Token: When underground meets commerce [Freewrite]

in #freewrite5 years ago (edited)

Yesterday while browsing through the Youtube app I found an interesting video.

It caught my attention because of the name of the video. Youtube rapper. As I just recently released my first (and probably last) video as a 'youtube rapper' (when you see it, you'll understand) I was intrigued to learn more.

So I decided to watch it and while watching I found out that this artist, going by the name Token was actually pretty good. I watch a couple of more videos and came across a video where he explained how he ended up with Token as his artist name.

As he explained, it had nothing to do with being the token white guy in the rap game or any of that. He explained that token indeed in some way meant being unique and different from the homogeneous group, and he felt that way his whole life. But he also explained that token means sometime of value. And with his uniqueness, he feels he can bring value as well.

That's it for I think my first real freewrite. @MarianneWest. Hope I did it right 😂.
For those of you not familiar with Freewrite, a link to the original post > https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-474-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-token

#Lobi
@jeanlucsr

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

You did fabulously!! That is exactly what a freewrite it all about!! did you post a link to your rap video LOL

I thought social media was part of your business? How is everything? Your father's land, your business and most importantly, your baby and your wife?

Make sure to take lots of pictures when you have a Steem meetup and tag me in your post.

All the best!!!

Thanks. Great to hear!

I actually didn't link to my video in the freewrite but to the 'token' one.

I will link you up with the story about my social media detox:
https://medium.com/@JeanlucSR/goodbye-see-you-in-august-1112519b6581

The irony is indeed that Social media is my life. I also actually lost business during my short break. But what I got in return (quality time with my wofe and kids) was worth way more.

Yes. I will definitely take pictures and tag you in the posts!

Posted using Partiko Android

I hear you!! It is so important to spend time with the family. Relationships need to be nurtured and kids grow up so fast!! I feel everyone needs to slow down a bit!!

Yes. But in a society that keeps moving faster. It feels like going against the stream. However, only using Whatsapp en Email at set times of the say has really helped. Still need to find a balance for Steem in that regard.

Posted using Partiko Android

Btw. You know that you can crosspost from Twitter, Instagram and YouTube I believe to Steem and make that your post.

As to the society moving faster - it is - but we are paying a big price for it. People are getting sick with all kind of weird immune diseases, getting stressed out, becoming depressed and more.

I believe that we need to put on the brakes and show that life can be slower and good at the same time. People here in the States have done things like the Slow Food movement. And many young people want to be Farmers and do things slower - more mindful.

And as a mother who was very much invested in my children and seeing my grandchildren now - kids need their parents when they are little. A lot. That is our investment in their healthy future...

Yes. I haven't decided on the crossposting and how it would affect my actual steem postings.

As for society, we are noticing a lot of teens steering away from Social Media and completely ignoring it or at least having more control over it. On the other side I recently heard a story of an excellence student that got his life destroyed when he discovered the internet, partly because his foster parents lost control over him.

I would love to read more on the youngsters being interested in farming part. Could you send me a link for more back story. I think the might be some young entrepreneurs in my network who'd be very interested.

Posted using Partiko Android

Glad you had a chance to write with us yesterday.

🐓🐓🐓🐓Today's Farm Prompt🐓🐓🐓🐓
MomentCam_20190207090758.gif

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-475-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-rooster

Posted using Partiko Android

Nice. I'm in for another one!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66438.74
ETH 3268.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.39