video-to-gif.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63594.33
ETH 3039.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10